We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here in February when they were not very busy. We were upgraded, and the room was spacious, lovely and clean. Their rainhead showers are unbelievable - best pressure we've ever had! Even though they were not busy, the one casual restaurant/lounge filled quickly, did not take reservations, so you had to wait. Food there was very good and they adjusted dietary items as requested. At breakfast we were one day the only ones present and at most 2 other tables were filled. Service there was uneven and buffet items were limited, or they ran out. I felt it was a very nice place to stay for a rest (or golf) during their off season. If the hotel was full, I think the restaurants would have a problem keeping up.

Room Tip: We had room 2. It was beautiful and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peachyviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just took advantage of their fantastic deal of 2 rounds of golf and 2 nights at the Lodge.$750 for two people!
Beautiful room with Ocean views fantastic golf on The Seaside and Plantation courses.Both very enjoyable. A caddie was very helpful for Seaside but not necessary on Plantation so glad we did without.
Plenty to do in the area from shopping to sightseeing. Very expensive to eat in the Lodge but there are plenty of local restaurants close by. We splurged at night but found inexpensive places for breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Cloisters is about 3 miles from The Lodge but they run a shuttle bus . Glad we stayed in the Lodge as both golf courses are right there.We also found it more intimate than Cloisters which is HUGE! Not really for young kids though as all the facilities,pool etc are at Cloisters.
We did a similar trip to Kiawah Island last year but preferred this resort as there is much more to do in the local area.Will definitely be returning for this deal next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My fiance planned my birthday on Sea Island as a weekend for just the two of us. We are locals so we wanted the experience, I guess you could say. We stayed at the Cloister that provides very lavish lodgings and service is exceptional. We took the shuttle to the Lodge for some views and supper to change things up a bit. We waited at the Oak Room door for 5-10 min and finally sat ourselves. Once at the table, another ten min went by and no "how are you this evening", "can I get you a glass of wine", or even a menu... this is Sea Island, the purported pinnacle of upscale service and history known worldwide.

Now I know this is probably the only negative review on this establishment, but when you already have over 3000$ on our tab for the weekend, you would think a little extra mile service would come into play. Like I said, we are locals, and I can get us better service, say at a huddle house. My fuse ran short because she wanted a nice weekend for the two of us, and we were totally let down by our own five star resort in our own back yard.

I can't speak on the Cloister enough though, as the stellar service and smiles are abundant!!!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank joelcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I just wanted to give everyone a head's up that I will be reviewing a property, that if you are like me would be a place you could never afford. However, once a year, my two sons, a son-in-law and I travel to a golf resort to play 72 holes in two days. We have been to Scottsdale, AZ, Austin, TX, Las Vegas, NV and now Sea Island, GA.

I will let you all know about the accommodations, food, the courses and more as soon as I return.

I gave The Lodge a five star rating just so I could post this. I will either leave at five start or lower the rating after my visit.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This newly renovated property has kept the charm and opulence of days gone by. Very spacious and extremely comfortable rooms With views, wonderful bath suites, exquisite bedding and impeccable staff. Take advantage of the many other island dining options and steer clear of the really sub par and pricey restaurant. Pretty awful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great place. Wonderful service. Food was great and golf was too. I'd return here in a heartbeat.

Loved the person playing the bagpipes each evening by the ocean. We had fantastic service each evening in the restaurant as well. Such great southern charm throughout the facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjwilson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have been coming to Sea Island (The Lodge) for several years for New Years's. Each year we feel like we are back home. The Lodge is warm and friendly and everyone is so hospitable. The food at the restaurants is great and the golf is wonderful (so says my husband).

I go to the Spa and have taken classes in the fitness center.

Being at Sea Island is a great tradition.

Room Tip: We like Rooms 3 and 29. Great views of Hole 18 of Plantation course and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,279 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,310 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £300 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagpipes at sunset, butlers for every room, two golf courses, and romantic views surrounded by Live oak trees. The Lodge is not only reminiscent of an English Country Manor, it's also the recipient of the Forbes Five-Star award and AAA Five-Diamond Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing