We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar accommodations and service! Disappointing restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This newly renovated property has kept the charm and opulence of days gone by. Very spacious and extremely comfortable rooms With views, wonderful bath suites, exquisite bedding and impeccable staff. Take advantage of the many other island dining options and steer clear of the really sub par and pricey restaurant. Pretty awful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great place. Wonderful service. Food was great and golf was too. I'd return here in a heartbeat.

Loved the person playing the bagpipes each evening by the ocean. We had fantastic service each evening in the restaurant as well. Such great southern charm throughout the facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjwilson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have been coming to Sea Island (The Lodge) for several years for New Years's. Each year we feel like we are back home. The Lodge is warm and friendly and everyone is so hospitable. The food at the restaurants is great and the golf is wonderful (so says my husband).

I go to the Spa and have taken classes in the fitness center.

Being at Sea Island is a great tradition.

Room Tip: We like Rooms 3 and 29. Great views of Hole 18 of Plantation course and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Had a great time; a great resort, with lots to do for all the family. Beautifully laid out, and right on the beach. But, for the extra cost of staying here we found the service lacking: waiting staff were almost non-existent, food service was intermittent, pools were a couple of degrees too cool, we had to call room service almost daily for things that had run out in the rooms.
Overall I would recommend staying; hopefully the service shortfalls will be resolved.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobtdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We recently rented a cottage at Sea Island, and had a very memorable Christmas there. The house was huge and beautifully decorated, equipped with every last thing we could need. The service from the resort was top-notch - every inquiry handled promptly, every need met. We enjoyed having space to spread out, and loved being able to go to the Cloister. (Cottage rentals include resort privileges.) Upon arrival, we received a large insulated tote with "swag" - cups, food, scented candle, writing paper, car decal - and I know we'll enjoy using the bag and remembering a wonderful holiday at Sea Island. The Cloister was beautifully decorated for Christmas and had a wide array of activities and special meals and gatherings available. We enjoyed having drinks and walking around - it really is spectacular. We did not eat in the restaurants but the only 5-star restaurant in Georgia is there. We hope to go back again. Very pricey but perfect for a special occasion.

Room Tip: All the cottages are beautiful - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlingtonVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My husband and I visited the Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary and fully enjoyed our stay from beginning to end. There was no informal check-in process. Instead we were welcomed by name upon arrival and treated as honored guests. Our butler gave us a tour of The Lodge and answered our questions before escorting us to our room. When we walked into our room, soft music adorned the room, our bags were awaiting us along with a second butler who offered to shine our shoes for dinner. The room boasts a most magnificent view of the golf course, plush bedding, soaking tub, separate rain shower, and enclosed toilet room. The service from the butler staff, servers, and housekeeping was outstanding and the best we had ever experienced. The room was cleaned to perfection twice daily. We received turn down service and milk and cookies each night. Our butler graciously accomodated room service requests that were not listed on the menu. Movie selections were delivered promptly to our room upon request. Room service was set up in our room beautifully. Our laundry was returned to our room promptly in gift boxes and garment bags. On our last night, the butler prepared a rose petal bath with fresh rose petals leading from the door to the tub. The frangrance of the roses literally filled the room. We have three small children so we appreciated the serenity, enforced dress code as well as the mature atmosphere. We enjoyed evenings listening to the bag pipes from our balcony, walking along the back lawn, or sipping wine on the back terrace. The restaurants inside The Lodge and throughout the property did not disappoint. The Check out process was easy. All of our purchases throughout the resort were billed once to our room making our stay even more pleasurable. I highly recommend The Lodge for a most romantic getaway. Photos do not reflect the true beauty of The Lodge. The people, the gourgeous property, ambiance, detail, cleanliness, and service all made our stay one that we will always treasure. I even kept our personlized key cards to remember our stay. We are looking forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the course. You will also have access to amenities throughout the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyBeingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I do NOT play golf. Anyone thinking it is a great place to play golf is correct but the lodge is excellent for anyone looking for a nice getaway. My fiancee and I were just blown away by the feel of this resort. The service was amazing and we felt like we were the only ones there. The drive in was very picturesque with all the trees and scenery. They have a gatehouse person that greets you before you get to the lodge entrance. The butler gives you a tour of the lodge and your room upon arrival. It feels as though you are visiting a rich relative for a weekend at their mansion. That's the best way I can describe it. So private and the warm reception by all the staff really make it an experience.

We stayed here instead of the Cloisters and are so happy we did. This is much more private and a great location for couples looking for some southern hospitality. We will be back!!!

BTW, I heard the men's locker room was out of this world so I had to check it out. Wow!! It must easily be over 5000 square feet. It was huge and obviously geared to lure golfers to the lodge. I'm sure it accomplishes just that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
595 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
753 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £260 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing