We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first Rv trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Mountain Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Everyone there was wonderful. It was a clean fun good time for the family. Stone mountain is a great place to take the family for 2 or 3 days. Constant fun if the weather is permitting. We are definitely going back in the fall. We really loved the train trip around the property.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at Stone Mountain Campground for two nights. Overall we were very pleased with the campground, as it had lots of trees, clean restrooms, and beautiful views. The sites were not overly spacious, but because of the trees, you didn't feel too close.

Choosing your site is key though... we didn't have enough leveling blocks (we have 20 Lynx Leveler blocks) to get our camper completely level. The next site from ours was nearly flat. I would recommend driving the loops before you check in, or use the recommendations of other campers to pick a nice site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

After reading previous reviews I will have to say they are all mostly correct. Site location is key to enjoying this campground. We spent 4 days/3 nights in June on the O Loop site 428(premium w/o cable), which wasn't our original site. When we arrived and viewed the original site of 425 it was apparent that it wouldn't work for our 29' trailer with a super slide and awning. There were trees on the side of our slide which would inhibit complete extension, and the fire pit was located so close to the site it would sit under our awning- this seemed to be the case of most sites if the fire pit wasn't directlly behind your trailer instead. Additionally, the sites on this loop appear to be large but are quite small when the steep inclines are taken into account. There is lots of room between sites but no room to have space outside your door to enjoy or even have a place to sit. The pads on this loop are asphalt that isn't maintained and has dips and cracks which make it a challenge to level, as others have mentioned. Be sure to bring something to level with! Wi-fi never worked even after a supposed "router reset" and numerous calls to the desk. Only good wi-fi connect was at the main camp store/commons area and even then it's as slow as dial up. Didn't make use of the bathhouse but appearance wise was fine, but not as nice as the others near the pool area. In the future, if we returned we would pick a site around the pool loop and surrounding area. The pictures on the campground website are all in the pool loop, as we only had your typical "state park like" grill, cement picnic table, and no decking at all. It was secluded as we were a distance from the store, but if you plan to use the shuttle it would be a hike as it only picks up at the store. Beware that the fireworks from the laser show last the entire show from 930- approx 10pm and can be loudly heard from the campground. All in all a good trip, but glad we weren't spending a lot of time at the camper as there were many things to do in the park that kept up occupied and we had no outdoor space at our site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was our first time camping at this campground and we will definitely return. We were there for 5 nights over Easter week.

The campground is VERY large with lots of different sites. We needed one for our 31' travel-trailer and we wanted full-hookups. I used Google earth and the park map to pick out campsite #93. It is a PERFECT site. The front door of our camper was oriented overlooking the lake and there was no one in front of us so our view was totally unobstructed. The site is flat and level. There is a nice, gravel pad with a picnic table and there is a fireplace pit, too. You have plenty of space around you, too. Not packed in at all. This is a premium "purple" site, so it costs the most. But it was totally worth it.

Backing in was VERY easy and when it's time to leave, you can pull right out. I don't think there is a better site in the camp and we walked/biked and saw pretty much all of them. The pool is nice, but was too cold while we were there. They have a huge open area to play in and a decent little playground.

There is much to do in the actual Stone Mountain Park, much of which doesn't cost anything. If you have kids, there are tons of cool places to hike and play in the woods and streams. You can walk up St. Mountain if you are in decent shape. There is a terrific playground with tons of things for the kids to play on (not in the campground...out in the park).

Check out the park's website for all the things you can pay to do.

In short...if you want a great camping experience in a big campground, pick space #93 (91 & 94 are awesome, too) and you won't regret it. If you look at the campground map, you can see that those 3 spots are surrounded by orange spots. Those orange spots are pretty close together, so beware.

Oh...there's a shuttle to take you to the laser show. I'd used it as the parking lot gets crowded in the summer.

OH...I knocked off a star because our wifi never worked. I talked to the front office about 5 times about it and it was never fixed. Each clerk had a different excuse why it didn't work, yet they didn't really seem to care.

Room Tip: Choose campsite 93. (Or 94 or 91 if you can't get that one.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was our first time camping at Stone Mountain. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because I believe there is always room for improvement. We stayed 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. The overall campgrounds were nice. We were on site 400 which is a distance from the main RV camping area. This was a wonderful thing because our site and area was wonderful. Definitely more secluded and not as cramped together as the main camping site. We walked through the campgrounds and found it to be pleasant compared to our other experiences with large camping grounds. Was clean and the bath house closest to us was awesome! Very surprised at how clean and large it was. Since we only live an hour away we are very familiar with how expensive the attractions and food are in the park so we were diligent in bringing our own snacks, drinks and such. We keep a yearly mountain pass which pays off well for us since we come multiple times a year. Will definitley return

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjs1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights in our 30' motorhome at site 302A (pull in forward site). Overall we had a great time. Our site was on the end of loop L facing road which meant road noise but it wasn't that bad. Some sites had a view of the lake, but the ones directly on lake were for pop-up/tent only. We road bikes all through the campground and preferred loop L and E the best. Loop E are premium motorhome sites with a view of the lake, but not very shaded which could be an issue with high heat days. Pool area was nice, but crowded due to holiday. We took the shuttle to Stone Mointain Park which was quick and convenient. You purchase tickets to the park in the camp office. They also had duck rides you could take from campground each morning at 9am, looked like fun but our teenagers didn't want to get up that early. At campground they had row boats and pedal boats for rent. We didn't rent them because they said the kids had to be 18 to go alone, although the next day we saw kids probably 10 years old on the boats without an adult, guess it depends on the attendant as to whether the rules are followed. We were surprised to see young kids driving golf carts on the roads in the park, especially with all the traffic. Camp store was well equipped. Camp sites had fire pit, grill and picnic table. Bath house was clean, 4 shower stalls per bath house on our loop. The campground does not allow alcohol although we saw campers outside drinking beer, guess that rule isn't enforced either. We would definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 863JS863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Everything is amazing, but the valuables like toys and food are really expensive. I spent like 100$ on a meal. The value is what messes up this place. If the lower the food price, this place would be amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronny_666x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone Mountain Inn
Stone Mountain Inn
#6 of 11 in Stone Mountain
516 reviews
6.2 mi away
Masters Inn Tucker
Masters Inn Tucker
#2 of 11 in Tucker
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#2 of 11 in Stone Mountain
71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mountain Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Family Campground

Address: 1000 Robert E. Lee Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA
Region: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stone Mountain
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground facility with over 400 scenic sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Mountain Family Campground Hotel Stone Mountain
Family Campground Stone Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing