We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing get-a-way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We usually spend our New Year's break of 4 -5 days at The Lodge. The Sea Island property has lots to do for families and anyone needing a good break.
The staff is very attentive and the feel is warm and homey.

Room Tip: Room #3 overlooking the 18th green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

If you want to feel like royalty or at least like a guest of English nobility or perhaps of 19th century American royalty, spend a few nights at The Lodge. We stayed with 9 other golfing couples and we felt like we were in our own personal lodge. The decor is exquisite, the rooms are lovely, the views are exceptional and the golf courses are beautiful and convenient. Staying off-season can get you a more reasonable rate although this is still an expensive albeit extraordinary place. With only around 40 rooms, it is a great place for a small meeting or retreat. Anyway you look at it, this place is special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at The Lodge, play golf, and enjoy several meals. It was a short experience but perhaps the best I have had.

My room was spacious and comfortable, the view was nice, and I did not want to leave the shower. In fact the shower was nothing short of incredible.

We played golf at the Seaside and Plantation courses. Both courses were in great shape, and the greens were true. (It is interesting that golfers have trouble repairing ball marks whether a course is a municipal or one the caliber of Seaside). We used caddies one day - I recommend Rodney.

We had supper one evening at the Colt and Allison in The Lodge. This was one of the finest meals I have ever eaten. Thanks to Zelda, our server, for helping us.

Overall, the service was top notch. The valets, butlers, housekeepers, hostesses, and concierge went out of their way to take care of us. Some of it was little things but they add up in the big picture. I look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: I can not imagine The Lodge having a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinsoniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The service was fantastic, two great courses to play, large beautiful rooms, great food. What more is there? Consider a golf package, one of the two courses is a little pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumbygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is by far one of the best resorts we have ever been to. We stayed in the lodge..which was private and tranquil. The beach was private...the cookies at night are a nice touch. Every person there greeeted us by name every time they saw us. The adults only pool is great as is the main beach area though much busier. The lodge is far from the rest of the resort and is a drive...but they will take you to and from at any point. Service is amazing. Spa was incredible. The attentiveness of the staff at the pool was fantastic..and the orange slices they pass out are a nice treat. The icecream shop is a treat...and all the food at the resort is great. We had several people offer to take us on a tour and the manager offered to reserve a seat at the pool for us while we walked the beach. Nothing negative about this place!!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the lodge...it's away from the main resort but close enough to use the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowers1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a Special Place!!!!!!!! Everything is wonderful.. The service, the staff, the golf, the food... If you have not been here before, make the effort to do so in 2012 - you will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I just hosted a corporate event at The Lodge at Sea Island. The service was fantastic at all areas of the resort. The rooms and bathrooms were large with great amenities. We were fortunate to have one of the presidential suites and it was a very impressive room. Overall, the highlight of the event was the dinner in the private Wine Cellar room, which is literally in the hotel's wine cellar. If you have a group large enough, I would highly recommend it, as it is a very unique experience. Beyond the hotel, the golf facilities are top notch. I was able to play the Plantation Course and it was an extremely enjoyable course to play. My only complaint would be that the bar within the Lodge closes rather early, leaving you with little to no options for entertainment after 11. Beyond that, the resort truly is 5-star and would highly recommend it for an intimate event.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnerks83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,257 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
518 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
879 reviews
1.6 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £257 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing