We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Inn and Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a great place to stay in St. Simons. Beautiful rooms, very clean, friendly staff, and a great location. Walking distance to the village and the pier. Great view! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    108
    39
    14
    18
See reviews for
61
161
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed here and you just can't beat the price for the location. Is it on the beach? No. You have to drive about 3 miles to get to Massengale Park which is where we park to get to the beach, or you can go another 1/2 mile to get to the coast guard station entrance to East Beach. But it's right off the main drag so all the downtown restaurants and shops are within 1/4 mile or so. The weekend rate was $169 per night plus tax which for the location is great. The St Simons light house is just to the left and down a block or two. We got the exact same room we had the last time we stayed there, what are the chances of that happening. The bed was a king with down pillows. My wife commented that the bed was the best she had ever slept on and took all the sheets off to see who made it when we were leaving. It does have an older style air conditioner which is somewhat loud and I kept it set on 61 but I don't think it ever actually got that cold in the room. What was amazing to me was how they do the soap and shampoo. In the shower/tub there are three dispensers, one for soap, one for shampoo, and one for conditioner. Anyone could put whatever in those dispensers. You just never see that at any hotel I have been to. Plus, and get this, the labels were done with Dymo tape. The kind you punch each letter to make a word and then peel off the sticky part. Really old school. Really tacky. The last time we were there they had the worlds smallest bars of soap. Anyway, it's not a big thing, just kind of weird. The TV in the room was not an LCD, but we never watched any TV so it didn't matter. Nice sized fridge and microwave in the room.
We did not eat breakfast there but did check out what they had. Very basic. A Hampton Inn has twice the selection. Something else I find strange is that they make you sign a statement while checking in that you will not have any pets or smoke in the room. If you do, there is a $500 fine. Only place I have ever had to do that. Did not try the pool but it looked like a regular smaller hotel pool. Parking is kind of interesting. You can park on the ground floor under the hotel which is typical at the beach but my truck would have been very difficult to get in a space so we parked across the street. There are a few outside parking spots on the property but they were full. The staff was friendly on check in and said hey whenever we came off the elevator to go to our room.

This review may sound somewhat negative, but is really not, gave it four stars. You can't beat the price for the location, and the place is really okay. We will stay there again I am sure.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilandjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I have visited St. Simons annually close to fifteen years. There is no place like the Ocean Inn & Suites! We found this jewel several years ago and absolutely love it! Ms. Abbey & Mr. Bob and staff treat you like family! It is very clean, maintained very well and convenient to the beach, shops and restaurants. During our stay this past spring, we were rear-ended/hit & run on Ocean Boulevard one evening. Needless to say, this put a damper on our vacation. After checking out a day early, we found out we needed to stay an extra day to finish up some police paperwork, etc. They could not have been more compassionate and helpful! Set us up in the same room we checked out of...checking on us often...just like you would family.
Just made our reservations for next spring! Can't wait!
~Marilyn & Pete

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Ocean Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you chose the Ocean Inn & Suites for your annual visit to St. Simons Island. The owners and staff at the Ocean Inn & Suites want every guest to feel as if they are a part of our family. It is just our way of helping them enjoy the beauty and warmth of St. Simons Island. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our family and were more than happy to do what we could to make your auto accident less stressful. We can't wait to see you again in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed here a few times and the hotel is great, service, rooms and staff. Owner is at the hotel everyday and any problems are taken care of quickly. If you want a nice place that is close to everything on St Simon then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Ocean Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
The owners and staff at the Ocean Inn & Suites pride ourselves on being available and assisting each guest with any issues during their stay. St Simons Island offers each visitor a variety of activities and our location in Village/Pier area puts many of them within walking distance. We enjoy recommending restaurants, shops or activities to our guests so that they can enjoy the best that St Simons Island has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night, while on business. The location is superb - easy walking distance to the pier and even to some places on east beach. The hotel was clean and easy to find. The AC was cold (just how it should be) and the room was nicely appointed - ice cold fridge, microwave and comfortable desk and desk chair. Bed was acceptable (i.e., its not the Ritz, but neither was I paying for such). Parking under the hotel is tight. The photos of the hotel show a nice balcony, but keep in mind that is the front of the hotel. Just like anywhere else, there is a back of the hotel, too -- not to worry.....though the scenery was nothing special out back, it was fine for a short stay.

The morning breakfast is ok - maybe make plans to walk to the pier for a greater variety?

My only complaint - was awakened at 2 am by what sounded like someone washing dishes / glasses....it subsided after a few minutes, but was odd.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back of the hotel have no view. Higher rooms may have a small view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaGATrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Ocean Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
The Ocean Inn & Suites strive to provide its guests with a 'great' room at an affordable price. We are so glad that we met your expectations. Our location by the Lighthouse and Village/Pier area make us the perfect 'home' from which to explore St Simons Island. The complimentary continental breakfast is designed to get you started in the morning. If a more substantial morning meal is required, there are several great restaurants within a short walk. We will be glad to recommend the best restaurant for your needs. We hope to see you again in the future and if you are awakened again at 2 am, please notify our staff so that we can ensure a peaceful night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed our recent two night stay in a standard room at the Ocean Inn and Suites. The best hotel feature is it's location. Guests can easily walk to many different shops, good restaurants, cafes, bars and the public, waterfront park and pier. Our room was comfortable and had a small refrigerator and a microwave. We walked to "Two Brothers Bike Shop" and rented bikes and rode them to the beach. The only negative comments I have would be the tiny, difficult, hotel parking spaces,the disappointing continental breakfast and the tiny pool.

Room Tip: 3rd floor to be removed from pool / traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Ocean Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
The staff at the Ocean Inn & Suites is so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We strive to offer a great experience at an affordable price. As you stated, the Ocean Inn & Suites is conveniently located within walking distance of the Village/Pier area. The Lighthouse, new pool and miniature golf in Neptune Park as well as the restaurants and shops in the Village, make the Ocean Inn & Suites the perfect spot to stay when on St. Simons Island. The parking area on the property can be 'tight', however, the guests are welcome to use the ample free public parking across from the hotel. The complimentary continental breakfast is designed to get our 'guests started in the morning. However, we are glad to hear your comments and are exploring additional breakfast options. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel far exceeded my expectations! It was beautiful inside and out, immaculately clean (even the stairwells! - I'll get to that in a minute), and located in a prime location. The room we stayed in was exactly as pictured on the website. No carpeting (all hardwood floors), very spacious, divinely comfortable beds, great views! The lighthouse and Neptune park are literally across the street, and Mallory Street is loaded with shops and restaurants and is only a few blocks away and is within walking distance. The staff was awesome! Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to assist with any need we had. The pool area was clean and very comfortable with wooden rocking chairs, gliders, and swings if you just want to hang out by the pool. There is only one elevator but we rarely had to share with any other guest. If you prefer stairs, the hotel is only 3 stories so the stairwell is easy and as I mentioned - CLEAN. The parking is covered under the raised structure. If you are nervous about compact spaces, there is plenty of parking in front of and behind the building in designated areas. The lighthouse facing rooms have the best view/balconies with the rear facing rooms looking at the gravel parking spaces - spring the extra money for the lighthouse view, you won't regret it! The breakfast left a little to be desired (instant oatmeal, instant grits, toast, muffins, toast, bagels, sweet rolls, and bananas) but was adequate to get us through to lunch. My only con was the hotel bar soap which did not lather and crumbled when used. I would recommend taking your own soap. This is the first place we ever stayed in at St Simon's island and I guarantee it will be the ONLY hotel we return to. Enjoy it, it's well worth every penny!

Room Tip: Lighthouse facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob V, General Manager at Ocean Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! I have shared your comments with our staff. When we see a review such as yours, it gives great satisfaction that our efforts have been successful. We are always thankful for our guest's feedback. Each comment is taken seriously since we are always striving to improve our guest's experience at the Ocean Inn & Suites. Like yourself, several guests have suggested that our soaps could be improved. As a result, we have changed our soaps and provide new options. We are sure that you will see an improvement during your next stay with us.
P.S. - We are also exploring new breakfast options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn and Suites

Property: Ocean Inn and Suites
Address: 599 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4723
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing