We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate accommodations and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Inn at Sea Island is part of Sea Island's resort properties, which also includes The Cloister, and The Lodge. The Inn at Sea Island is isolated from its sister properties. However, as a patron of the Inn, you get access to its sister properties. Unfortunately, you do not have access to the Beach Club with your stay at Sea Island. You have to pay $100 pp to gain access to the beach club. The beach club has an adult swimming area with a large outdoor hot tub, children's pool, and a decent sized slide in a separate area. The beach club allows gives you access to their private beach with umbrellas and chairs. It also houses 4 dining options; Snack Shack, Flip Flop Bistro, Wonderland, and Southern Tide. Snak Shack and Flip Flop Bistro are casual. Wonderland is a sweets and confections shop. Southern Tide is a sit down, casual dining area. It offered an amazing brunch buffet the Sunday we visited. It was $39 pp but included fried chickens, tea sandwiches, sausages and other delightful sweet and savory items.

If you would like to go to the beach club, make sure you call ahead because during certain holidays, beach club access is restricted to only ppl staying at the Lodge and the Cloister. We upgraded to the Lodge the 2nd night of our stay and was able to get access to the beach club. I personally don't think it's worth it to pay the extra $100 pp for beach club access.

There's a shuttle that comes every 30 minutes to the Inn that will take you to other facilities. The Inn is comparable to standard 4 stars hotels elsewhere. It's a small hotel property and there is self parking. Its lobby has a clean, modern, and seaside appeal. However, it's not an oceanfront property. The rooms are quite immaculate and includes a fridge. I agree with reviews that stated the walls are thin. You can hear muffled noises from the adjacent rooms. Even though the hotel's ambience was quite nice, it's definitely more modest than its sister properties. Though the lounging area near the pool is nice, the whole pool area is quite small.

One good thing about staying at the Inn is the complimentary breakfast. Although I have had better complimentary breakfasts, this one offered a pretty good selection. The breakfast includes orange juice, grapefruit juice, tea, coffee, and milk to drink. They offered great pastries that were fresh and not packaged. There were croissants, apple stuffed pastries and raspberry stuffed pastries, among other items. Hot items included, waffles, bagels, grits, eggs, and oatmeal. There were cheese, bacon, brown sugar, dried fruits, and nuts to accompany the grits and oatmeal. They also offered yogurt, fresh fruits, and Kind brand granola bars.

The most outstanding aspect of the Inn ( and throughout other Sea Island properties) is the exceptional customer service. The clerks were accommodating, informative and friendly. We prepaid for 2 nights at the Inn and decided we'd rather stay at the Cloister or the Lodge the next evening. The clerks really worked to help us upgrade our stay. They also provided us with a heapful of information on where to eat and what to do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hanniebuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Took my 11-year old granddaughter for a mini-vacation at The Inn. Room was expansive, beds were soooo comfortable, decor was lovely. The staff was number one as far as excellent customer service. All went overboard to see that our stay was memorable. This was our 1st visit, but will definitely NOT be our last. Recommend The Inn for its service, location, and beauty. Am looking forward to our next visit at The Inn at Seal island. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Inn. The hotel is part of the Cloister Hotel and you have use of the facility, from the Spa, pool club, restaurants/bar and several championship golf courses. The staff at either location was second to none and the Inn has very large and comfortable rooms. I can't wait to stay at the Inn again and enjoy all it has to offer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

*****The Staff was courteous and helpful!!! We enjoyed taking many photos of all properties! My husband is amazing videographer!...Love video he took of the Bagpiper performance with children and families. 7-8 pm each night at The Lodge!!
The Cloister Hotel is a Must See!!! Cookies and Tea/Lemonade at 3pm...
Beach Club...Family Rate: Two Adults and 2 children...Needs to be modified for a family to enjoy a couple of days.

FABULOUS PLACE TO VISIT ON GEORGIA'S BEACHES!!!
Our first trip to St. Simon and Jekyll Islands!!!
We were so happy with our accommodations for 5 nights! Great breakfast each am.
Delicious Coffee and outstanding menu.
Suggestion: Two kind of cookies each afternoon for GUESTS only.



******* add 1st paragraph HERE

Room Tip: A few different styles! One has a sofa included. We liked the large shower... Comforable mattre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family in March. We are frequent visitors to SSI, and as I have stayed at The Lodge, I suggested we stay at this Sea Island property. We knew going in that the hotel was new and that there would be hiccups. While I will mention them, they were minor and did not deter from our stay. The ac in our room was definitely too loud, to the point that it made it difficult to hear the tv at times. The conditioning shampoo was not conditioning at all. I am not opposed to the idea, but the product was subpar. At the time that we went, there was a $100 a person fee to use the Beach Club. Add that to the cost of the room, and we might as well have stayed at The Cloister. As I understand it, they now have a package that includes the Beach Club at a reasonable rate for a family. The breakfast was quite good for the rate charged. While the pool is small, it is the appropriate size for the hotel. It was nice that it was heated, as it was in the 50's when we were there. There is a rather large mini fridge in the room, and that was convenient for our drinks and leftovers. The rooms are well appointed, and the beds provided a good night of sleep. The room was spacious, and our family of 4 had no problems moving about in the room. While there are no restaurants at the hotel, there are plenty of options available on the island. I will definitely be back when back on SSI

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChipLovesRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Small and quaint, The Inn is brand new and not too over the top in price or decor. The staff will warn you when you call that the Inn is not on the beach but a few minutes drive gets you to the cloister, or to public beach access if that's your thing. Free laundry facility, wifi, and breakfast were included in our stay; add those to the excellent service and we felt like a couple of celebrities enjoying a getaway.

It wasn't until Friday rolled around that we noticed just how thin these brand new beautiful walls were. our neighbors checked in at 3 in the morning, slamming doors, arguing loudly and then making up even more loudly. The front desk people were understanding and got us moved to another room within a few hours.

Call me a diva, but the appeal of passing up larger resort hotels was avoiding crowds in the common areas- there are certain days and seasons that this is not possible. Also keep in mind that theres no room service or meals available on the premises after breakfast. Do bring some snacks and be ready to explore the local restaurants.

We will definitely be back on an off season and stay weekdays only.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining door if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRiess, General Manager at The Inn at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at The Inn at Sea Island. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience as it will only help us improve. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great hotel and location for the money. Hotel was clean and the layout was very nice. Staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet was a nice touch instead of just the usual pastries. It is a short drive to the Beach. If you want to access the Beach via the Cloister, there is a charge of $50. We did not do this but rather used the public access area which was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkldawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
3.2 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
158 reviews
8.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
520 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
667 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sea Island

Address: 100 Salt Marsh Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £113 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Sea Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Sea Island is the perfect spot for your next golf trip or vacation on St. Simons Island. The Inn is just minutes away from the Sea Island Golf Club and The Lodge, The Cloister on Sea Island, and all of St. Simons Island's historic sites, beaches, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing