We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama City in the mountains”
Review of Tanglewood Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sautee Nacoochee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanglewood Cabins
Gainesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Panama City in the mountains”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

While staying in a neighboring cabin in the area on April 7 of this year my wife and I were rattled out of our cabin around 3 in the afternoon with extremely loud music. Trying to find where the noise was coming from we eventually drove 1/2 mile down the road to find a party at the Tanglewood lodge facility that was swarming with very drunk young people carring around open containers and drinking from actual liquor bottles. At this point we went to the office to see if we could get someone with the property to get these people to do something about the noise. I was told the young people had 35 cabins rented and they would do nothing about the noise until the 11 PM quiet time. Fortunately for us, by 5 PM that afternoon, the White County Sheriffs office had the place under control and peace was restored. The management of this property is certianly not concerned with the tranquility of this beautiful area for people coming to the mountains for a peaceful getaway.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodslover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
15
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We've stayed at the Yonah Vista cabin several times over the past few years and we love it. The cabin is always clean and comfortable. The view from the hot tub is beautiful. The drive up the mountain is a little rough with very steep gravel roads, so make sure you're in a vehicle that can handle it.

Room Tip: Yonah Vista is Cabin 59 on the Tanglewood website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fenn138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our stay here was perfect. Our cabin was older but very well maintained. It's a mountain cabin...not a 5 star hotel so don't go there expecting more. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsliddle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We travel to Helen a few times a year. We love to stay at Tanglewood. This Oktoberfest we stayed in Cabin 31 upon the mountain. The staff was helpful. The Ac went out and we called the after hour service. They told us how to reset the Ac and we were once again comfortable. Cabin was very clean and the view was awesome. We will continue to stay at Tanglewood. Always a great pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krclrdc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed in cabin 18. True to the previous review - the furniture was dated but well maintained. There was dust on some of the silk flowers - that was the worst thing we saw and certainly not worth complaining about. The towels were soft and fluffy, shower hot and a/c worked just fine. The swing on the front porch was great because you could sit and listen to the creek. We thought it was great because we could drive from there to the sights we wanted to see - they even provided directions to most of them.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniferj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed in cabin 18 next to a babbling brook. It was very private and peaceful. The furnishings are dated but well maintained. Very close to hiking, fishing and Alpine Helen. Helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I'm glad that for once I did not read the reviews before I booked our cabin #31 for our Memorial Weekend getaway. I had narrowed down my selections to #15, #51 or 31 when I called Tanglewood to ask which one was the most private. It was a getaway for the two of us and I wanted privacy and quiet. I'm so glad I called as #31 was just what I was looking for even if it was 2 bedrooms and we needed only one. We didn't know it was rhodedendron season when we arrived and found our cabin completely surrounded by pink blossoms -just gorgeous. The cabin itself was clean, well stocked, and comfortable. They did neglect to mention there was a huge house on the one side but it was back by the bedroom and bathroom so it didn't bother us. We spent most of our time on the front porch looking at a heavenly view of the mountain across the way. It was convenient to Helen but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Day trips to wineries are easy from here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherri in Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sautee Nacoochee
1.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
901 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
2.8 mi away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Cabins

Property: Tanglewood Cabins
Address: 3387 Highway 356, Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571-1715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Sautee Nacoochee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sautee Nacoochee
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 to 6 bedroom vacation cabin rentals. Some with hot tubs, some with Jacuzzi tubs. All cabins have fully equipped kitchens, heat & air, decks with grills, fireplace, cable or satellite t.v. Located in the Northeast Georgia Mountains one mile from Unicoi State Park. 5 miles from Alpine Helen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing