We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Marriott but poor nighttime service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
GreenLeadersSilver level
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Marriott but poor nighttime service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is your average Marriott. Even though it is in a park it is not a resort which feels a bit confusing. The rooms are small like a city Marriott. Rooms could be cleaner. Dirty vents, dirt behind furniture. Staff quality is all over the place. Day staff is competent. The night staff is downright rude and purposely unhelpful. We had called in the afternoon about a rollaway bed. No problem it will be in the room. Show up at 11pm. We will get you one. Twenty minutes later no bed. Call down we are out tough, first come first serve. Long story short "so sorry" but tough. No help, no attempt to make it right. Also no information about the fact you can't leave the park on July 4th until you get there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vincenzopwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia R, Director of Operations at Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vicenzopwd

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us during the 4th of July Holiday. We have shared your feedback with the mentioned departments and have taken it very seriously.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not delivering the appropriate levels of service you have come to expect of Marriott Hotels.

regards,

Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    301
    120
    49
    50
See reviews for
381
211
15
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have Stone mountain memberships and have started staying at Evergreen for the night. Our entire family loves it.
We are usually given a courtesy upgrade to the lake view. My 10 year old son asked for a trip here with some friends instead of a party. The breakfast buffet is EXCELLENT. We love the outdoor pool. We have lived in Atlanta over 30 years and have enjoyed Stone Mountain more this year because of Evergreen. We recommend this hotel for a little get away.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well, I just read a few of the recent comments and we had a completely different experience. The doormen and check in staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We actually looked at a couple of rooms before choosing one with a lake view and one overlooking the pool. The diadvantage to the lake view was that we could not go on to the balcony because of all the mosquitoes. But it was beautiful to look at every morning. The room overlooking the pool got noisy one night but a call to the desk and the pool was closed.

About the pool... the hours said open until 11pm but as long as the noise was low and no one complained, people could stay in the outdoor pool. There was also an indoor pool and a whirlpool. The exercise room was well laid out and complete, enough to keep you going on your fitness routine. (Altho' we didn't use it their was a day spa on site too.) If you ask the desk, they will give you maps of well marked hiking trails that cover the Marriott property. The shortest is about 15 and just sorta cirles the parking lot while the longest is about an hour and heads along the lake.

Breakfast was included with our rate and had EVERYTHING from eggs and cereals to lunch meat. We did not eat dinner there as it was expensive.

The property operates a shuttle to Stone Mtn and we never needed to drive our car once we got there, except for a 7am walk up Stone Mtn. This was very convenient.

Well stocked business center and concierge desk; store had the basics but was low on stock when we were there. There is a coffee bar that serves drinks, pastries, sandwiches and excellent salads.

Oh, the room... it was a typical hotel room with a large bathroom, TV, refrigerator, microwave, etc.

Our rate was not any higher than other similar properties. We had the AAA breakfast rate and they do NOT charge for parking overnight!!

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone. You will get the service you expect from a Marriott Resort.

Room Tip: Get a rate that includes breakfast. They have Stone Mtn passes that are cheaper than the online deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylansmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My 14 year old son and I decided to go on a mini vacation not to far from the city. This was perfect. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. We were on the 5th floor overlooking the river. The view was very peaceful. We enjoyed playing chess on the life size chest board. I let him win
( smile). the pool was extremely inviting, and was not to crowded. They also had a restaurant,and bar and a coffee shop on the premises. We ate at the restaurant, Food was good. my son said the desserts were delicious. The hotel is located minutes from stone mountain park, if you enjoy hiking and outdoor activities then this is for you, They also provide shuttle service from the hotel to view the light show at night. Great get a way.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The rate is too high for this property. No free-WiFi which is ridiculous in this day and age. The sliding glass doors in rooms around you make a ton of noise which makes you think they are moving furniture all night over your head. The maid was extremely rude to us as we were leaving one morning she knocked on our door and I told her to please give us "5 minutes" and we would be gone. We left and got back 7 hours later and she was literally pulling the cart up to our room and knocking on the door and we said "we have been gone for 7 hours" and she said in a very hateful loud voice, "I HAVE 2 FLOORS TO CLEAN!!" and we said "ok we can leave in about 10 minutes if that is OK" and she just huffed off speaking spanish to herself. But the capper is that we were asked to sign TWO COPIES OF A LIABILITY WAIVER in order to take our leftover food out of the restaurant in a doggie bag!!! I understand a waiver for groups or outside catering events but you cannot possibly think that you can have every individual customer who wants to take food out of the restaurant sign a waiver to prevent lawsuits. It was quite an ordeal to take leftovers back to the room, first the waitress looked at us as if we had asked for something illegal when we asked for a "to-go box" and said "um, we are not supposed to do that, let me ask my manager", and then she came back with two copies of a legal waiver for group functions and asked me to sign it, THEN, the manager came over and gave us a LENGTHY explanation along with a lot of small talk, so all-in-all the transaction of taking food home ending up taking up 10 minutes of our valuable time as we were preparing to check out that day.

Room Tip: Best advice is to get a walk-up rate, otherwise the rates are very high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia R, Director of Operations at Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear KBK10

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and have shared your comments with our housekeeping and restaurant teams.
We hope you consider us again next time your travels bring you to the Stone Mountain area.

regards,

Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for the 4th of July weekend and were very pleased with the hotel and accommodations. All of the staff were very nice and went out if their way to help. My only complaint is that the rooms are not very well insulated from sound...probably a bad weekend to judge a hotel on quietness though. My kids loved the pools and all the extra that Marriott added for the holiday weekend! We really enjoyed our stay here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pretty from the outside. Room quality not like the published pictures. The rooms were not clean and had cob webs around the ceiling area. The elevators were dirty and did not function properly. The balcony of the room was infested with flying insects making it impossible to enjoy and had not been cleaned in a very, very long time. No need to get a lake view room. The bath room had cracked tiles and no exaust fan. Dust could be found on the lamps and the room service card had been used by a previous guest. The food was over priced and way below average. At least the staff for the most part was friendly. We had two adjoining rooms. We heard what we thought was thunder rolling over and over again but saw nothing in the sky. We discovered the the sliding glass doors were the noise makers and as they were opened on the floors above and below it echoed like thunder, all night long. The overall experience was unpleasant. We had to ask for soap, which was left out our rooms. Instead of relaxing it was stressful. The only good part was the Starbucks keosk. We have lived all over the country and stayed at many Marriott Properties. We have never seen one in quite this condition or with such poor food quality. We were looking forward to experiencing the park and a good hotel. We were extremely diappointed and will not return. We are shocked that Marriott would allow one of it's hotels to operate in that condition. Even more shocking is that is was renovated in 2011. We recommend passing on this one. Very disappointing....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank odyessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia R, Director of Operations at Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Odyessa

We are very sorry we fell short to meet your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies and contact me directly at the hotel so we can discuss it futher and address your concerns.

regards,

Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Inn
#7 of 11 in Stone Mountain
500 reviews
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
647 reviews
Stone Mountain Manor
#4 of 11 in Stone Mountain
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort

Property: Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort
Address: 4021 Lakeview Dr, Stone Mountain, GA 30083-3099
Region: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stone Mountain
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with conference center located in Stone Mountain Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Marriott Hotel Stone Mountain
Evergreen Marriott Conference Hotel
Marriott Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing