We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Saint Simons Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Darien)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Darien)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
217
24
4
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
24
4
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbug spraybird watchingorganic gardenhelen housecocktail hourcedar housenature loversbeach combingflora and faunaunique placeshore birdsnatural beautythree meals a daybaby turtlesfishing gearall inclusive vacationsocial hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is how you are treated on this island, like royalty. You are picked up at the dock and your baggage is loaded and unloaded to your room. You are met at the island dock and given a very short overview of all the island has to offer. We arrived on the 4:30 pm boat . We stayed in the Cedar House in the back left room and what a great view. The room was very spacious and the bed was so comfortable. Hors d'oeuvres are served at 6 pm and then supper is at 7 pm. The meals are 5 star and the chefs will accommodate if you have a different preference. You are free to explore on your own or go on guided trips. There is bird watching, surf fishing, fishing from skiffs or kayaks, swimming pool, nature walks and your own unpopulated beach. You can have a picnic lunch prepared and enjoy the whole day on the beach. I enjoyed the screened porch during a rain storm. Can not say enough about the staff and look to return again, only at a different time of year. To many mosquitos for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjkfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

It's such a great compliment to hear that you felt like royalty. We certainly strive to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and well taken care of. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My mom and I stayed at LSSI for four nights at the end of June, and it really did feel like we were in on a secret. The island is so calm and beautiful that you forget about the real world for a spell. Even better, you actually learn something on this unique vacation! It's not like a regular all-inclusive resort where you just sit around on the beach in another country and never feel like you experience the landscape or the history of the place you happened to plop down. At LSSI, you feel like an expert on Day 3. The naturalists and every other staff member are endless wealths of knowledge, and it's such a fun adventure packing it all in and learning something new at every corner. That being said, you still get the amazing benefits of a traditional all-inclusive: incredible food, cocktail hour, worry-free amenities. They really think of everything before you do in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I couldn't get over the fact that although everything was taken care of and planned for us by the staff, we never felt micro-managed, as can happen sometimes in places like this where everything is new for first-time visitors. You are left to explore, with as much or as little support from the wonderful staff as you're interested in taking. It's also so fun to get to know the other guests and families staying with you. Basically, it was an all-around wonderful experience, and now I understand why so many of the other guests were repeat customers. I will be back to Little St. Simon's, hopefully more than once!

Room Tip: The River Lodge has an AMAZING view of the marshes and is a great place for nature-viewing: a steady stream of gorgeous birds and some deer. The back porch was also miraculously bug-free!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Little St. Simons Island is often referred to as a well kept secret but we're glad you found us and enjoyed your visit. It is a truly unique and special experience that we enjoy sharing with our guests. I'm really happy to hear that you learned a lot and felt well taken care of. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you're thinking about booking this trip- do it! Went with my other half, left the kids at home. I don't think they could handle the bugs. The bugs aren't really THAT bad, just take a lightweight long sleeved shirt and pants. LSSI keeps sunscreen and bug spray (containing deet and deet-free) by every door on the island. We found sand dollars by the ton and the shelling was great. The chefs are very nice and really do work with dietary restrictions. In my opinion, if you are signing up for an outdoor retreat, you should be prepared to see some bugs. I can't fathom the 3 terrible reviews because out trip was so very amazing. The naturalists were very polite and open to making the schedule for the day contain any activities that we suggested. We were there for 3 nights and got in 2 beach trips where we were the only ones on the beach, salt marsh kayaking, we took a skiff boat out (alone) for a picnic, a night turtle walk, pond adventures, tour of the organic garden, fishing, ocean seining, northern island adventure with a bat biologist, bike ride, rookery viewing and so much more. If you catch a fish, the kitchen staff will prepare it for you the same day. Some of the wildlife we saw included alligators, MANY shore birds, roseate spoonbills, snakes, crabs of all kinds, sea turtle and armadillos. Ask any naturalist anything about the island flora and fauna and they will have an answer for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0wlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're so happy to hear you had such a good time. You really managed to do a lot in three nights. It is amazing how much there is to see and do on Little St. Simons Island. As you noted, our naturalist are here to help you get the most out of your time here and are happy to tailor the daily excursions to your interests or preferences. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you bring the kids next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We did four nights @ LSSI, and loved every minute of it. If you want the typical spa/resort, this place is not you. But if you want to enjoy nature in a never logged maritime forest, an undeveloped 7 miles of beach, and some of the best birding, all while getting gourmet meals, this is your place! With a 32 guest maximum, no place is crowded, and with no television people actually talked to each other - even kids to adults!
Pampered adult camp describes LSSI. The naturalists, especially Stacia, are both knowledgeable and friendly. They went out of their way to help get us where we wanted to go, and suggested many other adventures. If that does not strike your fancy, you can just make a drink and hang - on the porch or at the pool. Cocktail hour starts at 6, bartended by one of the naturalists, and a GREAT supper follows.
You have to understand that you are on a 10,000 acre island, 6,500 of wich is salt marsh, and so you will have mosquitos, etc.. But there is bug spray and sun screen everywhere! Do not let that bother you. As each day went by I could feel the stress leaving my body.
I cannot recommend Little St. Simons more. I cannot wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank csdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We couldn't have said it better. Thank you for your glowing review and accurate description of the Little St. Simons Island experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much that you highly recommend it and can't wait to come back . We appreciate the compliment and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at LSSI. It was exactly what we were expecting and we had a great time. We enjoyed all the nature excursions, especially those lead by Britt and Stacia. The food is excellent, and this is a truly all inclusive trip--the only place you can possibly spend $ on the island is in the tiny gift shop! Do heed the warnings about 'skeeters. (LSSI furnishes plenty of bug spray and sunscreen for guests.) We've love to return, perhaps in the wintertime. Thanks to all the LSSI staff for a memorable and restful vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tom Cabin and thought it was a great choice for a couple.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chattatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for giving Little St. Simons Island a try and taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed all of our nature excursions. They are truly unique experiences and a large part of why many of our guests return. We're also happy you enjoyed our Low Country cuisine and found the visit to be restful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews