We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at over 100 Best Western's, This was the Worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn - Stone Mountain
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Everything seemed like it was going well, was checking in with pets and they are Pet Friendly. The main BW page does not mention a fee but am used to seeing a $20 fee for pets posted. Front desk seemed nice about it but said it was going to be $25 per pet. I asked them to check the web site to see what it said and they informed me that they were not going to do that, they have their policies. Had I known, I said I would have stayed somewhere else but it was late and needed the room. She said she could do a deal where I only paid for 1 pet so it would be half off. I appreciated her gesture and signed in. When it showed the pet price it was $15 a pet. I asked her is she was insulting my intelligence by telling me that the $15 was half price. She said I gave you half off so you are only paying for 1 pet. I then got her upset at me as I said I dont know where you went to school but half off of $25 is not $15. She got a bit loud with me and told me to file a complaint with Best Western.

We went to our room, the carpet was filthy, my wife walked around just a bit in her socks and they were black on the bottom. The beds were old and extremely uncomfortable, other than that was a pretty standard room.

Breakfast was supposed to start at 6 AM, and while we went at 6:15 AM, most things were not ready including the waffle mix. The biscuits were hard as rocks, the sausage gravy was so thin it was like water and same was with grits. Wife opted for cereal and of the 4 to choose from, one she wanted was empty so she had another and it was stale.

Checked out and mentioned to person at counter of our experience the night before at check in. He was extremely nice, very pleasant, said he would let the manager know. Said he was not going to give me a receipt as he was going to have manager take care of things. Said my receipt would be emailed to me and any questions, the manager would call me. Well that was a few days ago, no emailed receipt and no call yet the payment was posted.

Bad experience all around, I have stayed at over 100 different Best Western Properties over the past few years and this was the worst one,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sizzletime29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BestWestern, Manager at Quality Inn - Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sir,

I am sorry you had a bad experience at out hotel. Our pet fee is mentioned on our website, as well as informed to all guest at check-in. What my employee(s) did by not charging you the full price for both pets was the right thing to do to make it easier on our guest(s). Judging anyone about what school they went to in the heat of the moment can become insulting to anyone. All employees have been properly trained on customer service. As for breakfast goes we appreciate your comments we will be issuing a new training material to our breakfast team, thank you for staying at our many Best Western.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

The rooms were clean and comfortable. However, I was extremely disappointed at check in when they did not honor my request for adjoining rooms when I made my reservation months in advance.. They didn't even have it in their notes and they gave me two rooms that were on the opposite sides of the hotel! Watch out for the hot breakfast, it wasn't very hot and the biscuits and gravy were inedible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BestWestern, Manager at Quality Inn - Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Linda M,

I am sorry you were unable to receive an adjoining room during your stay, our space are limited during our busy season, requesting a specific option is just to see what we can do if we have the availability ( this is merily, just how the system is ran). It does not unfortunately guarantee your request it in the note section. We just opened up our new hot breakfast the weekend of your stay so your comments are very helpful to us on what we need to do to improve customer satisfaction. We do hope you come back and stay with us again.

Respectfully,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed two nights and enjoyed mountain climbing at the Stone Mountain Park.The hotel is only 5 minutes drive from the park. The staff was very kind and friendly, too. We will definitely stay at this hotel if we ever had another chance to come to Atlanta.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Atsuko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BestWestern, Manager at Quality Inn - Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Atsuko O

We appreciate your feedback reviewing the Best Western Stone Mountain , I will inform my staff with the great news and we definitely look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We always stay at Best Western unless there is not one available or there has been a block reservation by others for special occasions. The breakfast bar was not what we are accustomed to at Stone Mountain. It was not appealing to us. Oatmeal at McDonald's was better I'm sorry to say.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank barbarajj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lobby under construction was not the worst facet of this hotel by a long shot.
Room was bleak. Looked like it had never been updated for 50 years.
Breakfast was a joke. We specifically asked at the front desk if there was juice and yoghurt. That was all we wanted and were quite prepared to go and buy it. We were assured there was juice and yoghurt. Obviously the following morning there was none.
Also, my wife was not impressed by the used condom in the parking space outside our room.
We booked and prepaid thru hotels.com. Not using that service again.

Room Tip: There are better and in some cases cheaper hotels close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BestWestern, Manager at Quality Inn - Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Carlos B,

Thank you for your candid feedback on your experience here at the Best Western Stone Mountain Hotel. I first would like to express my deepest apology for the prophylactic found in our parking lot. We are ensuring the grounds of our facility are being monitored more carefully. Being that our renovation was the entire front lobby we were unfortunate to work floor by floor to minimize guests exposure to noise and mess. The renovation was a reconstruction from an older Best Western Hotel and we are making progress to upgrade changes to our guests. I do hope you visit again to see the improvements we have made here at Best Western Stone Mountain.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Holes in wall Crummy breakfast, no meat, no eggs, no skim milk, no butter, no fruit, no juice, coffee ran out...waited for replacement... minimal seating (12) ...ate in our room. parking lot unsafe with ice and snow...no effort to make it safer. Dirty carpet and ?????. Insufficient towels. This space requires 200 words. Are they discouraging me to tell the truth. Said I could not write in caps. Others that paid more got a nicer room. We were relegated tp a low end room likely because we booked through another service online. When we checked in there were plenty of rooms from which to choose. Seemingly if you find a 'bargain rate'...you get a sub-par room. Very disappointed with Best Western on this one. This survey definitely takes more than five minutes...another over-statement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 566sandrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BestWestern, Manager at Quality Inn - Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

566sandrap

Thank you for your much expressed feedback with your stay at Best Western Stone Mountain Hotel. I am sorry you were exposed to our renovations at our facility we are making much needed renovations due to Best Western requests such as larger breakfast area. Our continental breakfast has been expanded to include more options and is now more closely monitored to ensure we have enough to satisfy all our guest, as we understand these are important to our guests. We do have limit amount of towels per room, as to Best Western standards, for any reason you may need extra towels please do not hesitate to contact the front desk and we will be glad to replenish more towels to you. Unfortunately during your stay Georgia had its worst ice storm and we were unable to make commendations to ensure safety to our parking lot. Due to the ice storm some of our employees were unable to make the drive and we were low staffed. Management is constantly looking for improvements and we thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This time I stayed for a week for business at Best Western Stone Mountain.

Good location, next to Walmart and Outback steak house.

In general, hotel fits the standards of Best Western hotels, but due to renovation works, lobby was closed, and breakfast was served in one of guest rooms.

Breakfast was not so good, just begals, and some cookies. No meat.

From problems I encountered was just a door in my guest room, which didn't always locked, but I found workaround.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. When I got my room, it was no microwave and fridge in the room, but it was promply organized per my request.

The bottom line - I do suggest this hotel, espeically after renovation.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anatoly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_BestWestern, Manager at Quality Inn - Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Anatoly M

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Best Western Stone Mountain , I do apologize during your stay we were under renovation which it is now complete.

We offer continental breakfast which consist of oatmeal, cereal, tea, coffee, bagels, two types of bread, fruit, yogurt, danishes, muffins, and hot waffles we do not have cookies as our continental breakfast.

I apologize you have encountered the door situation which has been fixed by the maintenance crew the following day upon your checkout.

We hope to see you again so you will be able to see our newly remodeled front lobby and breakfast area to better serve our guest .

Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Mountain hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
1.9 mi away
Stone Mountain Inn
Stone Mountain Inn
#7 of 11 in Stone Mountain
526 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#3 of 11 in Stone Mountain
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn - Stone Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn - Stone Mountain

Address: 1595 E Park Place Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30087-3443 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn - Stone Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn in Stone Mountain, Georgia near Stone Mountain Park The Quality Inn(R) hotel in Stone Mountain, GA offers easy access to outdoor fun at Stone Mountain Park and Yellow River Park. This Stone Mountain hotel is also a short drive away from Atlanta and attractions like the CNN Studio Tour, Georgia Dome, Phillips Arena and Turner Field. Relax in the seasonal outdoor pool, get work done in the 24 Hour business center and enjoy amenities like: Free hot breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free 24 hour coffee bar Free daily newspaper Free parking on premises All rooms feature flat-screen televisions with upgraded cable service, microwaves and refrigerators, hair dryers, in-room coffee and more. Get your money's worth at the Quality Inn hotel in Stone Mountain, Georgia. Book today for cozy rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn - Stone Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing