We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical dining experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refuge de Pre Verel

Refuge de Pre Verel
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Montmin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A magical dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our B&B in St Jorioz, so we drove up to this delightful,magical hideway one evening on the offchance of a table being available. They managed to squeeze us in and what a delightful experience it was! We started with the most delicious mushroom tart, followed by rack of lamb, so tender and with the most amazing flavour. We finished the meal with an irish bread and butter pudding and a rich chocolate fondant in salted caramel sauce - simply devine! As we were about to leave, the chef (carrying some glasses and a bottle of liquer) came across for a chat - well it would be rude not to join him in a tipple wouldn't it? Evan and his small hardworking team create an amazing dining experience, the restaurant was full to bursting, the open fire (also used for some of the cooking) blazing and the atmosphere was buzzing. All ingredients are fresh and local and absolutely everything including the sauces are homemade. Evan's passion for good food is clear and although the 'lunch' session had not finished until 6.30 pm, when we left the evening session at about 10pm he was about to start ' prepping ' for the next day. This was the best meal we have eaten in the Annecy area in the 15+ years that we have been visiting the region. Can't wait till our next visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    23
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Breathtaking location.
Amazing food.
Go there!
The drive up the mountain to this place is stunning, the food is fresh, filling and the view is priceless. We had warm goats cheese salad & mushroom tart to start - then fondue Savoyard - both beautiful - a bottle of savoie wine, couple of desserts,
Coffee/apperetif and all for under €100. I'd pay double this for the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherborne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a revelation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Found this place quite by chance so knew nothing about it and it turned out to be our favourite place to eat from our entire French trip . Stunning location , brilliant food and a wonderful chef . Quite amazing and absolutely worth the drive to get there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nickt1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect settings with wonderful food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We went there because our first choice was booked but it was a blessing. The staff is very friendly. The setting is so nice.. Very alpine. And the food is very good. Cooked with local ingredients by the chef who loves his job with passion. I can't wait to back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The setting, the service, the food - all fantastic! It's amazing what the chef manages to achieve in this remote location! Definitely worth the visit. And again... And again...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Refuge de Pre Verel also viewed

 
Montmin, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Refuge de Pre Verel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing