We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow great food and huge portions! ! 😊”
Review of Metro Cafe Diner

Metro Cafe Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow great food and huge portions! ! 😊”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I am on business and always check trip advisor for suggested restaurants. This cafe got very high scores and was within walking distance of the holiday inn express. Comfy environment full bar and huge menu from which to choose. Settled on lemon chicken soup and chicken with artichokes mushrooms and spinach. Delicious but typical of a diner. Three could have eaten for $12 meal. Bravo. Thank you Jeanette for great service. Go there with a big appetite. But still expect to take home a portion of your delicious meal Nan M Charleston SC.

Helpful?
Thank Nan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    133
    60
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Great buffalo wings and greek salad. The coconut cake was UHmazing and the carrot cake was excellent as well. We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainMan30523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A neat Resturaunt with OK food”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My family and I ate at this restaurant after a basketball game. The restaurant was full and lively. We had to wait 5 minutes for a table at 8:00 on a Saturday. They serve typical diner food from breakfast through dinner. They also had a wonderful display of cakes that were 6 to 10 inches high. The food was ok, we had chicken wings, Fiesta salad and a meatloaf paddy melt. I quizzed the family after eating to give a rating of food quality, 1 to 10 and the ratings were 6 to 7. There you have it. The service was just ok. May have been that particular server, but we reminded him several times that we needed salad dressing or the salad as well water. I probably would return only if I was hungry and the diner was convenient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Real Greek Diner”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Who would have thought that this diner starved transplanted New Yorker would find the best matzah ball soup south of Brooklyn in Georgia? Everything is delicious. But leave room for dessert. Like any good diner, the cakes are amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Year's Vacation”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We ate here for supper one night and liked it so much we came back for breakfast the next morning. The place is kind of spacious for a diner and has a retro 1950's decor. The staff seemed a little curt for the South, but were good and helpful. The high point is really the food. Nothing fancy here, but everything we tried was good and there was a good selection of things to try. The menu has a little Mediterranean slant to it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro Cafe Diner also viewed

 

Been to Metro Cafe Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing