We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop - MOVED

Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped by this cheese shop on our way to Pebble plantation. Everything about it was excellent. We were offered to sample cheese as soon as we walked in. They have cheese platters for two or four that you can choose from. We ordered the cheddar flight platter. It had four different types of cheese, salami, honey drenched pecans and jalapeño raspberry sauce. The platter was sufficient for two of us and no complaints were heard from us. I only wish I had a bigger stomach to sample all their platters. The wine was also very good paired with the cheese. The waitress was very knowledgeable and was able to recommend a good red that complimented the cheese platter. This cheese shop is pretty laid back. Great place To go with a few girlfriends. The two person cheese platter was only $20. I will return next time I'm in Georgia

Thank GlobetrotterBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Grass Dai... S, Manager at Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thanks so much for stopping in! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We truly enjoy fine cheese and had enjoyed Sweet Grass Dairy cheeses several times. On a trip to Atlanta we decided to travel to Thomasville to seek out their cheeses near the source. The quality of the cheese was outstanding and so much better than we had experienced before. The staff were knowledge and helpful in our selections. Wine selection was small but adequate. If you like fine cheese, wine, and other accompaniments plan to stop in Thomasville for a gourmet treat. We understand they will be expanding he shop and adding a restaurant soon. We can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Grass Dai... S, Manager at Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for stopping by our Cheese Shop! We're glad that you had a good experience and thankful that you took the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Sweet Grass Dairy is located about 4 miles from Thomasville and produces outstanding cheeses that have won many awards. The shop is located in downtown Thomasville and has limited seating for its wonderful cheese and wine combos. I always have the grilled cheese which features SWG cheese and is outstanding. A great place with knowledgeable, young staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Grass Dai... S, Manager at Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Glad you enjoyed the Big Cheese. See you soon again soon. Thanks! SGD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When visiting Thomasville make sure you make this one of your stops. The selection of cheeses is astounding and tasting is encouraged! Many other homemade goodies to sample. The staff is very helpful and the atmosphere welcoming and cozy! Great place to meet and greet. Prices are reasonable and so much is right from the local dairy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Grass Dai... S, Manager at Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

So glad you enjoyed your visit to our shop. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thanks, SGD Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This is a fun, festive and tasty place to go for wine and cheese. We had reservations at another place for dinner and stopped here for cheese and a glass of wine. The atmosphere is great and the homemade cheese is exceptional. It's worth a drive. Next time I'll try some if the other selections on the menu! Service was also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShoboD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Grass Dairy Cheese Shop also viewed

 
Thomasville, GA
Thomasville, GA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing