We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAMILY VACATION”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Simons Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FAMILY VACATION”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a beautiful island, good food, wonderful staff,...This is a wonderful relaxing way to spend your vacation. We stayed in the Helen house, which was perfect for us. It is a three bedroom, three bath house with a large living room full of comfortable furniture. There were three generations of us, so it gave us a wonderful opportunity to spend quality time together. No TV, radio or phones. Wonderful beaches. Lots of nature things to learn about and do. The staff was wonderful, helpful and accommodating and always cheerful. I can't think of anything negative to say...at all. It was a memorable experience.

Green Features: This island is a refuge for turtles, birds, and other animals.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful family vacation. I'm glad you enjoyed the island, the food and our staff. It was our pleasure to host your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    23
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
46
124
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckhead, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Because our trip to Little SSI was many months ago, we now know that the team working with guests is as good as a staff gets. Young and medium-aged, they are dedicated heart and soul to the biology of the island. They are uber knowledgeable and enjoy sharing with guests.

The island is rustic in the best ways possible. Each morning at breakfast, a naturalist comes to the table and asks what each person wants to do for the day. Choices range from reading in one's room to going out alone, to birdwatching, hunting snakes and alligators, photography, or other guided seasonal activities. And guests are free to go wherever they choose with the resort's equipment - kayaks, runabout boats, bikes are all in good shape and waiting for adventure.

Whichever outing a guest chooses, the naturalist is expert at it. I went birdwatching for the first time. The naturalist knew the birds we saw, as well as the birds we heard. I was enthralled to hear her calling the birds out of hiding with an iPhone app! Other experienced bird-watching guests on the outing saw species they'd never seen after the iPhone encouraged them out of hiding.

The beach is deserted and beautiful. It's a two mile ride from the Lodge. And farther down the beach is a beached tug. We set out one afternoon to see the tug and told the office folks where we'd be.

As we dawdled on the beach before we rode our bikes to the tug, a naturalist came in a pick-up to ask us if we'd like some company. She shared her own story about living on the Georgia Barrier Islands and about LSSI in specific. We were enthralled. We were pleased to learn about horseshoe crabs. Their molted shells were all over the beach...

When we set out to the tug, she helped us cross the rill where a stream flowed into the ocean. It looked harmless, but with her warning, luckily we understood the power of water cutting into the sand and its ability to suck us with it out to sea.

The island is lost in time... there's so much to do that a phone is only for taking pictures, not for yakking or posting. We went in early December. It was almost gnat-less. We will return another December very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. I will be sure to share your praise with our "awesome staff." I couldn't agree more. We are fortunate to have such a talented and dedicated team of employees who enjoy working on Little St. Simons Island and take great care of our guests. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Little St. Simons is an all-inclusive vacation. They only allow 30 people to stay on the island at night. The island is mostly untouched and left natural with lots of wildlife. It is a birdwatchers paradise. We saw alligators, armadillos, deer and lots of birds. If you choose to do so, you can go with the naturalists on day excursions to fish, kayak, bird watch and many other activities (they choose a different activity daily) or if the activity of the day doesn't interest you, you can spend the day at the beach, go biking, hiking, rent a skiff, etc... on your own. They will even pack a lunch for you should you decide to picnic on the beach. We were on the beach entirely by ourselves the first day. There are lots of nice shells too. Word of caution... the mosquitos will eat you alive! Sunscreen and bug spray is provided. You will need to put on bug spray every time you venture out your door. There is no TV, but there are lots of games to take back to your room with you. I love this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We so happy to hear that Little St. Simons Island is your favorite vacation destination. That is a great compliment. We agree that it is a truly unique vacation experience where you can see lots of wildlife and birds and enjoy a multitude of outdoor activities. With only 32 guests per night you can savor the tranquility and never have to worry about crowds. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Lodge on Little St. Simons Island in April. Definitely a step back in time, the experience comes with all of the amenities. We stayed in the Hunting Lodge in one of two large rooms where the door closed with a string latch.

This resort/camp beckons birders and travelers who are interested in nature and kicking back and relaxing. There are several naturalists on staff. While morning and afternoon excursions are offered, there is ample opportunity to explore on your own using bikes, kayaks, or skiffs. There is seven miles of pristine beach, completely uninhabited.

While it was a pricy stay, everything was included. All the food, alcohol, bug spray and sunscreen you wanted were free of charge. Meals were served family style and the food was great, but not gourmet. The fried chicken was to die for. I definitely see a trip back to the Lodge in our future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. With family style meals, historic lodges and guided activities, a visit to Little St. Simons Island is reminiscent of summer camp for many of our guests. However, we do pride ourselves on providing very comfortable and elegantly rustic accommodations, home-style Low County cuisine and true Southern hospitality. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Back for a second year and it in may ways (since we knew our way around) it exceeded the first time.....we added deer and rattlesnake and a number of birds to our lists...explored part of the Island we hand not seen before...and once again made wonderful friends

The food, the cabin and the staff remain "top notch".....if we can - will be back in November- if no see you all next Spring

Room Tip: If just two of you...Tom's Cabin
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding but in no way diminish the quality of the stay
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jameslfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for returning to stay with us on Little St. Simons Island. There is so much to see and do that many guests feel the same as you and often enjoy it more on subsequent visits as they get to see and enjoy more of the island. The fall is a beautiful time of year here so we hope you can make it back in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Hunting Lodge at LSSI was built by millionaires that owned the island in the 18th and 19th centuries. Now you can stay in the original Hunting Lodge they built or one of the newer cabins. At first glance the price might seem high but once you find out what is included in the fee you will be pleasantly surprised. Included in you room price you get at great room, people wait on you hand and foot, they take you on tours all over the island, tours to see birds and alligators, tour to the beach to go shelling, they will even take you surf fishing at the beach, they have kayaks for your use, bicycles, small skiff boats with motors so you can drive yourself all around the island, they will give you fishing tackle and bait to take with you, they have guides to go with you if you don't want to go alone. All this is included in your room price. This is one of the most adventurous places I have ever been. All your meals are included, They have coolers of iced down beer and sodas for free, the bar is open and free all day and night. Meals are served family style in the Hunting lodge and each and every meal was fabulous. I hope I have not left anything out. Best trip ever and a bargain. Ask them for anything and you have it.

Room Tip: Room in the Hunting Lodge was great choose the river cabin to see the most Painted Buntings.
See more room tips
Green Features: LSSI is the mecca of eco environmental and animal protection. The birds and animals walk right up to you. Bird land it the tall trees of the courtyard and spend the night there. They have Hummingbird feeders on every cabin.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Lodge on Little St. Simons Island and taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the experience and found it to be a good value. As you mentioned, everything is included (aside from items in our Gift Shop) so you you don't have to worry about all of the additional and some times exorbitant costs that you often find in typical resorts. I'm also glad to hear you appreciated how adventurous a visit to Little St. Simons Island is. There are so many great outdoor activities as well as our trained Naturalists to be your guide. Thanks again for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a wonderful family vacation with our 4 yr old daughter. The island is beautiful, the facilities were wonderful, and most amazingly (and appreciated) all the staff were wonderful, friendly, polite, considerate, accommodating and helpful (including when one member of our party got sick). The naturalists were wonderful, and helped with providing wonderful experiences and contributing to a relaxing vacation. As others stated in their reviews, we truly cannot state enough about all the great things about this place.

Green Features: LSSI is very oriented towards being as environmentally-friendly as possible in their operations and it is nice knowing that they (and you when you are staying there) are trying to do whatever they can to help lessen their impact on the earth and our environment.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CW1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Lodge on Little St. Simons Island. We couldn't be happier to hear you had such a great time on your family vacation. I also really appreciate your glowing praise of the staff and will be sure to pass along your kind words. I couldn't be more pleased and proud of them and the hospitality they provide guests. Thanks again and we hope you will come back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
11.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
11.4 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
10.9 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island

Property: The Lodge on Little St. Simons Island
Address: 1000 Hampton River Club Marina Dr, Post Office Box 21078, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5593
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prized for its pristine natural beauty, gracious hospitality and secluded worlds-away appeal, Little St. Simons Island is a private barrier island just off the Georgia coast. One of the crown jewels of Georgia's famed Golden Isles, Little St. Simons Island offers 7 miles of deserted beaches and 10,000 acres of undeveloped wilderness for exploration and relaxation. Privately owned, Little St. Simons Island has retained the charm and unhurried pace of coastal living. Moss draped live oaks and glistening marshes surround cozy accommodations in six charming cottages for no more than 32 overnight guests. The island is a paradise for nature lovers and offers a host of recreational, naturalist-led experiences including birding, boating, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, bicycling, interpretive tours, beachcombing, fishing and swimming. Accessible only by boat, this extraordinary natural sanctuary-among the last of its kind anywhere- welcomes your discovery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Little St. Simons Island Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing