We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Excellent location and the staff is just as friendly as all of the reviewers have said. Reasonable rates, close to town, and very nice rooms. Price includes a simple but adequate breakfast. I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adaksmyrna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    110
    39
    14
    18
See reviews for
63
164
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2011

After a bad experience at a nearby hotel, we were suprised to find what looked to be a very expensive boutique hotel (Ocean Inn) had a more reasonable rate. Abbey, Ed and Jennifer saved our vacation by being the friendliest, most accomodating and helpful staff I've encountered in a long time (remember customer service? They do!). The rooms are nice with wonderful fluffy beds and down feather pillows; real glasses instead of the plastic wrapped flimsy cups; the all marble bathroom was a luxury. There are big balconies overlooking the lighthouse which are great for relaxing and the Village is within walking distance. The breakfast room made for a lovely sunroom in the afternoons. We highly recommend the Ocean Inn and Suites for any trip to SSI and look foward to returning again and again. Thanks, guys, for making our special weekend just that...special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelewis1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Service: From making the reservation with Herb to checking out everyone was 100% courteous and helpful. I couldn't ask for any more personable service.

Location: Across the street from the Lighthouse and Neptune Park, two blocks from the main Village area the location could not be better. We've vacationed at SSI for many years but this was our first stay at a hotel in the Village. It was great to be able to walk to our favorite restaurants.

Value: New Years Eve/Day is off season so the rate was excellent. We could have booked a room without ocean view for $89 but decided to step up to front side suite with view for $119.

Rooms: Our room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking Lighthouse, Sound, Neptune Park, & Village. Room had King and Queen beds, couch, chairs, table, desk, Frig,& Microwave. And the entire hotel (halls & rooms) have hardwood flooring, which is very unusual but also very nice.

Sleep Quality: Excellent! Apparently, the hotel owners decided to go with very good quality mattresses.

Cleanliness: No concerns anywhere.

Breakfast Buffet: Not much to speak of. Good for a cup of coffee and cereal/pastry, but that was it. Fortunately it was short walk to the Village for full breakfast at a restaurant.

Pool: Very nice pool are but was not heated. This was a little disappointing. I know it was December/January but temperature was in the 60's. A heated pool for a nice facility like Ocean Inn is not asking too much.

Decorating: Normally I wouldn't comment about decor/decorating, but Ocean Inn & Suites deserves a mention. I've already commented about the hardwood flooring throughout and this is definitely a thumbs up. You can tell there is a lot of personal touch to this hotel/inn, and most of it gives the place a feeling of home versus chain hotel. However, some of the decorating is over the top. Primarily, I'm speaking of the checker board stone tile on the walls EVERYWHERE.

Parking: Ample parking on the street in front of the hotel or under the hotel/ground floor. Some of the parking spaces will only accommodate compact or smaller vehicles so big honking trucks take up two spaces, which was a bit annoying. You'd think these folks would just park on the street where they had more room.

Overall Experience: My wife and I were trilled with our stay and could not have been more satisfied. We visit SSI/JI area 10 to 12 times a year and have stayed at many of the local hotels. I would definitely rank Ocean Inn & Suites near the top, especially considering the overall value and quality.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed for a few days and had booked the hotel 2 houses down the road as it had a higher ranking than Ocean Inn & Suites. However on inspection we decided not to stay there and instead checked into this one. What a very pleasant surprise, massively spacious room, floor boards, clean overall and beds are very comfortable. We stayed in room 303- ocean view with balcony. The breakfast is Continental and you have e a choice of proper china or plastic. Nothing to write home about, so we went to 4th of May for breakfast instead. Overall - highly recommened !.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZwarteGoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Magnificent Suite with all mod cons, friendly service and a great location on the edge of a lovely village right by the water - peaceful and pleasant!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Writing this review after 2 stays at the Ocean Inn and Suites (May 2010 and September 2010). First visit was when planning our wedding and second visit was for our wedding night. Obviously we were pleased enough with our first visit to return to stay for our wedding night. Also, we were impressed enough that we recommended OIS to our (wedding) guests.

Impressions after 2 visits: Herb and David (and the rest of the staff) have always been courteous and helpful during our stays. The location CAN’T be beat (provided you don’t expect to walk out the front door to the beach). The rooms are comfortable and have a more luxurious ‘feel’ than the average hotel experience. Parking is what you make it as there is plenty of uncovered parking right outside the Inn, while the covered parking below requires some skill as the spaces are a little ‘tight’. The pool, while somewhat small, was clean and quiet. We typically do not use room service (anywhere) so I have no comments. The Inn does provide free WiFi. During one of our visits the signal was a little weak. No problems with the WiFi during our second visit. A continental breakfast is offered every morning and is what I would expect of such. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, a number of restaurants are very nearby if you need a more ‘hearty’ morning meal.

Any issues that needed to be addressed during our visits were handled promptly by the staff (there were no ‘significant’ issues to be addressed during our stays).

As for the location, a number of great things are close by including the lighthouse, the pier, and the ‘village’ (shopping and dining). Additionally, you can get to a number of other areas for dining / shopping in less than 10-15 minutes by car. Also, as mentioned in a few of the other reviews, the beach near the Inn is only useable during low tide. For a trip to the beach, access (with parking) is just a few miles north – roughly 5-10 minutes by car.

Based on our previous experiences we will gladly return to the Ocean Inn and Suites for any future visits to SSI.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_And_E_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed here last weekend and had a great time. Contrary to what some have said, the hotel was actually very nice for the price. Sure, the room could use a coat of paint and a better continental breakfast. But, you can eat breakfast at the Sandcastle Cafe for a very reasonable cost. Room service is a little slow. But, for price and location you can't beat it. We stayed on the 2nd floor and didn't have an ocean view. But, we didn't need it since the ocean, lighthouse and pier are literally just across the street. For those with kids, there is a park, pool and put-put golf area next to the light house and plenty of open space for picnics and running around. Good restaurants are within close walking distance. We recommend Barbara Jeans and Iguana's.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoss92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
511 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
108 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
5.5 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Property: Ocean Inn and Suites
Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing