We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helen Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sautee Nacoochee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberloft Cottages and Cabins
Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Helen Trip”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

These cabins are really close to Helen. For the price THESE ARE FANTASTIC! I am shocked that people have given bad reviews. You cant expect much if you dont pay for much! We stayed in Cabin 2. We clean and cozy. Bathroom is small, but it has what you need. Will stay here again for sure if Im in the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_gervais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I'll start with the positive because there weren't many. Nice location near Helen, Georgia. The absolute worst thing about this cabin was no batteries in the smoke detectors. That would seem to be a violation. The outside was very steep and nothing but mud. No landscaping at all. The steep stairs were very slippery. The inside was nice but dark. Dust covered almost everything and a thick layer of dust. The cleaning lady had just left when we went in. Furniture old and outdated. Kitchen small but okay. No frying pan we had to go out and buy one. Very limited dishes and silverware once again old and needed to be updated. Mold in the bathroom and on the shower curtain. Lots of dust in the bathroom. The bed downstairs was hard and lumpy with bedding needing replacement. Did not use the upstairs rooms. The deck off the dining room was rotted in several places and needed repair. Mold all over the side of the hot tub which also needed to be replaced. Decking was slippery. Water run off has taken away most of the topsoil leaving exposed root systems. Not a place we would ever return. If you feel like roughing it with mold, dust and mud this is your place. Bring your own smoke alarm, I'm glad we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AineFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sautee Nacoochee hotels

Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to visit Helen, but we were on a budget and didn't want to spend a fortune just for us. I came across Timberloft and thought it would be great. The pictures on the website look mostly the same as the actual room, except the kitchen... We had the studio cottage 5 and on the website, the pictures of the kitchen have no stove, and do not show any utensils. When we got to the cabin, we found out the kitchen actually had a small stove which I was dissapointed to see because we had just went to the store and bought some microwavable things thinking there wouldn't a stove to cook on. The kitchen also had all the utensils that we needed, which was nice, but would have been nicer if we knew that before buying a bunch of stuff for our trip. The kitchen was also very outdated and needed to be remodeled, but was decent enough for us.

I was happy to find out the bed was pretty comfortable and didn't find anything wrong with it. I'm very happy we didn't have any kids with us, because the loft upstairs was extremely tiny, and literally had a full size mattress up there. It looked like someone just threw it up there. The loft was very dusty as well.

We mostly ate on our bed for comfort because the tiny, tiny table and chairs were not good for us. The loveseat was decent too. The bathroom was pretty clean, no complaints in that area.

The hot tub was great, although, we did not like the dirty, circus-like tent shades to pull for privacy by the hot-tub, and we weren't impressed with how close to the road we were. We didn't like hearing the cars go by, and wanted more of a secluded area. Lots of cobwebs outside as well and up top near the shades.

Note to the manager: Maybe you should explain exactly what is in each cabin on your website and show correct pictures of each cabin so people know before they make a trip to the store and buy things they don't actually need.

Decent cabin if you're on a small budget. If you have a little extra money, maybe take a look at some other places before coming here. I would only recommend this place to people looking to stay a couple nights for very cheap. I would say, I was very pleased that downtown Helen was very close to the cabin. We were able to get out and do things since we got the cabin for a low price.

Room Tip: I would make sure you call before you choose a cabin to ensure what exactly is in each cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aweaver94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent a restful funfilled weekend in cabin #5, oops got shifted to #4 last minute. Was not a problem at all. My daughter and I got in our annual fishing trip before she goes back to college and the wife spent time trying to recover from a hectic year of teaching.
For the money I would say this was more than I had really expected. Going in to this knowing it was just off the road we had no problem as we live on a busy city street the fire trucks and ambulances use regularly. We had pleasant evenings in the room as well as a well deserved soak in the hot tub!!
For us it was a pleasant get away.
We do plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I came to timberloft cabins on a spuree of the moment kinda thing. We look around to see the best deals for the price. We came across timberloft and saw a lot of great reviews on this place. When we called the lady was very nice. We where excepting to get a nice quiet cabin in the woods with a hot tub. What we received was a cottage right by the road with the hot tub facing the street. I was very disappointed. You could hear cars go by as its right beside the road. As for clean....it was fair but a lot of cobwebs and dust. They also told us at time of calling that it wasn't close to other cottages and it was right beside another one on each side. We where also told there was a grill in our back yard but its far from the back yard and its scarey . The only thing nice about trip was hot tub. Even though you had a curtain that looks like a circus tent to hide your self from road. Also your in another person back yard. Just a horrible experience and will never return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberloft, Owner at Timberloft Cottages and Cabins, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We are so sorry that you misunderstood the location of your cottage. When you called requesting to cancel your reservation, before you actually checked in, you indicated that you would not be interested in changing to one of our secluded cabins. Consequently, we tried to accommodate you by issuing credit as quickly as possible. We inspected the cabin that day and did find a couple of cobwebs where the ceiling fan is connected at the ceiling. Unfortunately, dust can start to collect as soon as we’re through cleaning, and I believe that’s the case in most instances, whether commercial or residential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked this cottage for a girls weekend due to the fact that it was within our price range and included the luxury of a hot tub. The booking process was simple and checking in was convenient. Although the room was small, it was clean and cozy. Our plans for the weekend consisted of relaxing and visiting local state and national parks. The cottage provided a convenient location for these activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were in Cabin #2 and everything exceeded our expectations. It was very cozy, quiet, clean, convenient to attrations, sufficiently equipped, and the staff was hospitable and helpful. We will definitely be back for our next vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_and_Sherroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sautee Nacoochee
2.3 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
2.9 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#16 of 18 in Helen
82 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
3.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberloft Cottages and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberloft Cottages and Cabins

Property: Timberloft Cottages and Cabins
Address: 3887 Highway 356, Sautee Nacoochee, GA 30571-1817
Region: United States > Georgia > Sautee Nacoochee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sautee Nacoochee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adorable & Affordable - We have 6 studio style cottages with hot tubs. Each cottage includes a queen or king sized bed, equipped kitchenette, cable TV, wood fireplace, loveseat, hot tub on covered porch, swing and charcoal grills behind the cottages. The cottages are approximately 12-20 feet apart and are landscaped for privacy. Pets Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Helen Georgia Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing