We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Conyers
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have stayed at the Ocean Inn and Suites for our family summer vacation the past 3 years and we are always impressed! It is a wonderful boutique style hotel with lovely rooms that are clean and spacious. The prices are reasonable and they even offer a special discount for return customers. On our recent visit we were pleasantly surprised when we checked in and found out we were provided with a free upgrade! We received a room with a view of the pool and the lighthouse, a balcony with chairs where you could sit and take in the ocean air, and a couch in the room for relaxing. The refrigerator and microwave in all of the rooms is great for drinks and snacks. We always bring bottled water because the water on the island has a high sulfur content and tastes bad. However, the hotel has a complimentary water dispenser with cups in the lobby that does not taste like sulfur, so they must filter it somehow, which is nice. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, lighthouse, museum, the pier, shopping, and a variety of restaurants that serve local seafood. I recommend you visit the lighthouse museum and climb to the top of the lighthouse, as it offers spectacular views of the island. Also, go to the maritime museum, which is educational and a lot of fun. I highly recommend eating at Iguana's while you are there. The night we arrived we went to a concert on the lawn of the lighthouse overlooking the ocean. There was also an art festival going on. You can go fishing or crabbing off the pier. There is a local bait shop where you can purchase supplies and we bought a crab net and caught crabs off of the pier. We caught enough to have for dinner one night and steamed them on one of the public grills in Neptune Park, which is close to the hotel and the beach. If you are going to cook out in the park, I recommend bringing some lighter fluid, as it is hard to start a fire with the wind on the beach without it. There is a playground in Neptune park as well as mini golf and public pools. The hotel has a wonderful salt water pool, which my son loves because there is no chlorine to burn his eyes. We always have a great time staying at the Ocean Inn and Suites, as the staff is always so friendly and helpful and we feel like this is our home away from home whenever we stay there. I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting St. Simon's Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    108
    39
    14
    18
See reviews for
63
162
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Gilead, OH
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Ocean Inn and Suites in St Simons Island, GA and I can't say enough good things about our stay. The staff is unbelievably accommodating! The rooms are wonderful! Clean & so homey! I would highly recommend staying here! I will be back just as soon as I can get there!!!!

Room Tip: All of the room options are awesome! It just depends on what you are looking for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitneyann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Park your car! Walk to The Village on St. Simon's Island for your meals. Enjoy nightlife and walk back to Ocean Inn and Suites. We have stayed there Georgia-Florida football game weekend and it's the best! Open your doors to the balconies, watch the game on TV and listen (and join in!) to the revelry on the Island and in the Hotel. I had made a good decision to let someone else have my ticket to the game! Stayed in the Presidential Suite which is on the corner - opened to balconies on two sides. Two bedrooms. Great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lighthouse view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaconMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Visit here once per year for the past 3-4 years. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, located within walking distance shopping, pier, lighthouse and other amusements. A variety of great places to eat! Wish that the in room WiFi signal was stronger, could not connect except in the lobby!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is odd, they consider themselves luxury, but, I am pretty sure they do not know the definition of luxury, maybe budget would be a better adjective for this place. The rooms - I appreciated the hardwood floors and the refrigerator, but, that was about it. The beds were fine, the shower was terrible - they desperately need new shower heads - the ones they have now are painful to use. I don't know how to describe it, comparable to a hose on the worst setting and someone is spraying you with it. The location is fine, but, it should be noted the beach is about a 5-8 minute drive down the beach. The breakfast was pitiful, no protein whatsoever, just bagels, pastries, some cereal and bananas (the only fruit). I did like the outdoor balcony, although, there was someone smoking on the balcony next to the public balcony. The staff was nice, but, when we checked in they assigned us to another guest's room, thankfully they were not there when we walked in, that could have been embarrassing. Would I stay here again, no.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Like the title says, the price is beyond reasonable. For the accomodations and the LOCATION they can't be beat. You can walk to everything which was a major bonus and the main reason we picked this over places closer to the good beaches. The staff was wonderful and knowledgeable of the area. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: You want a sit down balcony. The second and third floors are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The rooms are very nice and large. Comes with nice size fridge and they offer parking. I had a wonderful check-in and check out experience, each time was with a friendly clerk who knew the area and surrounding areas. Walked in and got a great rate since it was their off season. I was able to even get a room that looked into the Ocean and directly at the Saint Simons Lighthouse. At night I could see the beams from the lighthouse from my window. I saw the beautiful sunset and then again saw it rise in the morning. I had a nice little balcony. They offered a complimentary continental which was basic but clean and just enough to get me going. My room was handsomely decorated and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
82 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Property: Ocean Inn and Suites
Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing