We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish inexpensive and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Stratford upon Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish inexpensive and well located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable family visit to Stratford based at the youth hostel. Has recently been refurbished. Shared bathrooms immaculate and never saw another soul in them! Only I negative was the ensuite room we were initially offered had a grim view of a wall so we were happily moved to a room at the front with a lovely outlook. No problem getting moved staff very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It is always very pleasing to get such positive feedback about aspects of a customers stay that is very important & cleanliness is one of those aspects. The Housekeeping manager and Team take a great pride in being able to offer the highest standards of cleanliness as you have yourselves observed. Thank you for taking the time to make these comments, which I will pass on to the Team.

It is regrettable that not all of the rooms have that sought after view, but we are happy to move our guests around, as bedding plans allow, to ensure the best experience is had by all. All of our Hosting staff have the customer stay upmost in their minds and we really want our guests to have the best time ever and come back to see us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at another time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    67
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
27
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Visited with school party, comprising 30 pupils and 5 staff, for 2 nights. The house is a real gem and the grounds are wonderful, particularly for energetic 9 - 11 year old children! Breakfasts were hearty to say the least and evening meals had a good choice of dishes and were of first class quality.
I would, however, like to praise the staff and management of this hostel. As is often the case with children, we required the customary visit to A & E. Jim, the manager, was an absolute saint. He drove child and a member of staff to hospital then later collected them and returned to the hostel. This was one of many acts of kindness we encountered within the hostel. I cannot praise the staff highly enough. Simply to extend a huge THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: Room 7. Double bed with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It is always appreciated when someone takes time out of their busy lives to write a comment, so thank you for yours.

Set in three acres of land, the Hostel really lends itself to groups, families and individuals to enjoy the tranquil setting of this sleepy village, but also to really let your hair down exploring the grounds and making adventures, as it sounds like your pupils did.

Food is such an important part of a residential trip so it is really good to hear that our meal offerings went down so well. We always try to provide the best food service and quality we can and it seems we hit the mark during your stay.

I will of course pass on your kind comments to Jim and the rest of the team. We engage with our customers in everything that we do in order to provide that exceptional experience, so it is good to hear that the work we put in is noticed and appreciated. Thank you and your school for visiting and we hope to welcome you back here agin next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the cheery welcome at the start of my trip to the time I was leaving the staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive to my needs. My room was hotel class and the shower / wetroom was the best ever. The facilities seem to cater for every traveller and again are hotel class. Although I don't eat breakfast I did take a peek and there seemed to include a lot of options. I only wish that they offered a smaller option such as a bowl of cereal or some toast. Some people can't face a full breakfast in the morning. The evening meal options seemed to be varied for the carnivores but the choices for the vegetarians were a bit limited. There was the offer of the standard 'Vegetarian Lasagne' but that's been offered on every pub and hotel menue since 1970's.................without change!! Maybe the YHA could visit the website of the vegetarian society where they will find hundreds of recipe ideas. My little moan shouldn't distract from my impression of the rest of my stay which was excellent. Well done to all of the staff who were the friendliest I've met in any hostel or hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
I am so pleased that our levels of customer service exceeded your expectations and thank you so much for your comments.

The staff team are here to offer the best experience possible for a variety of different customer types and this is clearly reflected in your experience. Every day brings new people and faces so we have to try as hard as we can to offer that consistent level of service to our guests.

I am sorry you felt our vegetarian options were limited and I will certainly take this feedback away and carry out a review of our offering to see if we can't provide a more varied choice for those not requiring a meat option. Our buffet Breakfast is very good value for money and allows guests to eat as much or as little as they want. There is always a good variety of cold food along with croissants and toast for those requiring a lighter bite.

Really hope to see you back here again on another occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nott
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Two miles from the city centre but worth the commute. Newly refurbished with dorm shower/toilet electrical facilities hands-free (that is motion sensor activated).

Staff very helpful.

Only drawback of my 4-bed dorm is the room is a tad small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and for coming to visit us.

The whole staff team are very keen to give our guests the best experience possible so it particuluarly pleasing when specific comment is made up[on how helpful they have been. I will certainly pass your comments on.

We are sorry though that your room was not perhaps as large as you had hoped for. Unfortunately we are restricted by the configuration and layout of the Hostel and some of our rooms are smaller than others, but hope it doesn't detract from the overall customer experience.

Hope to welocme you back here agin sometime in the future and we'll see if we can't find you a larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having not been in a hostel since my youth I was a tad nervous about trying a hostel with my children. It is a whole different world to the hostels of my memory. Absolutely fantastic. We were only staying one night but will return to explore and enjoy it more. The hostel is beautiful. The staff were amazing. One stayed up to settle us in when we were delayed until well into the night by bad weather. The ensuite room was bigger than we expected, the grounds are amazing, breakfast was delicious and the building feels very "grand". Very family friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souldover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We love it when a guest returns to YHA and hasn't been since childhood. It is especially warming to hear that you had such a great experience. This is felt by many in the same situation as yourself, and as well as invoking childhood memories, people are often surprised at some of the positive changes at YHA.

Our guests enjoyment and comfort is at the forefront of everything we do, and we will always do our very best to accomodate any special requirements, such as a late check-in in your example.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope it is the first of many repeat visits to our hostels. You should take a look at membership if you plan to stay regularly- it offers you £3 off per overnight stay, free WiFi in many hostels and many other benefits.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Youth Hostel which has had a recent makeover. Cheap accommodation yet of a high standard with loads of parking and extensive grounds so ideal for youngsters. The eating area was built as a restaurant so is of a high standard. Food was more than adequate and breakfast includes unlimited coffee so what's not to like!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We love welcoming families to our hostel! Much of the feedback we get from parents mentions the fact that they felt very much at ease with their children going off to play in the games room, explore the grounds or play football, etc, whilst they could relax, eat, drink and chat amongst themselves. Of course, our communal areas mean it is very easy to get families together to play board games, watch a movie and the like.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food here, the breakfast is great value at £4.99 and you can fill up with as much, or as little as you like, including fairtrade tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Thanks for your review, and I hope we see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a lovely hostel in a beautiful building. It has been refurbished nicely but the lounge, whilst comfortable and cosy, isn't big enough as we always struggled to find somewhere to sit to play a game. The rooms were spacious, though the automatic light in the toilet is irksome in the middle of the night. It wasn't the cleanest hostel we've stayed in as we found crisps under the bed that clearly hadn't been hovered up. And the children kept asking me for money for the football table and I'm not sure why it wasn't free.

It's very convenient for visiting Stratford. We drove in every day as it was cheaper to park in the Rec Ground car park near the Butterfly Farm at £6 for 9 hours than it was for 2 adults and 2 children to get the bus (nearly £10).

We've been staying in youth hostels as a family for about 5 years now and I think YHA are having an identity crisis. Over that time we've noticed a typical stay has changed from a sociable time chatting with other families in the lounge and self catering kitchen to one made up of silent types who feel awkward cooking & eating alongside others or groups of people who take over the communal areas.

It's a shame but I think the spirit of YHA is being eroded with people treating it like a cheap hotel for a get together. There's evidence of inconsideration towards other guests; noise late at night and early in the morning (kids screaming at 6am) and a towels on sunbeds mentality in the lounge. I witnessed people taking glasses from the kitchen to drink their wine in the lounge, even the last 2 when there were people in there cooking their tea and presumably would have liked a drink. By the day we left, there were none left in there.

Overall a nice stay and a perfect hostel for visiting Stratford. Just maybe don't expect it to be like the YHA of old anymore.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicaguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D, Manager at YHA Stratford upon Avon, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience,

It saddens me to hear that you believe that the spirit of YHA is being eroded. We pride ourselves on the great variety of guests that we welcome through our doors. Of course, this can mean that the mix of guests can be very different from one day to the next, which can make for some very memorable experiences. I'm sory that on the occasion you stayed you did not experience the very unique and inclusive atmosphere that I know is almost always present at this, and many other YHAs.

I believe that rather than having an identity crisis, YHA has moved with the times, and whilst at first this may seem to betray memories of the past, the very same values exist today as they did at the YHAs inception, and they remain present at the very core of what we do.

Staying with us can often be a very sociable experience, the many smiling faces of our great range of guests at check-out time are a testament to the friendly environment we hope to create.

The fact that your bedroom was not up to our usual high standard of cleanliness is unacceptable, and I assure future guests that this is extremely rare, as the rest of our reviews here demonstrate.

I do hope that as you generally enjoyed your stay, that you will be back to visit us next time you are in Stratford.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
5.6 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Stratford upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Stratford upon Avon

Property: YHA Stratford upon Avon
Address: Hemmingford House Wellesbourne Road, Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Stratford upon Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Georgian mansion, set in three acres of grounds, is ideal for a budget family break. The hostel is only two miles from Shakespeare's birthplace with easy access to historic Stratford-upon-Avon. See performances by the world renowned Royal Shakespeare Company or visit nearby Warwick Castle, one of England's finest Medieval castles, both great educational options for school trips. Facilities * 132 beds, 16 en suite rooms * Two, three, four, five and six bed rooms * 24-hour access via key code * Reception open 7am-12 midnight * Free Wi-Fi * Laundry and drying room * Self-catering kitchen * Large free car park * Games room (including pool table, table football) * Live music and quiz nights * Books and board games available * Secure bike store * Exclusive hire available * Conference facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your YHA Stratford upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing