We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I had a very comfortable stay. The staff were beyond friendly and helpful--they even offered to move us to another room when a more "thugish" "urban" crowd a door down decided to have a party in their room at a late hour. My husband was slightly disappointed that upon making reservations that there are NO smoking rooms--seeing that we have stayed at Holiday Inns in Florida that have smoking. On a side note* It was odd that the place did have a faint smell of cigarette smoke anyway. No big deal but it would have been nice instead of standing in front of the lobby at 1am to smoke. The lounge/bar area was cozy and inviting and the drinks were well made and decently priced. They did have a piano set up next to the bar so we speculated that maybe on the weekends they have a pianist the entertains. Overall we had an enjoyable stay and will return, but the hotel needs to maybe have a few rooms set aside for smoking.

Room Tip: Rooms facing West have a very nice view in the late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VotedBestoftheBoro, General Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    49
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
53
15
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is the best choice in Statesboro. I had to travel for business and this was by far the best choice. Some of the other GSU hotels could not compare. Over all clean and a friendly staff. Breakfast was actually good too. The lobby however had a loud Video playing, at night, part of the restaurants entertainment I guess.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Bright, fresh and clean. Convenient location. Many restaurants and stores within eye sight. Hotel staff was pleasant. I totally enjoyed my stay. Nice restaurant. Breakfast is only 4.95 for continental or 7.95 for the hot buffet.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Made a reservation to stay there in mid September because I've stayed here several times before. We got all settled in after a busy day at Ga Southern. We were very disappointed to find out that the pool had closed after Labor Day despite it still being very "hot" in Statesboro. It was 92 degrees outside that day. We were looking forward to some pool time so that my son and his friend that he hasn't seen in a while could play. We ended up leaving and going to Quality Inn where their pool was open. The lady at the desk did refund our stay. Considering that it doesn't get cold in Statesboro until November, management should reconsider having their pool open.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank weeniedoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear weeniedoglover,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.

I am sorry to hear your experience was not what you expected. I humbly apologize for the inconvenience you had with the pool. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Statesboro doesn't have any great hotels, but the Holiday Inn is a perfectly fine place to stay. The front desk staff told me the hotel had been open a few years, but it looked brand new. The outdoor pool/hot tub were pleasant, although the pool towels, which were available at the front desk, were scrawny. I'll never understand why such hotels as Holiday Inn don't see the need for a soap dish in the bathroom. Wet soap needs a bench! A friendly man in charge of the breakfast buffet went to great lengths to find a cereal that my young son wanted that was not on the buffet. It's little things like that, that make a hotel stay special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondStarHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very clean and nice. Had pool and hot tub. Convenient to Georgia Southern University. Rooms were nice. Staff was friendly. We went to visit Georgia Southern University for next year. The location was great, about 5 minutes away. The hotel is fairly new. The only issue was hearing people slamming their hotel room doors in the morning. The restaurant was small but the food was good. Chilli's Restaurant was next door. Also, many alot of restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Beware of false charges added on if you use a credit card. They charged me an extra $100.00 for a smoking fee, the problem is we dont smoke and they refused to remove the charge. Manager said he found cigarette butts in the trash can. They waited until we had left town to charge us. Now if I was a smoker, smoking in a non smoking room dont you think I would have enough brains not to put the butts in the trash can. The hotel was just about empty, is this there way to stay afloat in this bad economy. The place was noisey and the view was at an empty lot. I will never stay there again, and the bed was like a rock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Randy M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Statesboro South, GA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Statesboro hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Statesboro
Hampton Inn Statesboro
#1 of 12 in Statesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Statesboro
Days Inn Statesboro
#2 of 12 in Statesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Statesboro University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Statesboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Statesboro
2.1 mi away
Eagles Nest Inn
Eagles Nest Inn
#8 of 12 in Statesboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area

Property: Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area
Address: 455 Commerce Dr, Statesboro, GA 30461-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Statesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Statesboro - University Area Ideally situated near the Statesboro Municipal Airport, Georgia Southern University and Ogeechee Technical College, the Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area Hotel offers comfortable, deluxe accommodations near Statesboro, Georgia's popular attractions and prominent businesses. We're located just off the 301 Bypass(Veterans Memorial Pky). At Holiday Inn Statesboro near Georgia Southern University GSU our guests enjoy shopping at the Statesboro Mall and cooling off at Splash in the Boro Waterpark. Dining and entertainment on Main Street Statesboro and special events at the Averitt Center for the Arts can be found less than three miles away. Business travelers appreciate our Statesboro lodgings near the Gateway Regional Industrial Park, the Airport Industrial Park and corporations such as Coca-Cola and Briggs & Stratton. Over 2,250 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access are provided to accommodate our guests' professional needs. During your visit to our hotel in Statesboro, we invite you to dine with us in our full-service restaurant, Emma's Restaurant & Lounge, Emma's features a weekday breakfast and lunch buffet, Sunday brunch, and mouth-watering dinner menu. In the evening, join us in the lobby for excellent conversation and complimentary hors d'oeuvre. Each of our hotel rooms are equipped with modern amenities including mini-refrigerators, coffee makers, flat screen TVs, and more. For your convenience, an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool and a well-equipped fitness center are available. As you plan your trip, explore our exceptional Statesboro, GA hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Statesboro South Hotel Statesboro
Statesboro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing