We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reedcutter Inn

The Reedcutter Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Cantley
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are steve and lyn millbanks, took over the reedcutter on 1st june 2013, we aim to please everyone, we greet all with a smile and warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble. We are open 7 days a week from 8am until late,12 noon in winter, food served from 8am till 8.45Pm we run our pub with the help of our friends julie, rachael, vicki, and Paul, very high quality homemade food at respectable prices, always top quality ingredients, and all orders are freshly prepared to order, do not mistake us for an over priced over staffed restaurant, we are a traditional pub that serves pub food, we stock a good range of real ales from all over the country, and many proper ciders too. We have a dining room that seats 30, a bar that seats around 20 with dogs welcome in the bar, and a vast beer garden with seating for over 100 people, we are a riverside pub on the norfolk broads with beautiful views across the river from our seats facing the river, we have a darts board, and a free to play bar billiards table, pool table, 2 pinball machines, sky tv for the sports, open fire in winter and electric hookups for boaters over night stays or caravans, we also have 5 bed and breakfast rooms, a double and two twins, all en-suite with t.V. At £30 for single, or £60 for double,and a single and double not en-suite at £26 per person excellent fishing from our moorings, tuition available to novices at quieter times, we also sell a range of fishing tackle, groundbaits, and maggots...Also have a provisions section if you need milk or bread, or forgotten to bring your toothpaste etc, we look forward to meeting and greeting you all. Steve.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here for three nights recently and really enjoyed myself. The setting is perfect, being right on the banks of the Yare, and there’s plenty of space for “parking” boats. Steve and Lyn are a lovely couple who can’t do enough to make sure you’re looked after. The food was great – top class pub grub and made fresh on the premises from locally sourced ingredients (thanks Chris!). The pub has a good selection of ales, a genuine (and free to use) bar billiards table and a lively and friendly bunch of regulars and visitors – all this combines to create a really good atmosphere. I can thoroughly recommend Steve, Lyn and the Reedcutter Inn. They've worked really hard since taking over and I wish them the very best. Now all I have to do for my next visit is to persuade them to let me borrow their boat…

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WillC147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks Will, it was a pleasure to meet you and provide you with our own bedroom, lol...we look forward to you coming again, and i might let you use my boat, steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have used the Reedcutters for quite a few years now as i owned a boat and used it as an overnight stop on the free moorings
Just recently ive taken to stopping there in the afternoon when on the river and found the new owners Steve and Lyn a very pleasant couple that work very hard to make to make you feel welcome. The food that i have had there as been good and the beer excellent
The reedcutters is defo worth a look when on the river and a change for the better
Long may it last

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your report george, hope you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to serving your needs again next time your passing, steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm Welcome, Smiles, Customer Service & Good Food returns to The Reedcutter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

PLEASE NOTE - NEW OWNERS !! : TOTALLY DISREGARD ALL REVIEWS PRIOR TO JUNE 2013
Being local to the village it has been sad to see turmoil & slow demise of the Reedcutter over the past couple of years.
Returned yesterday after favourable reports from fellow village residents -

WOW what a difference, the previous sour faced, everything is too much trouble regime has thankfully gone & been replaced (as per Title) with Warm Welcome, Smiles, Good Customer Service, Good range of Ales & Good Food!!

Steve & Lyn I believe are the new owners and all I can say is keep up the good work!!

We visited on a sunny summers lunchtime & ordered lunchtime meals for 7 ( inc 5 Children with very discerning palettes - Processed Chicken Nuggets & Value Fish Fingers dont cut it for these guys believe me : Favourite meal of one of the eldest is Saffron Pasta & Lobster lol!!)

'Small' Beer Battered Cod was the order of the day - Well here was a total contravention of Trade Description act SMALL it wasn't, a piece of beautiful fresh cod, lightly covered in crispy ale batter adorned the length of the large oval plate
The mini 'gastro-gnomes' were suitably impressed

The only slight downside was the lengthy of time we had to wait for the food and I would suggest pro-actively informing customers of anticipated times when the order is placed

Obviously the food was freshly prepared and this together with logistics, staffing levels and volume of trade dictates the wait...
BUT believe me, as the tribe of mini food critiques commented "That was lovely, definitely worth the wait!!"

Please Please Keep up the good work guys, never lose sight that the customer really is KING - Complements to you all, see you soon for a Traditional Sunday Roast review by the highly critical Cantley Gastro-Gnomes Lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hambuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
well thank you for giving us a try, hope you enjoyed your visit, sorry we were a little understaffed at the time, i myself had run off to cash and carry and lyn was flying solo at the time and combined with a busy lunch session all contributed to slightly longer waits than usual, the sunday roast dinners start this sunday, we look forward to seeing you again very soon. steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best PH we have been to in ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Boating on the broads : we moored up at Reedcutter last night fri 23 August and have to say we had a very friendly welcome
And instant banter with Steve, the landlord. Found out it was a beer and cider festival so that was even better! And live band later. The menu choice was good and the food was fantastic and all home made - no microwave rubbish. There was so much of it we managed a main course and could not even squeeze in a dessert! The landlady was very attentive and we complimented the chef. The band was great and a few ciders and shorts later ensured we had a great evening with the locals and other boaters. Mooring is free, they even have a little shop with necessities and serve a full English breakfast for the morning and hot showers. We would definitely recommend this to everyone, a great stop over and are going to stop over on the way back.

Alan and lynn

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finerthings4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words Alan, we strive to produce a good atmosphere and a welcoming pub for all, and my wife lyn and i look forward to seeing you again on your return trip, steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“at last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We now have a much needed friendly pub/restaurant in Cantley. Steve and Lynn are very good hosts and the food is lovely. I have enjoyed every meal and it is presented nicely always served with a smile. Going back again this weekend and really looking forward to it - WASOC member

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
thank you caroline for your honest words, we do try very hard to please here, and always look forward to your visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Reedcutter Inn also viewed

 
Reedham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Reedcutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing