We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful sights on beautiful St. Simons Island!”

Maritime Center at Historic Coast Guard Station
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful sights on beautiful St. Simons Island!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

in response to "rip of of ticket price". Spelling counts and so does the truth; it's one ticket price to enjoy the maritime museum AND the lighthouse. The lighthouse is not closed, the light keeper's house is closed for renovations so that they may return it to it's historically accurate state. Your can enjoy a very informative video, a cute gift shop that supports these sites and climb the steps up the lighthouse for a gorgeous view of lovely St. Simons Island For a mere $10 you can support two beautiful and well-maintained historical sites. This reviewer should consider the cost of maintaining our historical monuments a bargain instead of misrepresenting the truth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rip of on ticket price”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

When you buy your ticket for the Coast Guard Station you have to purchase a ticket for the light house museum, that is closed for repair. What a rip off. You should only have to pay for what you go see not something that is closed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onarga, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stopped here as the second leg of our St. Simons Lighthouse tour. Plenty of Coast Guard history. Two floors to review, with the option to go to the top and view the town or the beach. Good for kids ages 9+.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting insight into early Coast Guard operations along the coast!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited the Coast Guard Station and found the place to be very interesting, both for its service during WWII and ecological subjects of coastal Georgia. The staff was friendly, and the self-guided tour was easy to follow and for us, the right pace. We made it thru the tour and up to the observation deck for a view of the beach and the island that made the cost of admission worthwhile. It wasn't very crowded on the day we were there, so we took our time and explored the exhibits and listened to the presentations at our own pace. The price of admission here also lets you into the light house at the village end of Saint Simons Island...a two for one deal that helps stretch your dollars. Another thing we liked was that the beach itself is "pet friendly" and we returned later with our dog Maddy for some swimming and beach time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historical Site”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Bit of history about the Coast Guard, how it got started. interesting. Again staff @ the museum very friendly. Can tour @ your own pace.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrewRy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Center at Historic Coast Guard Station also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Maritime Center at Historic Coast Guard Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing