We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay far FAR away from this horrible in every sense of the word!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay far FAR away from this horrible in every sense of the word!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Absolutely horrible! I agree with the previous poster, don't stay here for FREE! FILTHY, DISGUSTING, ROACH INFESTED, the wifi doesn't work (hasn't worked for Weeks, and the unapologetic staff is VERY RUDE)! housekeeping only cleans the rooms when people move out, in spite of their advertisement that they clean weekly. We've been through 3 non working refrigerators, only one eye on the range works, the plumbing is JACKED. not to mention that the on site security is actually employed by the SWAT team. someone was shot on the elevator, and the next morning my children and I went out to see that persons blood everywhere, all on the walls, down the hallway, on the stairs... HIGH CRIME RATE! And just because you stay there you will be harrassed by police. (i dropped off some oj and soup to my sick son and was pulled over by the police immediately upon leaving bc they thought I was making a drug drop!) Stay far FAR away from this place! Signed, law abiding single mom

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank keepinitalltheway100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAVANNAHSUITES4893, General Manager at Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Savannah Suites Stone Mountain. Thank you for leaving a comment and expressing your concerns about the hotel. Since March of 2013 we have made many upgrades to the rooms and the property. We have many more upgrades to come. I am sure if you were to give us another chance to impress you and your son that you would see the changes. The police activity is for your safety not to harass you. The location of the hotel is down the street from the police department and we encourage the police to be present. Many of the guest like the fact of the police being present on the property. I hope you give us a fair chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    0
    14
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I paid to stay for a week. After another bad experience at another hotel not far away me and my husband checked the room before accepting it. It smelled horrible but looked remotely clean for the most part. When the sun went down the roaches took over. All through the bathroom and what they call a full kitchen. The ceiling over the shower was leaking from the room above it looked like it would fall on my head. The TV power and volume down button was broken with no remote. No working phone. My husband called the corporate office n left a voicemail and I got almost a full refund and left quickly. This place is disgusting and should be shut down! Oh and when I asked the woman virgia at the front desk about the roaches she replied with "well what do u expect for 40 dollars a night?" Fyi I am now in motel 6 paying 29.99 a night with no roaches or smells or falling down ceilings! So that's what I expect. Worst experience ever!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank michelesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is about Savannah Suites, Stone Mtn, Georgia regarding a two-week unforgettable and unforgiving, horrendous stay. If it was safe to sleep in my car, that would have been better.



Roach infested. Should be closed down. All food was in containers, no garbage in my room whatsoever. I moved from 102 to 219 which was much much worse. I was allowed to get sheets from 104 and there was a roach in the sheets. Roach in my bed in 219. Rem at the desk said we will help you move to a new hotel. I want the Health Department to know about this. Left a msg for Regional Manager, Michael, who never called me back. I am a forensic chemist in Atlanta on business and this is infested with roaches. Everyone has them. People should not be allowed to stay here for years and live as slobs..flyers had to be passed around because animals were doing their thing at people's doors and cigarette butts are all over and trash is awful.

Several tv channels do not work..15 and 17. Internet is so bad that I had to get my own and did get a discounted rate. I wish to God I could get my money back for this horrendous stay as I had to wrap myself in a sheet and wear a shower cap so I would not get roaches in my hair while I slept. I packed up all the belongings that I would not need in my stay and put them back in my car so that roaches would not go in them. I had to buy Rubbermaid containers to put things in while in the frig.

Roaches are on the toilet seat, climbing up the walls, in the shower when taking a shower. I leave the lights on because I do not want to see them scurrying about. This is the first time I have ever been around roaches as I am from up North and have lived out west. So gross that this place deserves to be shut down or torn down and rebuilt and be more selective who comes in to stay.

The people in the next room fight a lot and are up till the early hours of the morning, and such foul language that it makes you gag listening. What type of property needs to put notices on doors to tell them not to let pets pee on other doors or leave feces and trash where others walk? I travel with a mobile crime unit and this is the most disgusting place I have ever come across in my life. I really want my money back from this untenable situation.

Helpful?
13 Thank bbub b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

I stayed there for a couples of nights only to discover there was bugs beds under the covers no joke bed bugs it was so many the bed bugs that the bugs should have went half on the hotel bill. there was a bad smell in the room and roaches the staff was getto when i went to report the bed bugs i was told by the front staff that she didn't know the owner the property manager was no where to be found they refuse to give me a refund and had the nerve to offer me another room like i would be dumd enough to stay here again. I don't think a homeless person would stay here for free. if you had a choice between hell and this hotel i'll take hell i rather be burn than eaten alive. if you stay in this hotel take my advice check under the covers to make sure you are alone this hotel should be call bed bug inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank chothunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolMakoui, General Manager at Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
We certainly apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. Our goal was to make your stay a perfect 10 and we were not successful in doing so. I would like to speak with you concerning your issues, please contact me at the hotel directly. Please accept our sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

Don't stay here for FREE. I checked in here with my 18 and 8 year old son. We were just disgusted. Cockroach infested, crawling on walls, table, ceiling. They were even crushed in the door jams. I am a female and stood up to pee because the toilet was so dirty. The smell in the room was like dirty butt. Dark dingy and just filthy. My 8 year old was scared of the 2 drug addicts that kept banging on our door to demand cigarettes. One guy asked my 18 year old if he had any drugs to sell. I had to make reservations for another hotel that night and it cost me over a hundred dollars to find one last minute. If I am not refunded, I am reporting them to the board of health. I included 2 pics. of the cockroaches in the door jams eeewwww.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank noelg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolMakoui, General Manager at Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
I sincerely apologize for the recent experience that you encountered while at our property. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest's experience is a great one. I apologize that we did not meet that goal. Please accept my sincere apology and hopes that you will return in the future so you can see the changes we have made since your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCEAN CITY,MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2005

I'll try to keep this short. The place is in the GHETTO! As we got close to the address, I kept hoping there was some mistake and Mapquest took me to the wrong place, well the mistake was mine for booking here in the first place. When I got there I walked into the office only to find out they didn't have my reservation(it was made in August). I went to check out the room(suite..yeah right!)and it smelled like, well, an old hotel room. We also saw a roach in the bathroom when we turned the light on. After that we left to find something else.
The bottom line is, I didn't feel safe during the day, so I knew I wasn't going to feel safe at night.

Helpful?
31 Thank OCSPORTSNUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
3.8 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#4 of 11 in Stone Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
2.9 mi away
Masters Inn Tucker
Masters Inn Tucker
#3 of 11 in Tucker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel

Property: Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel
Address: 4893 Memorial Dr, Stone Mountain, GA 30083-4175 (Formerly Savannah Suites Stone Mountain)
Region: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home 1 Extended Stay hotel features kitchenettes in every room that include a two burner stove top, refrigerator, microwave, cable T.V. with HBO, onsite guest laundry facility and weekly housekeeping. Free Guest Parking. Daily and weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home 1 Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Suites Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing