We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandhotel Giessbach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

5 years ago we celebrated our wedding in this place and stayed overnight with all our guests. Now, 5 years later it was time to return, just the two of us. We got a similar room with the stunning view over the lake of Brienz. The service and personnel was great and competent. Grand Hôtel Giessbach can be proud to have some seasonal staff members for more than16 years. We had some warm welcoming attention in the room we did not expect as a plate with fruits, a plate with cookies, a bottle with fresh springwater and even a book of a Swiss writer. The WIFI connection was fast. The meals were good, although the entrecôte was not foreseen for a hungry man, the wine tasted very fine and was worth the money. Conclusion, this place is far away from being the cheapest on the market, but it is exceptional in every way. By staying in this charming and historical place you contribute to keep alive an original whitness of the "Belle Epoque". While your stay you relax, return to the roots and fill up your body with new energy. For us this was not the last stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Grandhotel Giessbach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This is probably one of the most incredible places I have ever been to. The location and views are literally breathtaking. It's like you have been teleported to the grand era of 19th century Swiss tourism. The hotel is incredibly charming and well preserved. The staff wer extremely kind and very helpful. Food was good and the after dinner pool game in the billiard room with drinks was like in the movies.
Top floor tower suite room: perfect.
One of my new favorite places in the world.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stickyfingers911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fabulous place, an experiense that I shall never forget! The hotel is a glorious old place, everything is perfect; staff, service, food, rooms and other facilities. We have no complains what so ever. Rooms are big and comfortable, even the economy rooms facing the forest (no noise from the waterfalls and half the price!), good beds. Cleaning twice a day!
Juicebar provided on the 3rd floor, coffee and juice for free, an excellent idea in a hotel where there are no shops etc. in the neighbourhood.
Carpark is situated right beside the hotel (drive through the public carpark and continue driving to the hotel), there is also a lift next to the groundfloors "Park restaurant" so you don't have to carry your luggage at the stairs...
Wonderful place, five stars for the view, excellent service and the ambiance :)

Room Tip: Choose the waterfall view only if you are a heavy sleeper :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auli_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have been there several times and we have brought friends to Giessbach. Giessbach is a very special amazing place and most people feel they are very lucky to have been invited here. The renovation was smart and did not destroy anything contributing to the old times flavour.
The place and the location are exceptional as for romanticism, beauty of landscape. The staff is very welcoming and the atmosphere is warm and makes you feel very comfortable and quiet, even though the place is quite busy and always fully booked during the week ends.
The rooms are nice. We had either a suite or the so called Romantic bedrooms with magnificent views, good beds. There is no luxury equipment but you will find everything you need.

Room Tip: Suite 110 with a long balcony and views on the cascade and on the lake
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in guessbach grand hotel for 3 days. It was a wonderful stay. Amazing views and landscapes. A lot of trails to walk in the vacinity of the hotel.
The restaurant is amazing and the wine card is exquisite.

In total a not to miss place in switzerland

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Moshi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is just breathtaking.The views of the lake and mountains from your balcony are amazing. We stayed for 2 nights with our 3 daughters and they said they felt like princesses. We had dinner both nights with very tasty dishes, ending with delectable dessert and a cheese platter. The beautiful waterfall just outside and classical pianist in the background all made for a couple of romantic nights even with the kids around. This is a place you will never forget and definitely a must do.

Room Tip: The Giessbach suite.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windmills2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

There is absolutely no words to describe the beauty of this hotel .The view is mesmerizing .It seems you travel in time from the moment you step in this hotel , We upgraded our room to the biggest room with 3 picture windows overlooking to lake , The staff were extremely nice . Highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giessbach
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lindenhof
Hotel Lindenhof
#2 of 12 in Brienz
79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seehotel Baren Brienz
Seehotel Baren Brienz
#3 of 12 in Brienz
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Brienzerburli And Lowen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
642 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
685 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Giessbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Giessbach

Address: Giessbach 1201 | 3855 Brienz, Giessbach, Brienz 3855, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Brienz > Giessbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giessbach
Price Range: £139 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Giessbach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome, dear guests - come in, enjoy the moment, and marvel at one of the most tremendous views in Europe. Be inspired by the charm of a true Grand Hotel and experience a sense of living history in one of the best preserved hotels of its time. From the moment you set foot in the Grandhotel Giessbach, you will find yourself in a world of unique splendour and elegant sophistication. It embodies the romance and charm of glorious bygone times. Today, just as it was one hundred years ago, the historical hotel residence, by the celebrated silvery Giessbach Falls, high above Lake Brienz, is quite simply a world of its own. Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows, with a breathtaking view of the unspoiled landscapes of Lake Brienz, this hidden oasis lies far away from everyday bustle and traffic. Relish the chance to unwind in this friendly and hospitable oasis, far away from everyday hustle and bustle. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grandhotel Giessbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Giessbach Hotel Brienz
Grandhotel Giessbach Swiss Alps

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing