We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just completed our third stay and each time it gets better. People really make you feel at home and they want you to return. Golf, tennis and food all excellent. Mike and Michael in Colt & Allison Resturant, Donna a concierge, James and Ashley in the Lodge bar, Chris on the piano, and our caddy Mike all are great and helpful people. Can not wait to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRiess, General Manager at The Lodge at Sea Island, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for being a recent guest at The Lodge at Sea Island. I look forward to sharing your warm compliments with the staff. I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Sea Island as a return guest and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    17
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
102
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We just returned from a weekend here with three other couples. ( A golf foursome celebrating birthdays) Everything was perfect. Frank Badger ( AKA "James") made us feel like old friends, remembering all our names and what we like to drink. I enjoyed the afternoon tea service sitting by the fireplace and the milk & cookies delivered to our room at bedtime. I loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs listening to the bagpiper in the warm afternoon light.
I never saw it, but apparently the men's locker room is heaven on Earth; steam room, card tables, hot chili and a full bar. We were lucky to see our husbands at all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRiess, General Manager at The Lodge at Sea Island, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and sharing your recent stay experience at The Lodge at Sea Island. I truly appreciate your warm compliments and look forward to sharing them with the team. I hope to welcome you and your friends back to Sea Island soon. Please contact me directly if I may be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our 6th straight Vanentines Weekend at the Lodge. As always everything was fabulous. The lodge is truly top notch and deserves 6 stars in every catagory. It's Not cheap but it is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRiess, General Manager at The Lodge at Sea Island, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for being a loyal guest at The Lodge at Sea Island! We strive to offer our guests extraordinary experiences that are worthy of sharing with friends and family. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, ill
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I'd be hard pressed to find one thing that wasn't fabulous. How about ladies being offered the option of a black napkin at breakfast (saves them the lipstick stains). Wow!!! They have thought of everything. Breakfast buffet and menu options were great, dinner memorable, the rooms with a different assortment of cookies every night and beautiful sunset views. Check in with our own personnel attendant waiting for us at the front door. Cloud beds that you melted into. I guess I could go on and on but it was a splendid couple of days and we have already said we'd go back again. Worth the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen10151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St John
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you want elegance and the highest calibre of service in a very charming architectural environment, come to the Lodge at Sea Island. My wife and I had a beautiful room with a huge patio with a stunning view. Golfing was world-class, all our meals were excellent, and the two-day stay could not have been more delightful. We definitely will return!!

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room with one of the large roof patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very little to add to the other positive reviews--agree with all. But to make the Lodge even better, they could have better (more) lighting, especially in the bathroom.

If you have never been to Sea Island, you should. Maybe a little hard to get to, but beautiful.

Spectacular in every way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarEagleCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I have been coming to SI for many years for New Years. He loves to golf and I go to the spa, read or fitness center. So relaxing and everyone is so pleasant. The Lodge is so homey and we love the cookies and milk!

Room Tip: We love Room 3 which overlooks the 18th hole at Plantation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
700 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sea Island

Property: The Lodge at Sea Island
Address: 100 Retreat Ave, Saint Simons Island, GA 31561
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete luxury and world class golf at these two properties in Sea Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sea Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing