We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Even though this is the new, reasonably priced young sister of Forbes 5-star Sea Island properties The Cloister and The Lodge, it holds its own for impeccable service, huge rooms, great pool setting with lounging area, exterior Italian architecture and ambiance, very comfortable bed and couch. Girlfriend and I paid our first visit here, and will certainly book again when on St. Simons the next time. All requests at front desk were handled within minutes...dinner reservations when unable to get on my own, change of bedding from down because of allergies, etc. Plus, made-to-order omelets by the chef that comes free with the room charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

First be sure you understand, this is not part of the Sea Island complex. It is owned by the same group but it is a very nice hotel, sort of an upscale courtyard, outside the Sea Island grounds. That said the hotels is very nice, great decor, well maintained. Good breakfast, attentive staff. Only complaint is very noisy air conditioner in our room. But for the price this place is tremendous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Inn at Sea Island is part of Sea Island's resort properties, which also includes The Cloister, and The Lodge. The Inn at Sea Island is isolated from its sister properties. However, as a patron of the Inn, you get access to its sister properties. Unfortunately, you do not have access to the Beach Club with your stay at Sea Island. You have to pay $100 pp to gain access to the beach club. The beach club has an adult swimming area with a large outdoor hot tub, children's pool, and a decent sized slide in a separate area. The beach club allows gives you access to their private beach with umbrellas and chairs. It also houses 4 dining options; Snack Shack, Flip Flop Bistro, Wonderland, and Southern Tide. Snak Shack and Flip Flop Bistro are casual. Wonderland is a sweets and confections shop. Southern Tide is a sit down, casual dining area. It offered an amazing brunch buffet the Sunday we visited. It was $39 pp but included fried chickens, tea sandwiches, sausages and other delightful sweet and savory items.

If you would like to go to the beach club, make sure you call ahead because during certain holidays, beach club access is restricted to only ppl staying at the Lodge and the Cloister. We upgraded to the Lodge the 2nd night of our stay and was able to get access to the beach club. I personally don't think it's worth it to pay the extra $100 pp for beach club access.

There's a shuttle that comes every 30 minutes to the Inn that will take you to other facilities. The Inn is comparable to standard 4 stars hotels elsewhere. It's a small hotel property and there is self parking. Its lobby has a clean, modern, and seaside appeal. However, it's not an oceanfront property. The rooms are quite immaculate and includes a fridge. I agree with reviews that stated the walls are thin. You can hear muffled noises from the adjacent rooms. Even though the hotel's ambience was quite nice, it's definitely more modest than its sister properties. Though the lounging area near the pool is nice, the whole pool area is quite small.

One good thing about staying at the Inn is the complimentary breakfast. Although I have had better complimentary breakfasts, this one offered a pretty good selection. The breakfast includes orange juice, grapefruit juice, tea, coffee, and milk to drink. They offered great pastries that were fresh and not packaged. There were croissants, apple stuffed pastries and raspberry stuffed pastries, among other items. Hot items included, waffles, bagels, grits, eggs, and oatmeal. There were cheese, bacon, brown sugar, dried fruits, and nuts to accompany the grits and oatmeal. They also offered yogurt, fresh fruits, and Kind brand granola bars.

The most outstanding aspect of the Inn ( and throughout other Sea Island properties) is the exceptional customer service. The clerks were accommodating, informative and friendly. We prepaid for 2 nights at the Inn and decided we'd rather stay at the Cloister or the Lodge the next evening. The clerks really worked to help us upgrade our stay. They also provided us with a heapful of information on where to eat and what to do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hanniebuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Took my 11-year old granddaughter for a mini-vacation at The Inn. Room was expansive, beds were soooo comfortable, decor was lovely. The staff was number one as far as excellent customer service. All went overboard to see that our stay was memorable. This was our 1st visit, but will definitely NOT be our last. Recommend The Inn for its service, location, and beauty. Am looking forward to our next visit at The Inn at Seal island. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Inn. The hotel is part of the Cloister Hotel and you have use of the facility, from the Spa, pool club, restaurants/bar and several championship golf courses. The staff at either location was second to none and the Inn has very large and comfortable rooms. I can't wait to stay at the Inn again and enjoy all it has to offer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

*****The Staff was courteous and helpful!!! We enjoyed taking many photos of all properties! My husband is amazing videographer!...Love video he took of the Bagpiper performance with children and families. 7-8 pm each night at The Lodge!!
The Cloister Hotel is a Must See!!! Cookies and Tea/Lemonade at 3pm...
Beach Club...Family Rate: Two Adults and 2 children...Needs to be modified for a family to enjoy a couple of days.

FABULOUS PLACE TO VISIT ON GEORGIA'S BEACHES!!!
Our first trip to St. Simon and Jekyll Islands!!!
We were so happy with our accommodations for 5 nights! Great breakfast each am.
Delicious Coffee and outstanding menu.
Suggestion: Two kind of cookies each afternoon for GUESTS only.



******* add 1st paragraph HERE

Room Tip: A few different styles! One has a sofa included. We liked the large shower... Comforable mattre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family in March. We are frequent visitors to SSI, and as I have stayed at The Lodge, I suggested we stay at this Sea Island property. We knew going in that the hotel was new and that there would be hiccups. While I will mention them, they were minor and did not deter from our stay. The ac in our room was definitely too loud, to the point that it made it difficult to hear the tv at times. The conditioning shampoo was not conditioning at all. I am not opposed to the idea, but the product was subpar. At the time that we went, there was a $100 a person fee to use the Beach Club. Add that to the cost of the room, and we might as well have stayed at The Cloister. As I understand it, they now have a package that includes the Beach Club at a reasonable rate for a family. The breakfast was quite good for the rate charged. While the pool is small, it is the appropriate size for the hotel. It was nice that it was heated, as it was in the 50's when we were there. There is a rather large mini fridge in the room, and that was convenient for our drinks and leftovers. The rooms are well appointed, and the beds provided a good night of sleep. The room was spacious, and our family of 4 had no problems moving about in the room. While there are no restaurants at the hotel, there are plenty of options available on the island. I will definitely be back when back on SSI

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChipLovesRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
8.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sea Island

Address: 100 Salt Marsh Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £125 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Sea Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Sea Island is the perfect spot for your next golf trip or vacation on St. Simons Island. The Inn is just minutes away from the Sea Island Golf Club and The Lodge, The Cloister on Sea Island, and all of St. Simons Island's historic sites, beaches, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing