We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy first choice among restaurants on Sea Island !!”
Review of Tavola

Tavola
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Sea Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sea Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An easy first choice among restaurants on Sea Island !!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although The Georgian Room is not to be missed, it is a once a month splurge! Tavola is one of those restaurants where you could return weekly and enjoy yourself every time. The wait staff is superior, especially Ben who speaks Italian fluently. Rianne, pronounced Ryan, the sommelier for all the Cloister restaurants, often is at Tavola and has found perfect Italian wines and is very knowledgable. The food under Chef Bobby who was formerly with Vivere in Chicago has made all the difference at Tavola. His food is divine! When visiting Sea Island or staying at the Lodge, don't miss this gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaheagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    37
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really Good.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

They got it right. The service was wonderful. The mushroom risotto was yummy and the heirloom tomatoes with homemade buffalo cheese.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic and Innovative!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My friends and I ate at Tavola on the first night in Sea Island after a 19 hour flight. The first thing that will strike you is just how overwhelming the service is.
Every waiter that passes by will ask you how you're doing, if you need anything else, etc...
The food matches that level of service - there were 10 of us including 4 Italians, and we all agreed our 5 pizzas where excellent.
The bruschetta comes with the ingredients separate so you can decide if you want pesto or not on yours etc.
Best of all, the wine menu carried one of my very favorite wines from the Valpolicella region. There's even a fantastic Nebiollo if you don't mind going over 100 dollars for the bottle.
The restaurant sports some small touches including crispy pizza bread for appetizers etc. But the main deal is authentic and tasty.!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Service is Top Notch”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our service team was amazing. I wish I could remember their names. We sat out on the back patio. The food was okay - I'm not personally an Italian fan so I can't be too biased. But the service was on point!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chadwicklewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Lamb I've Ever Had”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Dinner at Tavola was a delight to the senses! From the ciabatta to the lemon cake (and house-mase limon cello) and everything in between, we thoroughly enjoyed each and every course. The caprese w/house-made baratta & the prosciutto and melon were both amazing. I had the lamb and my husband had the pork chop, and we both savored all we could eat. We had a beautiful bottle of barrolo w/dinner, chosen w/the help of a knowledgeable sommelier. Our waiter, Alexandro, was awesome--very friendly and attentive without being pesky. Excellent start to a wonderful weekend at the Cloisters, Sea Island.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCD-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavola also viewed

Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing