We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION.....dont miss this place.”
Review of The Reedcutter Inn

The Reedcutter Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Cantley
Price range: US$4 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are steve and lyn millbanks, took over the reedcutter on 1st june 2013, we aim to please everyone, we greet all with a smile and warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble. We are open 7 days a week from 8am until late,12 noon in winter, food served from 8am till 8.45Pm we run our pub with the help of our friends julie, rachael, vicki, and Paul, very high quality homemade food at respectable prices, always top quality ingredients, and all orders are freshly prepared to order, do not mistake us for an over priced over staffed restaurant, we are a traditional pub that serves pub food, we stock a good range of real ales from all over the country, and many proper ciders too. We have a dining room that seats 30, a bar that seats around 20 with dogs welcome in the bar, and a vast beer garden with seating for over 100 people, we are a riverside pub on the norfolk broads with beautiful views across the river from our seats facing the river, we have a darts board, and a free to play bar billiards table, pool table, 2 pinball machines, sky tv for the sports, open fire in winter and electric hookups for boaters over night stays or caravans, we also have 5 bed and breakfast rooms, a double and two twins, all en-suite with t.V. At £30 for single, or £60 for double,and a single and double not en-suite at £26 per person excellent fishing from our moorings, tuition available to novices at quieter times, we also sell a range of fishing tackle, groundbaits, and maggots...Also have a provisions section if you need milk or bread, or forgotten to bring your toothpaste etc, we look forward to meeting and greeting you all. Steve.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent food & menu, huge portions on all courses , fab staff at the bar & cook.
Stunning location & easy access by car or boat..... beats the Ferry Inn down river hands down for quality & quantity plus the staff & locals make your visit welcoming.
Fab watering hole but try the Chilli, WOW.....more drink !
From the Essex & Northern bloke mob 25 & 26/06/14......we will be back .

Sal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for a lovely review Sal, it was a pleasure meeting you all, and we look forward to next time, steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for The Reedcutter Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Situated next the river Yare, this is easy to get to by car or boat. Good selection of ales and ciders, and food was good honest grub. Dog friendly which was great although with the sun out, sitting outside was a no brainer, although you can't see the river from the garden, only the side tables get that view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for commenting and visiting us, hope you enjoyed your time here, sorry about the flood defense banks that blocks the river view, but there are seats on the banks also where you get a lovely view of the river and the boats passing by, see you next time, steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stopped overnight at the moorings at this lovely local - totally unplanned and what a great pub. It had a beer and cider festival going on, still retained a strong, friendly local population with cheery barmaids and landlord (I think) and great food. Highly recommended and we'll definitely be back. Felt really comfortable - there aren't many like it left! Loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tartantitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we do try hard to look after everyone the best we can, and i have praised my barmaids for their hard work over this bank holiday weekend, we look forward to your next visit, regards, steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Prices are good, service wasn't up to much the day we were there. They sell basic items for boating folk, and try to serve passing trade, however could try harder. Well located for watching the boats go by.

Thank judemgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, my wife and i try very hard to please everyone the best we can, and expect the same from our staff, i cant tell from the posting when it was that you came in, but if there is a service problem i would like to know about it so that this issue can be sorted, all my staff are very polite and attentive to every customer, so if there was a problem please contact me and let me know on facebook as steve millbanks, or email us on lynmillbanks@hotmail.com, thanks, steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a meal here. That's all you can call it. The place reeks of lack of attention to almost anything. Ghastly fruit machine in the bar/restaurant area. Wires trailing from speakers etc This on a Norfolk Broads boating holiday. Truly a blot on the landscape

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M, Owner at The Reedcutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thanks for your review, i dont know when you visited us and had a meal, but i can only say that in response to you, that all our food is home made and are freshly prepared for each order, as for the lack of attention, we have been here less than a year, i agree with you that the place needs attention in certain area's, and they are being dealt with by myself on a daily basis, this pub has had years of neglect, but no more, everything is being sorted, but i have only one pair of hands and limited funds, i knew when i took over the pub it was going to take me around 2-3 years to put everything right, i work in excess of 100 hours a week here, the improvements are happening, and will keep happening, as for the ghastly fruit machine in the bar/restaurant, its actually in the bar, not the restaurant and without a fruit machine in a bar, the prices of beer would be higher, they subsidise prices, the wires from the speakers are minimal, and at ceiling height, without those there would be no sky tv for the customers that i pay a lot of money each month for, and then we would be just like all the other broads pubs, grab all your money and give nothing back, we are not like that here, we supply what our locals ask for, steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Reedcutter Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Reedcutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing