We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Marks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Simons Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent 3 days and nights there. Not for everyone, especially those who need to be constantly connected. This is a chance to connect with nature and yourself,Great accommodations,Great food, Great staff. Perhaps the greatest 3 day experience one may have.Don't miss it if you are in tune with nature. Al D

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Little St. Simons Island and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Given all the rave reviews, readers might wonder why mine is not a five. I think it has to do with value for dollar spent. For guests interested in birds, the Lodge on Little St. Simons Island is paradise, similar to Cumberland Island and Greyfield Inn, albeit less crowded (32 guests maximum). The Lodge itself is homey, the naturalists are informed, the family-style meals are simple but good, and it is a pleasure to arrive at a destination where there is no golf, no tennis, and no media distraction. I was disappointed, however, that the pool was not heated or maintained such that it was a welcoming place to swim, that a planting pot was left with standing water by our cottage and attracted mosquitoes, that the patio around which our cottage was built had been left to seed, and that guests had to wade through standing water up to the knee to get to the beach where the boardwalk could easily have been extended as needed on a seasonal basis, saving the sand dunes and the breeding tadpoles in the standing water. LSSI is a great "un-resort", with a fantastic reputation, so it would make sense to maintain its "un-resort" qualities at the highest level including the pool and the main walking/biking paths; to prepare food worthy enough the chef has pride to talk informally about what is being served when the guests are seated; and to have lodge staff that takes as deep an interest in the guests as the naturalists take in the birds and wildlife.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. I'm sorry to hear that you felt we missed the mark in some aspects. We will certainly take all of your comments into consideration so that we can continue to improve the experience for our guests. I would like to provide some additional insight into a couple of the items you mentioned. Little St. Simons Island's history and mission is based on conservation and we pride ourselves on being an eco-friendly resort. Although there are a few months of the year when a heated pool would be nice, it would also require a great deal of energy due to the size of the pool. We previously investigated the option of solar heat for it but found that the shade provided by the adjacent Oak trees would not allow this to be effective. As for the Helen House patio garden, we were in the process of replanting it during your visit so I'm sorry you were not able to see it finished but it will be beautiful again soon once the new plants get established. It has been a wet year on the Georgia coast and we had an usually high amount of rain recently that flooded the beach path as you noted. We regret that it was an issue for you and our other guests that were here at that time. Although it isn't a typical problem, we are working on plans to add a boardwalk in the near future. As you noted, Little St. Simons Island is not a typical resort and offers many things that aren't found in most resorts which makes it truly unique and special. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is an expensive getaway, but is truly a unique and extraordinary experience. There is so much to do, and virtually everything is taken care of once you reach this paradise. Your luggage is loaded onto the boat and delivered right to your room. All food, drink, activities, equipment and bug spray/sunscreen are provided for you. Once on the island, you do not need to reach for the wallet until the last minute when you are settling your bill. The only add-ons to your bill are for things you buy in the gift shop. Starting with food and drink. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all provided, and served up family style. There are three large tables with approx. 10 people at each table. Meals were really well done. The food choices and the preparation were such that (almost) everyone could enjoy them. Nothing was overspiced, over sauced, etc. My hats off to the chef for doing such a superb job. My favorites was the striped sea bass, but did not have a bad meal over four days. The amount of food is quite adequate for an active stay, but it certainly was not "all-you-can-eat." Again, that was perfectly done. All drinks are included. They had lemonade and iced tea, but also draft beer and mixed drinks (top shelf liquor). All the beverages were available all day. Next to the activities. There were naturalist-led activities after breakfast, after lunch, and after dinner. These included hikes, bird watching, fishing, etc. If you wanted, you could also go and do anything on your own. For these activities, they have trucks to take you to various points on the island, a fleet of bicycles that you can grab any time. There are also kayaks and skiffs to explore the waterways. They have binoculars, rain ponchos, mud boots and socks, fishing gear and tackle, and so on. They also have a host of biting insects. Each cabin/cottage, the main lodge, every truck had a rack with DEET and DEET-free insect repellent. Even with all that, you will get your fair share of insect bites. It just comes with the location and nature of the place. If insect bites are totally unacceptable, don't go. The staff was really wonderful and took care of everything. Very friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Bird watching was incredible. The painted buntings were a real treat. Tons of shore birds and wading birds! The people we met who were also staying here were all very nice and interesting to talk to. Everyone was thrilled to be there and extremely relaxed. It is really difficult to find anything to complain about. The only little gripe I had was that the after dinner activity for the last two nights we were there were presentations. To be fair, it was a little cold and windy those evenings, but we were really hoping to do something outdoors with one of the naturalists. It would have been nice for them to offer two evening activities. One presentation and one outdoor activity. As an example of one of the evening outdoor activities, we went on an owl prowl. We drove around the island in trucks and the naturalist played a recording of the eastern screech owl. On the fifth and final stop, the recording was answered by a couple of owls. We hung out for a while and they appeared in the trees to check us out. Way cool! Bottom line, if you want a unique experience on an unspoiled Georgia barrier island, save up and do this trip. We plan on coming back.

Room Tip: We three stayed in the Michael Cottage. It is perfect for 3-4 with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boss_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found it to be a truly unique and extraordinary experience. It's also great to know that you found everything you needed was provided and enjoyed the food and staff. It is our goal to make sure are guests are well taken care of so they can thoroughly enjoy this special island. In regards to the evening programs, we do typically alternate between presentations and outings but always take the conditions and comfort of our guests into consideration. Seeing the owls is a real treat so I'm glad you were able to experience that. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a 10,000 acre island, really a nature preserve, that can accommodate 32 people in a number of small buildings/lodges. You get to and from the island by taking a 10-15 minute boat ride from Saint Simons Island, but you feel like you are on another continent. There are something like 25 full time staff so your every need is attended to. The accommodations are relatively simple and "rustic" in nature, but spacious and very comfortable. Absolutely everything is provided for you and everything is included...sun block, bug repellent, umbrellas, ponchos, clothes washers and driers, WiFi, bicycles, naturalists' tours, canoes, kayaks, small motor boats, all food and drink, etc. Three meals a day are served in the main building...everyone eats at three big tables, and no one dresses up. The clothes you wear to go look at birds are just fine for dinner. The food is simple...no choices unless you are a vegetarian...but it is good and there is plenty of it. Wine and beer and drinks are free. The island is a birder's paradise, but there is plenty of other stuff to do, including trail walking, biking, going to the beach, sitting on your deck reading, etc. There are typically a few "activities" each morning and afternoon (plus some sort of presentation in the evening), mostly involving staff-led expeditions to one part of the island or another to look at birds, alligators, wildlife, etc., but you are also completely free to do anything you want on your own. If there is something you particularly want to do, they will arrange it. If you want to go to the beach but don't want to bike or walk there, they will drive you there in a truck. We walked on the beach, hiked, biked, read books, saw egrets, herons, shore birds, eagles, alligators, armadillos, deer, rattlesnakes, etc. Just wonderful. It is expensive but worth every penny if you are just looking to get away and relax. most of the people who were there when we visited were repeat visitors. And we will be too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the River Lodge...4 very separate bedrooms, a huge living room, a huge deck, screened i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

We couldn't agree more that the 15 minute boat ride to Little St. Simons Island takes you to such a truly spectacular and unique place that it feels like a whole other world. We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable visit and plan to return. We really appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We are just back from a visit to The Lodge on Little St. Simon's Island with our extended family of five, including young adult children. It was an excellent get-away for a family with varying interests, all relating to the outdoors. We were able to get out from under one another for activities, then meet up for meals. The sleeping quarters could be compared, perhaps, to an upscale Adirondack camp of the 1940's with nothing left to chance, including a fully outfitted drinks refrigerator, games, pre-stamped post cards and two (!) different types of washcloths. We took up 3 of the 4 rooms in our cabin, Cedar Lodge, but never felt we were in the way of the couple in the 4th room. Every guest there was extremely compatible, all nature lovers. We were outfitted with binoculars, boots and rain ponchos and sun and bug protection by superbly trained naturalists who acted as available (but not compulsory) camp counselors and took twice daily outings to watch birds, hike, kayak, fish and track the animals on the island. We had no idea that Georgia still had such a wild, spectacular unspoiled coastline, similar to northern Maine, due largely to the private efforts of several environmentally conscious individuals in the spirit of the Rockefeller's Adirondack Park Preserve of the last century. The three meals plus cocktails served daily in the main lodge were outstanding. One's every need is met and each of us left feeling we had had a fantastic time. March was a good time to go, with cool but sunny weather, lots of nesting birds and no bugs.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cedar Lodge, identical to River Lodge, the newer of the buildings. It had a beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHHNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

We are so happy to hear you and your extended family enjoyed your visit to Little St. Simons. As you noted, it is a great place for groups of family or friends to spend time together without being restricted to everyone doing the same thing every day. There are always a multitude of outdoor activities to choose from and meal time brings everyone back together to catch up on the days adventures and enjoy each others company. We're glad you found everything you needed was provided. We want all of our guests to be able to truly relax and enjoy this amazing place without having to worry about a thing. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This island is extraordinary because it is undeveloped except for the inn, and there are virtually none of these left on the S.E. coast. It is difficult to find apt descriptions of its natural beauty, of the pristine views in all directions, of the luxury of having an entire island with a stupendous beach for yourself and a couple of other people. Another luxury is the other guests, who are cultivated, accomplished and unpretentious. The service is luxuriously simple, practical, generous and personal - and when they say they provide absolutely everything you need, they are not kidding.

Our room in one of the river lodges was not luxurious by current standards, but was very quiet, comfortable and well-equipped, with its own temperature control, and it opened onto a common living room that was fantastic for our winter stay. Our only reproach was that the bathroom/vanity lighting was insufficient.

The food and table service were not perfect during our stay, and we were told by regular guests that they were surprized by this unusual state of affairs. We expect that this was quickly corrected.

One note for travellers who also know Greyfields on Cumberland Island: there are no cars on the beach at Little St Simons (and virtually no cars, period), and no smokestacks mar the views.

We visited over Christmas vacation and were not bothered by mosquitos when we took elementary precautions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the river lodges which face the river have the best views, but you spend relatively little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitebonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

We're so glad you found the island extraordinary and agree that it is a unique treasure. I'm sorry to hear the bathroom lighting wasn't sufficient and the dining was not up to our usual high standards. We will be sure to address and rectify those items. Thank you for visiting Little St. Simons Island and taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I just watched a show on TV about LSSI and realized we did not write a review after our trip last year. My husband and I took our daughters, aged 7 and 9, to LSSI for 4 nights in April. We couldn't have had a better time. Our kids loved it. Only one other family had a child there, but we never felt we were out of place with children. Guests and staff were so good to them, even though they ate all the homemade trail bars everyday. My oldest daughter has many food allergies, and food was specially prepared for her if needed. We stayed in the Helen House which was all ours because the third room was not occupied. It is not an expensive trip when you consider it is all inclusive including amazing activities. We canoed, fished, shell hunted, rode bikes, birdied, boated the skiffs, and loved the open naturalist trips in the back of the trucks. Rainy weather and bugs did not slow us down with the provided ponchos and insect repellent. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Helen House for extended family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddieHenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We're so happy to hear your family enjoyed visiting Little St Simons Island. I'm glad you took advantage of all the fun activities the island has to offer and found it to be a good value. I'm also happy to hear your daughter liked our homemade granola bars. They are a tasty and healthy treat! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
11.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
595 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
120 reviews
16.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
515 reviews
8.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
129 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island

Address: 1000 Hampton River Club Marina Dr, Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5593
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £341 - £588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prized for its pristine natural beauty, gracious hospitality and secluded worlds-away appeal, Little St. Simons Island is a private barrier island just off the Georgia coast. One of the crown jewels of Georgia's famed Golden Isles, Little St. Simons Island offers 7 miles of deserted beaches and 10,000 acres of undeveloped wilderness for exploration and relaxation. Privately owned, Little St. Simons Island has retained the charm and unhurried pace of coastal living. Moss draped live oaks and glistening marshes surround cozy accommodations in six charming cottages for no more than 32 overnight guests. The island is a paradise for nature lovers and offers a host of recreational, naturalist-led experiences including birding, boating, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, bicycling, interpretive tours, beachcombing, fishing and swimming. Accessible only by boat, this extraordinary natural sanctuary-among the last of its kind anywhere- welcomes your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Little St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing