We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have asked for a nicer accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Could not have asked for a nicer accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had a wonderful anniversary thanks to the sea island staff what a great place to stay. Georgia is a great state and so fortunate to have sea island and the lodge located there. They have done a beautiful job keeping the natural beauty of the land

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    17
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
98
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed at The Lodge for over 10 years, and find its quality and service continually of the Excellent/consistent nature - the employees are very well trained and seem to enjoy their jobs. Recalling our name from previous visits is a nice touch .Our Room (#3) had it' own large deck with comfortable furniture, and the room (as are all Lodge rooms) very spacious, well equipped and comfortable - more like a small apartment. The golf courses are always in top shape, although leading up to the McGladry PGA event there is "cart path only" on the Seaside - check before you go, as this is easily the jewel of the property and a "must play". The Plantation and Retreat courses would be Four Star any place. The food at the Lodge is super and the Cloister is only a 15 minute drive away with many more great eateries. If you like to ride, be sure to take a beach trail ride - many other activities for almost any taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a view allowing you to see and listen to the bagpiper each evening around dinner time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I attended a golf outing of 16 senior duffers at the Lodge. The accommodations were first class and the staff was well trained in taking care of the frequent traveler. The golf was challenging and target golf so take a lot of balls. The fore caddies varied in their quality. The pro shop staff was experienced and helpful. You should do this once but understand it will be expensive. Personally, I prefer the Greenbrier for value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

One of the prettiest rooms we've ever stayed in anywhere! Lodge and room decor would appeal to the most discerning tastes. We had reservations at the restaurant there for dinner, but we cancelled them because we were enjoying the fabulous river view, atmosphere, and food in the bar. During our stay, we enjoyed the beautiful golf courses, the luxurious spa, and one of the prettiest beach clubs anywhere. Breakfast in Colt & Alison was delicious.. Everyone we encountered was friendly and anxious to please.

Room Tip: You could hear the air conditioning units for the lodge from our room overlooking the golf course (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and stayed a long weekend for golf. Rooms are large and very well appointed. Staff is very well trained but at time a bit over bearing, overall very good service. Golf courses; Sea Side and Plantation course are immaculately maintained. Liked Sea Side over Plantation. The courses are basically flat with water and bunkers for challenge. Neither course incredibly challenging and definitely not brutal just a very nice course to have a relaxing round very enjoyable. Pace was good for resort golf. Restaurant are nice, menu nothing special, food is a bit over rated and pricey. The breakfast was so so not much imagination presentation and service very good. Shuttle to get you back and forth to the beach side property with there other restaurant. Lot of local restaurants to choose from off the property great variety in St. Simons and Brunswick.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have the better facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bristolroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

You can't help but feel like a king when you enter the Lodge at Sea Island. Wish stayed longer than the one night!

Room was perfect; bed very comfortable. Beautiful view. We were in room 5.

Cocktails on the porch were my favorite part of evening. Certainly recommend making a reservation for dinner. Dinner was delicious at the Oak Room and again all service staff were very welcoming and friendly. I was surprised at menu pricing especially wine - there wasn't the mark-up I expected. Recommend fried oysters in the shell as a started and beef short ribs.

Golf was just as luxurious. A slight hiccup in the pro-shop not having us booked for our tee time was corrected with no delay to our schedule. Our caddie Gallary was exceptional and improved our scores!

If not familiar with country club life, you'll be most impressed with the locker rooms. Full bar and dining service available. We received same level of service as members! Not so at Pinehurst for example.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My room with the river view is on of the finest appointed rooms I can remember. The beamed ceiling with the pale blue inset was an unexpected detail that elevated the appearance of the room to spectacular. The ceiling fan gave it a true beach feel.
The grounds were perfectly maintained making walking to the beach club a pleasure.
if you can make it out to Colt and Alison at the Plantation course have their signature dish the Filet Au Poivre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.2 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Property: The Lodge at Sea Island
Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing