We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury? Not really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is odd, they consider themselves luxury, but, I am pretty sure they do not know the definition of luxury, maybe budget would be a better adjective for this place. The rooms - I appreciated the hardwood floors and the refrigerator, but, that was about it. The beds were fine, the shower was terrible - they desperately need new shower heads - the ones they have now are painful to use. I don't know how to describe it, comparable to a hose on the worst setting and someone is spraying you with it. The location is fine, but, it should be noted the beach is about a 5-8 minute drive down the beach. The breakfast was pitiful, no protein whatsoever, just bagels, pastries, some cereal and bananas (the only fruit). I did like the outdoor balcony, although, there was someone smoking on the balcony next to the public balcony. The staff was nice, but, when we checked in they assigned us to another guest's room, thankfully they were not there when we walked in, that could have been embarrassing. Would I stay here again, no.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Like the title says, the price is beyond reasonable. For the accomodations and the LOCATION they can't be beat. You can walk to everything which was a major bonus and the main reason we picked this over places closer to the good beaches. The staff was wonderful and knowledgeable of the area. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: You want a sit down balcony. The second and third floors are the way to go.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The rooms are very nice and large. Comes with nice size fridge and they offer parking. I had a wonderful check-in and check out experience, each time was with a friendly clerk who knew the area and surrounding areas. Walked in and got a great rate since it was their off season. I was able to even get a room that looked into the Ocean and directly at the Saint Simons Lighthouse. At night I could see the beams from the lighthouse from my window. I saw the beautiful sunset and then again saw it rise in the morning. I had a nice little balcony. They offered a complimentary continental which was basic but clean and just enough to get me going. My room was handsomely decorated and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The location is the primary reason to stay here. You can walk to the Georgia Sea Grille, and the pier area, and on the beach a bit, and the price is reasonable. Rooms are nice and most have good views of the lighthouse and ocean, and a nice breeze. Staff was very accommodating when we asked to change rooms, and switched us right away (we hoped for a balcony, and they obliged gladly.) Recommended.

Room Tip: Try for an upper level room facing the ocean/lighthouse or facing the oak-lined side street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for the night no complaints about the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms need a total remake very dark, old furniture, gloomy...pool is to small. Good thing is it a short walk to town but did not find a place to eat worth the walk??

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel has the perfect location on St. Simon's! Right across from the lighthouse and park. The staff was wonderfully helpful, and the rooms are very adequate. However, they should either discontinue or improve the "breakfast" It is awful! Coffee with powdered cream, gummy muffins, and terrible tasting small danish. Not surprisingly, this area is usually empty, and that is a shame, as the dining area has a lovely deck with a view of the lighthouse and ocean. However, the location would bring me back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrmarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Hotel is old style,we had an oversized room with a sit down balcony,room was really nice,lots of room. Refg. & microwave in room. Block from the town.The breakfast is'nt much,could be alot better.Water is across the street & the pier is there. The price is alittle high for the rooms,but we did like the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
123 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £98 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing