We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant meal”
Review of The Ferry

The Ferry
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stratford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Service was excellent and all staff members attentive and cheerful. We were a party of 6 and all enjoyed the food. I had the tomato and wine soup which was delicious followed by a sandwich which did "what it said on the tin"; simple and tasty. My sister's risotto looked delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    45
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
689 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Having booked 1 month in advance expecting the fixed price menu, our party of 9 were disappointed to find it was not available. We were further disappointed that the wine we wanted was not available and that,on an already limited menu, only 2 portions of calves liver were available (which meant that 4 people had to choose again). The puddings were uninspiring and 1 was cold in the middle. Overall an expensive let down and unlikely any of the group will visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent impromptu evening out”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Over the Christmas break a friend and I popped into the Ferry and decided to stop and eat. It took a while to decide what to eat - too many lovely choices. We both settled on the Beef Bourgeon and it was delightful. Plate went back to the kitchen empty. The atmosphere was great, the wine was delightful and it proved a great decision to make.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Brill New Year atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hired a nearby cottage so seemed logical to book for New Year. My sister was a bit worried as tables weren't normally reserved - so worried that we got there before it was open - thankfully they let us in. And manned the bar
Everyone else at the party seemed to know each other but they were all incredibly welcoming. Brill canapés, hearty main course, nice pudding and cheese all washed down with sparkling wine then port. Loved the canapés.
We won one competition, competed hard in another and as a non singer really surprised that I enjoyed the karaoke so much. Not what we were expecting, less refined but much more fun!
Had to leave just before midnight as the kids love the fireworks on the tele -felt sad to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Village Pub”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The Ferry is a beautiful village pub not far from Stratford-upon-avon. The food is very tasty and well presented, and there is a wide range of food to choose from. All the staff are really friendly and welcoming. There is a good atmosphere in the pub and it is a great place to eat. I would recommend booking to save disappointment especially at the weekend and during December!

Helpful?
Thank rach_swfc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ferry also viewed

Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Welford-on-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing