We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, ill
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I'd be hard pressed to find one thing that wasn't fabulous. How about ladies being offered the option of a black napkin at breakfast (saves them the lipstick stains). Wow!!! They have thought of everything. Breakfast buffet and menu options were great, dinner memorable, the rooms with a different assortment of cookies every night and beautiful sunset views. Check in with our own personnel attendant waiting for us at the front door. Cloud beds that you melted into. I guess I could go on and on but it was a splendid couple of days and we have already said we'd go back again. Worth the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen10151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    17
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
102
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort St John
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you want elegance and the highest calibre of service in a very charming architectural environment, come to the Lodge at Sea Island. My wife and I had a beautiful room with a huge patio with a stunning view. Golfing was world-class, all our meals were excellent, and the two-day stay could not have been more delightful. We definitely will return!!

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room with one of the large roof patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very little to add to the other positive reviews--agree with all. But to make the Lodge even better, they could have better (more) lighting, especially in the bathroom.

If you have never been to Sea Island, you should. Maybe a little hard to get to, but beautiful.

Spectacular in every way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarEagleCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I have been coming to SI for many years for New Years. He loves to golf and I go to the spa, read or fitness center. So relaxing and everyone is so pleasant. The Lodge is so homey and we love the cookies and milk!

Room Tip: We love Room 3 which overlooks the 18th hole at Plantation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

impeccable, beautiful hotel with helpful staff. they are looking to make u feel comfortable and trying to make sure you have the best time. i feel like they were working for me--instead of hotel. great location for the golf courses (just walked outside the hotel) which my son and i played 6 1/2 rounds in 3 days. staff always looking to get us out and playing and placing us on the golf course for maximum speed for our pace of play(which is QUICK). played all three courses---retreat and plantation are nice courses--seaside is special and was in pristine amazing condition (since we were the first golfers playing there after they finished a 11 day maintenance closure)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keppe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had a wonderful anniversary thanks to the sea island staff what a great place to stay. Georgia is a great state and so fortunate to have sea island and the lodge located there. They have done a beautiful job keeping the natural beauty of the land

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed at The Lodge for over 10 years, and find its quality and service continually of the Excellent/consistent nature - the employees are very well trained and seem to enjoy their jobs. Recalling our name from previous visits is a nice touch .Our Room (#3) had it' own large deck with comfortable furniture, and the room (as are all Lodge rooms) very spacious, well equipped and comfortable - more like a small apartment. The golf courses are always in top shape, although leading up to the McGladry PGA event there is "cart path only" on the Seaside - check before you go, as this is easily the jewel of the property and a "must play". The Plantation and Retreat courses would be Four Star any place. The food at the Lodge is super and the Cloister is only a 15 minute drive away with many more great eateries. If you like to ride, be sure to take a beach trail ride - many other activities for almost any taste.

Room Tip: Ask for a view allowing you to see and listen to the bagpiper each evening around dinner time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
586 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
698 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Property: The Lodge at Sea Island
Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing