We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room. Quiet place.”
Review of Stone Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stone Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Tampa Bay, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large room. Quiet place.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The room was huge. It was clean. The furniture was colonial. Since it was in the 20s outside, it was nice to have the heater in the bathroom. We were across the street from Snow Mountain which was very convenient. The hotel was quiet. We wish the restaurant would have been open, but there were good places close by once you went out the gate and turned right, going left out of the park took you through an undesirable and dark scary area. The rock quarry in the park was fun.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandiebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    170
    108
    48
    32
See reviews for
225
115
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at the Stone Mountain Inn many times over the years and have yet to be disappointed. The room is absolutely huge compared to others and easily sleeps 5. 2 Doubles/1 King and a pull out sofa bed. The balcony and wooden rocking chairs really gave us the feel we were looking for at this hotel. As with all Marriotts you are going to get great service and clean rooms. The Discover Stone Mountain Package is a steal for families. The southern breakfast buffet is to die for, especially with a nice cup of coffee overlooking the beautiful mountain. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribbeanCruiserBVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stn_Mtn_Inn, Manager at Stone Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear CaribbeanCruiserBVI,

I am happy to see you are cotinuing to enjoy your time with us during your recent stay. The staff at the Stone Mountain Inn takes great pride in the service they provide to our guests and reviews like yours help to illustrate this. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I planned to stay a week & only stayed one night. Room was on 2nd floor & had 2 double beds (not the king bed option which was my choice). All rooms get accessed through the outside (not through the lobby). No elevator. You will be bringing your luggage up the stairs yourself.
Room was spacious & balcony w/2 rocking chairs was a nice touch. However, walls are thin (or not well-insulated). I could hear the family in the room next door (the TV, the kids coughing). I was thankful when the heat kicked on to muffle the sounds of my neighbors. Furniture decor is dated (but maybe that's the ambiance intended). TV was old-style w/the large backs (not the flat panel HD).
For a Category 5, I was disappointed (having already stayed at a JW (in Las Vegas) which is a Category 5).
Breakfast buffet the next day was plentiful & service was great. Lots of cut up fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, scones, bagels, et cetera.
Staff was courteous & lobby was immaculate. The large staircase in the lobby leading to the restaurant reminded me of Gone with the Wind & the beautiful staircase featured in the movie.
Bring a flashlight when you get ice after dark. Machine is outside &, although it's well-lit while walking to the machine, once there, it's completely dark. I couldn't even see the button to push to dispense the ice. I walked back to my room to retrieve the bucket (which was in the bathroom & I hadn't noticed it before) plus a flashlight.

Room Tip: Two floors & if your room is on the 2nd floor, you will be carrying your luggage up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stn_Mtn_Inn, Manager at Stone Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mayinfl,
Thank you so much for providing feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We have taken your comments very seriously and sincerely apologize your weren't completely satisfied with your experience with us. If you would like to discuss it further please feel free to contact us at the hotel directly.

Thank you again,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Service was gracious. Rooms and baths large with nice balconies. Breakfast buffet delicious. But we have never slept in more uncomfortable beds. The mattresses are foam and old. The double beds seem really small. The linens bunched up with the badly-fitting mattress covers to make lots of wrinkles under you as you tried not to slide off the sagging edge. We were all semi awake all night and exhausted from bad sleep the next day. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrelladeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stn_Mtn_Inn, Manager at Stone Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Terrelladeville,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I am happy to see you appreciated our staff service, size of our deluxe rooms and our breakfast buffet offerings. I do apologize that the beds and bedding in our rooms did not meet your expectations. We want all of our guests to enjoy all aspects of their time with us and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit. We are always looking for ways to make improvements at our hotel and reviews such as yours helps us in doing this. I hope you continue to choose to stay at Marriotts in future travels. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,

Melissa L.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I'm a little puzzled by some of the really awful reviews, so don't let them turn you away from this hotel. It may be due to much higher expectations than I have, but regardless, we had a wonderful stay here over the long weekend. The location is perfect and we didn't even need our car after arriving. Snow Mountain, Summit Skyride, Crossroads were all within walking distance. We had a deluxe room with 2 double beds and a sleeper sofa. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The service was excellent and all of our needs were met. We purchased the breakfast package and were very pleased with the more than adequate hot buffet breakfast. My whole family was able to eat plenty, something for everyone! Dinner was a bit pricey for the selection offered, but we did eat there one night. Restaurant staff were all very friendly and provided great service. We were not troubled by lack of free wifi, although it is usually expected (these days), we were looking for a weekend away and anything I needed I could do from my iPhone. If we were desperate, we would have paid the daily charge. Overall, our stay provided a great family weekend getaway and we weren't left wanting/needing anything! I definitely would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momoffour74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Used this trip for a get away for my wife and myself before heading down to Florida to met up with friends. I read a lot of review that were mixed for this hotel. but being a Marriott Platinum Elite member I thought I would give it a try. Wow is what I'm thinking. Is the hotel a part of the park? You'll think so as it's right across the street. I had heard the the front desk staff were less than pleasant from other reviews. But not for me, they were the best part of the hotel. They made sure we had maps and knew where to go and places to eat. We enjoyed the park that day and returned to a huge room. the hotel does show it's age but we found it clean and yes we always look for the little things that craw. We stayed two night the first was on a Saturday night and the Hotel was full. On Sunday night there were just a few rooms sold for that night. the park not being open on Monday made a big difference. The breakfast buffet was very good and was includes with my room since I am a Marriott Platinum member. I also got free internet. We will return to this hotel maybe in a year or two when our grandson gets a little older.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stn_Mtn_Inn, Manager at Stone Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
I am so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and gave us such a nice review. The staff at the Stone Mountain Inn take great pride in meeting and exceeding our guest(s) expectations whenever possible an your feedback illustrates that. We look forward to you being our guest in the future and appreciate your continued support as a Marriott Elite Member.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family stayed in this hotel for two nights during the Christmas break mainly because it is in the stone mountain park and we needed to go to the stone mountain park for two days.

The best thing about this inn is that it is right across the park. Unless you have toddler or baby, you could just let your car relax in the hotel parking lot, and walk to the park. Sky ride, and the main entrance is right across a small street.

We stayed in the two double room, and the room was very spacious. There was no microwave, but they got me one when I made a request. I'm not sure this is for all the rooms, but the A/C unit made lots of noise when heating.

There were some bugs ranging from small flies to moth. If you don't like bugs and need to stay in for summer, I would not recommend this one.

However, we really liked the room, the hotel, and the park, so if we have another chance, we will stay another night or we could try the Evergreen resort next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_hmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stn_Mtn_Inn, Manager at Stone Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take your concerns very seriously and your comments have been reviewed with our housekeeping and engineering staff. We truly apologize for your inconvenience you experienced while a guest with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#4 of 11 in Stone Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta - Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Inn

Property: Stone Mountain Inn
Address: 1058 Robert E Lee Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30083-3093
Region: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stone Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing