We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wybunbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We also have been deliberately ignored at the bar in this pub, and made to feel very awkward. We have also been spoken to very curtly on the phone when trying to book a table. Will give it one last go.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pixiep92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    58
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
117
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Having been here before and has a very nice meal, we were disappointed to be ignored for an unacceptable amount of time at the bar. We asked for menus 3 times. When they eventually came we were told in a very curt manner that we may have a long wait due to not booking. We sat for a further half hour and no-one bothered to come back to take our order. We decided to pay for drinks and leave and got a half hearted sorry and no explanation. Will be reluctant to return. Also had ants crawling on the table!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bodrum
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the the Swan, in Wybunbury, for two night in April we found it to be a lovely friendly place in a lovely charming country village.The room was very nice, & very clean, food was excellent and all the staff are very polite & helpful. we would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucas52436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We visited using a groupon voucher for a steak and wine but we also paid for a starter. Grea quality pâté and home made tomato soup with hand made bread. The steak was great quality cooked to perfection and all the sides were more than ample. The staff were extremely attentive and jolly overall a great little country pub with picturesque setting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndonzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Swan is a nice friendly pub in a lovely country village.The food is excellent and all the staff are very pleasant and helpful.The accommodation is clean and has everything you need.Have recently had a two night stay and would recommend The Swan and would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a lovely pub in a good quiet location. The food is good. Breakfasts are excellent with good quality produce. Rooms are also quiet, although a little basic, but do present excellent value. A good alternative to the standard budget hotels such as travel inn. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very nice, room 2 is slightly smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I was really impressed with my room, which was in a converted barn or stables; immaculately clean and well turned-out, with a spacious ensuite bathroom with shower cubicle and separate bath.
The duvet and pillows were feather and down (of course; it's the Swan!); really comfortable and cosy.
The hotel itself is charming, and the restaurant food is good.
I stayed at the Swan for just one night, en passant.
Next time I'll book for a couple of nights and explore the local area, including the village church next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgitta_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wybunbury
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
323 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
265 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: 2, Main Road, Wybunbury, Nantwich CW5 7NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich > Wybunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wybunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is a traditional country inn, in a delightful setting, offering great Cask and Craft beers, a wide selection of spirits & a wine menu that covers all tastes. All our food is locally sourced and prepared fresh, by our team of chefs headed up by Luke Anderson, winner of Big Brother 2012. Our seven unique bedrooms are contained in a separate block at the rear of the pub and have recently undergone refurbishment including new paint, carpet, curtains, beds, mattresses, pillows and bedding. The Swan at Wybunbury is at the centre of many local walks and adjacent to the famous 15th-century Leaning Tower and Wybunbury Moss nature reserve. Within a few miles of the Inn lies Bridgemere Garden Centre, one of Europe's largest and Dagfields, the North West's largest Craft and Antique Centre. With over 250 dealers established in seven emporiums covering over 50,000 sq ft you will be sure to find something of interest at Dagfields. Make sure that you pay a visit to the book store if you can. Please ask if you require additional information on the local amenities. Our team will be delighted to help you in any way that they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Wybunbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing