We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience we will remember for ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Prince Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Prince Noir
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience we will remember for ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We wanted to bike a little of the Canal La Garonne and decided Le Prince Noir would be the perfect place to stay for two nights. Amandine welcomed us like family members, helped us with hiring bicycles for 2 days (we don't speak French) and because the hotel was fully booked for our second night she organised us accommodation in a nearby B&B which was wonderful too. Having arrived at Le Prince Noir not having had breakfast, coffee and croissants were served in the garden, delicious. After our bike ride a welcome swim in the pool prepared us for a delicious dinner served in the garden dining area on a balmy evening. Amandine recommended we bike to Buzet-de-Baise for lunch on our second day, she made a reservation for us, again a great experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Le Prince Noir and will be back to explore more of the area. Thanks again Amandine for making our stay with you so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    59
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
68
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

clean and well run hotel, our room was terribly small and probably not used often but otherwise very clean and quiet.
we ate in the restaurant which was good but we felt the chef tried a little too hard to be original when the food of the region is very good without having to overprepare it or make it more original than it is. breakfast was very fresh, simple and very good.
we enjoyed our experience overall.
the owners could not have been more helpful and kind

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is a little off the beaten track but it is well worth a detour just to stay here. Magnificent old builings, spacious rooms, spotlessly clean - faultless. We arrived late on a Sunday but the owners had thoughtfully prepared a cold meal for us to have - along with a bottle of excellent wine. The food was stunning, as is the ambiance of the place. There are many things to do in the area so if you are coming anywhere near this hotel then stay a night or two to really enjoy the true French experience.
With the windows wide open the fresh country air will ensure you sleep well in a very comfortable bed and huge room.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road, a minor road D119 and even with the windows wide open there was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 594DavidP594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandine et Mar... D, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mr David,

We would like to thank you a lot for your time to post nice comments on Tripadvisor.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you during this spring weekend. We are happy to read you apreciate the atmosphere of our establishment.

We hope you wil be back soon to relax more time.

Kind regards,
Amandine et Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

It was 9pm, hot and we were tired and hungry. We needed comfort and a really great meal. Le Prince Noir met all our hopes. A lovely welcome and a perfect table in the courtyard under the stars, perfect service and exquisite food & wine. The rooms were cool and stylish. Slept like logs. Run by a delightful young couple who have renovated this old building personally, and who have plans to do even more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcamandine, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear sir and madam, We would like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay in our property. It is important for us to know if our guest are satisfied and refresh during their stay.
It will be a plaesure to wellcome you agin.
With our kind regards,
Marc Duverneuil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for one night only--and I wish we'd been there longer. This hotel is delightful. Spacious rooms; above average bathrooms.
Our room had doors that opened on to a terrace overlooking a lovely, well-tended garden. It was perfect for us to enjoy a glass of wine (or two) with our traveling companions.
The dining room was spacious, comfortable and attractive. Breakfast food was fresh--simple but very tasty.
The service was excellent. The staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riorosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandine et Mar... D, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Madam Riorosie,

First of all, with some delay, I would like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay in our property during your trip.
It is always pleasant to receive good feedback. the breakfast offer was improved with a coffee machine for expresso and double expresso. we offer also more homemade jam.

I hope you wil come back if you pass near Agen.
With my kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a nice surprise this time at the Prince Noir: new owners and renovations taking place. The welcome was warm and friendly and the new owners and staff did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We had a very comfortable,recently-renovated room with a big bathroom on the first floor overlooking the swimming pool. The buffet breakfast was excellent: abundant tea and coffee and home-made jams.
We had stayed at the Prince Noir four or five years ago and had been quite disappointed: the previous owners didn't live on the site; the rooms seriously needed renovating and the place was nearly empty, even in summer. This time, the car-park was full and everyone appeared to be enjoying their stay.
Serignac is a quiet village, but central for the Buzet and Brulhois vineyards... walks along the Canal du Midi and visits to medieval villages.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room, superior category
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandine et Mar... D, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mr GarryDC,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very nice comments about your stay in our property during summer 2013.
Your comments confirm us in our work. Effectively we started to renovate the hotel since 2010, now more than 50% of the rooms are renovated.
For information, the chef created some new jams like Kiwi fruit, Fennel confit with orange and vanilla...You must come back to tast it!
Once again thank your comments, we hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taurinya, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've stayed here many times, and Le Prince Noir has become our top favourite stopover en route between the channel port and the Pyrenees (though it is situated in a lovely area which is certainly worth a much longer visit). Originally a 17th century convent, the characterful buildings have been tastefully and comfortably restored: the bedrooms vary in size from small and simple to large and sumptuously elegant, and the public rooms are comfortable and atmospheric. The restaurant alone would be good reason to stay here: the food is excellent, elegantly presented and mainly locally sourced. The wine list caters for all budgets, though the local Buzet wines are reliably good. Best of all, though, is the warm welcome and attention to detail provided by Marc & Amandine, the owners, who take enormous pride in providing an excellent and very friendly service. Le Prince Noir is without doubt the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in in France, and I'm sure we will keep returning to this "home from home".

Room Tip: There is a busy road nearby, so the courtyard rooms or those facing the pool are quieter. However, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandine et Mar... D, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jackie,

I would like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stays in your "third home".
It is always pleasant to receive good feedback especially from our regular valuable guest.

We changed few days ago the menu of the restaurant "spring menu"
Amandine and I hope you will pass by Agen shortly to taste our new dishes.
I take this opportunity to write you, it is also always a pleasure to wellcome you at home.
With our kind regards,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serignac-sur-Garonne
17.8 mi away
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
#2 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Henri IV
Hotel Henri IV
#1 of 2 in Nerac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
15.4 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Michel Trama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#1 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau de Lassalle
Chateau de Lassalle
#1 of 1 in Laplume
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
6.6 mi away
Stim'Otel
Stim'Otel
#2 of 14 in Agen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prince Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prince Noir

Property: Le Prince Noir
Address: 6 rue de Menjoulan | Serignac-sur-Garonne, 47310 Serignac-sur-Garonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Serignac-sur-Garonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serignac-sur-Garonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Prince Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Prince Noir !In the heart of southwestern France, between Toulouse and Bordeaux, le Prince Noir is a hotel restaurant set in a former 17th Century convent which offers a charming atmosphere in an authentic setting.Our 19 rooms decorated in country style are waiting for you, for a stay that will remain in your memory. Some can accommodate up to four people.Overlooking the cloister or with park views, each room exudes a unique atmosphere.Standard rooms, De luxe rooms and Junior suites - all rooms have TV with Canal Plus.The WiFi connection is made freely available.We are waiting for you to share a great time with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Prince Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing