We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for large groups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Stratford upon Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a fabulous New Years break at this hostel. There were over 100 of us with over half of those being kids it was a bit noisy and wild but the hostel staff took it in there stride, nothing phased them and they were polite and friendly at all times. The food was delicious but probably more choice required for evening meal, maybe it was limited with us being a large group.

The location was awesome and we look forward to our return trip next new year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodieh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

It's great to hear that your party had a fantastic time with us. New Year's Eve was a great night that both guests and staff enjoyed alike!

Nights like this just go to prove the versatility of our hostel, which can quite easily be transformed into a private party venue, be hired out exclusively for large groups and often plays host to our monthly live events and quiz nights.

It was a pleasure to have your group with us and we look forward to seeing you again at the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great staff and very welcoming. Breakfast only £4.99 and was good. Location good for Stratford or as a base. Bus stop right outside the building. Beds very comfortable and the main bathroom was large as we booked the x3 person room.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank sally j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, I agree that our breakfast is a great way to start your day. Our restaurant is also open daily after breakfast service from 12 noon, to buth guests and the public alike, serving lunches, snacks and evening meals right through until 9pm.

As we were refurbished last year, all of our beds were replaced for our guests comfort, so I'm glad you enjoyed our modernised room.

Thanks for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again at Stratford-upon-Avon or at any of our nation-wide youth hostels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent value, and the reception staff (especially Pauline) were very helpful and accommodating indeed, despite our check-in at a pretty late hour. The facilities were all as clean and convenient as I would expect of YHA - I would definitely recommend, especially considering how pricey Stratford can be. It's on a regular ish bus route into town - but leave plenty of time if you have a connection to make, the first bus we tried to get on bombed straight past us

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniferwrenifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great breakfast offerings!

Your comments have been passed on to Pauline, our reception manager. All of our staff go to great lengths to ensure our guests are happy and well looked-after so thank you for hilighting this in your review.

Our reception is open from 7am until at least 12 midnight every day and arrangements can be made for check-ins outside of these hours.

Though the bus services are out of our control, we have timetables at reception and in the entrance hall, and can always ring a taxi for guests if they would prefer.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here as first timers as we had won a free meal at a nearby Golf Club. I was slightly worried about being in a hostel as some people probably would on an initial thought but I have to say it was absolutely wonderful and a bargain! My partner and I went for the private twin room (with bunkbeds) but I asked for a room with a double bed via email and we were upgraded for an extra £9 only, bargain. The room was great, shower was lovely and powerful too! Everything in the hostel was cleaned to perfection. The staff were all lovely and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We have decided to become YHA members and visit all of the YHA hostels! Looking forward to it :) We are both aged 25 and 26.

Thank you YHA Alveston for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_and_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Im really pleased that your first YHA hostel experience was a positive one. Many people are surprised by what we have to offer. We are proud of our heritage, but YHA has moved with the times and with it, the preconceptions of what a hostel is or should be have started to dissolve as people become increasingly aware of our great value private room rates, hearty food and great drink prices.

Of course, we still have dormitory rooms throughout YHA for groups and travellers all at typical YHA good value and all in a unique and welcoming atmosphere.

I hope your new memberships help you to new discoveries and adventures at many of our amazing locations across England and Wales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked Hemmingford's - the restaurant/bar at the YHA - on Saturday for a Christmas party for a sports club I'm a member of. There were 23 of in the party, and every one of us had a great time. The food was really good, and excellent value for money (£11.95 for 3 courses); the service was spot on, and nothing was too much trouble. The function room we booked for after the meal fitted out needs perfectly as well.
Most of the party commented on what an amazing venue the YHA is, and many will be going back to eat again, and will reccommend it to friends visiting the area as a place to stay.
Many thanks to everyone at Stratford YHA for a brilliant night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

It was an absolute pleasure to have your group with us! Thank you for your review, Hemmingford's- our fully licensed restaurant and bar is open to the public as well as guests staying at the hostel. It is also available for private hire and large functions, and as you mentioned, we also have a function room available for private hire.

Thanks again and hopefully we will see some of you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week to do all the Shakespeare and tourist things in the area. The hostel was glorious. It has recently been renovated so as you would expect, everything works well and is clean.
The staff were extremely helpful, polite and easy to talk to. The bar and restaurant are good, plenty of room. The facilities are great, with a game lounge and tv lounge. Comfortable couches are very welcoming!
Wifi and computer use requires payment, which is annoying.
You will need a car to do more things, but there is a bus in the area.

I would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words.

Future guests may like to know that free wifi is available at our hostel and many other YHA hostels if you are a YHA member. Membership can be purchased at any of our hostels or online at our website.

Thanks again and we hope to see you some time in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel with my 3 children so we could visit Shakespeare's birthplace. Ideally located only 5/10 mins away. The hostel has had a major refurbishment. All the facilities were new. Our private en-suite room was amazing, so clean and perfectly formed with a wet room! Brilliant!
I was very worried about catching the final of "The Great British Bake Off" but with 3 TV's in the hostel this was possible!
My only complaint was meal times. The staff member there I suspect is new and inexperienced. Her speed and service skills were minimal. The meals were good value (apart from children's meal which was a very unappetising pizza). This would not put me off staying again or recommending the hostel to friends.
All the other staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

It's good to hear that you had a great time with us. As you mentioned, our three TVs can be tuned to any Freeview station, allowing you to catch up on the next installment of your favourite show, or catch the early morning news and weather. We also have lounge space without televisions, and now have a new library area with books and boargames, where you can exchange books or just pick one out to enjoy during your stay.

Our staff and volunteers are all trained in customer service, so Im sorry to hear your mealtime was not to our usual high level of service. I will of course refresh everyone on our expected levels. Our childrens menu is great value, and under10s eat free. It includes smaller portions of our entire main menu as well as some special children-only options.

As with many of our reviews, I'm glad that you mentioned our excellent value for money, future guests might like to take a look at our excellent current rates and special offers by telephoning the hostel or visiting our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
2.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
935 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,133 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Stratford upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Stratford upon Avon

Address: Hemmingford House Wellesbourne Road, Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alveston
Price Range: £26 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Stratford upon Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Georgian mansion, set in three acres of grounds, is ideal for a budget family break. The hostel is only two miles from Shakespeare's birthplace with easy access to historic Stratford-upon-Avon. See performances by the world renowned Royal Shakespeare Company or visit nearby Warwick Castle, one of England's finest Medieval castles, both great educational options for school trips. Facilities * 132 beds, 16 en suite rooms * Two, three, four, five and six bed rooms * 24-hour access via key code * Reception open 7am-12 midnight * Free Wi-Fi * Laundry and drying room * Self-catering kitchen * Large free car park * Games room (including pool table, table football) * Live music and quiz nights * Books and board games available * Secure bike store * Exclusive hire available * Conference facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Stratford upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing