We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meals on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackwater Grill

Blackwater Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best meals on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

While we quickly ran up a $100 bill due to multiple drinks, the food here was the absolute best of any place we ate. I got the best Jambalaya I have ever had, and my wife was extremely happy with her food also. She also tried a cocktail special they call a Blackwater Honey, and she liked it so much that she has bought the ingredients back home so that she can duplicate. She describes it as drinking a flower, and I have to admit I liked it too, and I am almost exclusively a screwdriver drinker. For fine-dining, other than The Cloisters, this is the place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank david52111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    100
    45
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Blackwater remains my overall favorite place to eat at SSI. Pleasant, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Fresh fish and shrimp always good, some innovative sides usually available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank konaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time & money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This should be at the bottom of the list on st simons island. Brunswick stew- not bad. Crab soup-try tomato without the crabs. Wedge salad- wedge of lettuce with two small slices of tomato & two cucumber slices. Jambalaya pasta-really a sad excuse. Fish- try star-kist tuna.There are plenty good restaurants around town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dm0nty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must for dinner one night in SSI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were recommended to this place by others who have tried it. We did not have reservations but the waitress seated us by the door quickly.. Our appetizers were Fried Green Tomatoes and Blackwater Gumbo. Our entrees wee filet of grouper and Triple Tailfish. I have never tried triple tail but it was delicious. for dessert we had the Bread Pudding.. delicious well prepared food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beatlefan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT food, casual setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A locals favorite! Guaranteed to always have a great meal! The complimentary appetizer is delicious! The Boudin fritters are my husbands favorite. They also have the best shrimp and grits on the island, trust me, I have tried them all !!! The service is always great, and they aim to please! If you would like your dish cooked differently, or your steak seasoned differently just let the waitress know! The chef will come out and talk to you and make your dish to order!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwater Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Blackwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing