We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but really thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First, as mentioned by others, this hotel is not on Sea Island. It is in St Simons. To access the amenities on Sea Island there is a stiff fee that you must pay.

The hotel appears to be very new. The public area is nice and airy. Some of the theme of the Cloisters is carried through into the architecture in this building. There is a central common area between building with a pool and the walls of the lobby area appear to open so that the lobby and the common area become one. It was very warm when we were there and the walls were closed.

The room we stayed in was very large with 9 foot ceilings. The room had a king bed, couch, desk, dresser, small safe and a mini-refrigerator. From one stand point the room appeared to under decorated. In the whole building it appeared that they had built the walls with windows and then decided how to divide the interior. I saw in several places, including our room, where they had walls in front of windows. In our room it seemed that the closet was framed after the window was put it and the wall of the closet overlapped the window (odd).

There are no ceiling lights, but there were 4 or 5 lamps in the room. The closet did not have a light in it and was 15 feet from the nearest light. One feature I did like was that in two places there were 6-plug outlets so it was easy to charge all your various electrical items.

The bathroom had a shower, no tub, and the shower was about the shape and size of a normal bath tub with sliding, frosted, glass doors. They use european style soap and shampoo in the shower, a multi-dispenser. Towels were large but I did not consider them to be very fluffy. There is no vent fan in the bathroom so the mirror was continually fogging up. The commode was dual flush (small for liquids, more for solids). The problem was that it took two flushes to get anything down.

There is a free breakfast from 6:30 to 10 AM each morning. Three hot foods including grits and oatmeal are available. Otherwise you have fruit, cereal and pastries. The staff was very friendly.

The major problem, and it has been expressed by others, is that conversation and noise carries from room-to-room in the hotel. It must have been built with some insulation factor missing. I have never been in a hotel before where you could follow the conversation in the next room so easily. This is a serious problem to consider if you are considering this hotel. If noise and talking keeps you from sleeping or bothers you, this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Try to find a room with nothing on one side to minimize the noise from adjacent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My daughter was married on Sea Island. We used The Inn to house almost all of our guests. It was perfect! The breakfast was outstanding, the staff accommodating and friendly, and the pool and bar area became a favorite gathering spot for all our guests. One big happy guest house!! It enabled all our guests from different areas to become friends which made for a happy group at the wedding. Plus, transportation is provided to all the venues. If you are planning a wedding with many out of town guests. The Inn at Sea Island is the perfect housing solution!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dia1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Inn at Sea island was everything my wife and I wanted for a two night stay. Our purpose was to check out St. Simons Island and this was a great location to do so. The entire hotel is very clean and centrally located. Literally a five minute walk is Tramici's Restaurant that we found exceptional. The owner is also one of the chefs and he is very attentive to his customers. Being in the food and beverage business myself, I enjoyed watching the staff operate like a well oiled machine. The place is always packed, so make reservations. Another option, which is what we did, was to sit at the bar both nites we ate there. The bartenders are great and the service at the bar was very quick. We will absolutely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We came here for a weekday getaway and it was amazing! The staff was great, the room was great, and breakfast was wonderful!! The hotel is near alot of my fav restaurants along with the movies also!! I love the bar area in this hotel very nice!! This was an amazing weekday getaway for us!!! Don't miss out on this location you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A spur of the moment birthday trip to St Simons led us to the Inn at Sea Island. Though it is not on the beach, it is a lovely facility with a quiet and picturesque pool area. The inn is new and allows you to use the facilities at Sea Island which was a plus as we spent a day at the Beach Club. Hint: Go to the Beach Club Monday-Thursday for a cost of $50 per room instead of $200! The staff at the inn was so hospitable and the morning breakfast delicious. The inn also has a shuttle service to various restaurants and that came in handy as we had car issues on our last night. We would definitely choose the Inn at Sea Island again!

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool with two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms are very well kept, good internet and easy to find the location on the Island. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again on my next trip. Thank you all for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Even though this is the new, reasonably priced young sister of Forbes 5-star Sea Island properties The Cloister and The Lodge, it holds its own for impeccable service, huge rooms, great pool setting with lounging area, exterior Italian architecture and ambiance, very comfortable bed and couch. Girlfriend and I paid our first visit here, and will certainly book again when on St. Simons the next time. All requests at front desk were handled within minutes...dinner reservations when unable to get on my own, change of bedding from down because of allergies, etc. Plus, made-to-order omelets by the chef that comes free with the room charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
520 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
667 reviews
8.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sea Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sea Island

Address: 100 Salt Marsh Drive, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £114 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Sea Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Sea Island is the perfect spot for your next golf trip or vacation on St. Simons Island. The Inn is just minutes away from the Sea Island Golf Club and The Lodge, The Cloister on Sea Island, and all of St. Simons Island's historic sites, beaches, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing