We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western White Columns Inn in Thompson Ga. is the Place to stay.”
Review of White Columns Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Columns Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Certificate of Excellence
Maysville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Best Western White Columns Inn in Thompson Ga. is the Place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We have stayed at the BW White Columns Inn several times, the last time was in June when my brother passed away. We love the people, the food is great and their breakfast is a real home cooked buffet. My husband says they have the best breakfast he has ever had at a hotel.***** Five stars. The rooms are clean with fresh linen. Everything you need to make you feel at home. Need directions or just talk they always take the time, If you forgot anything just let them know and they will take care of it. If you are ever in Thompson you will not regret staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    54
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
43
33
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I had to visit the White Columns Inn when I came to Thomson for a business meeting. They were kind enough to let me get breakfast early so I would be able to get to my meeting on time. The GM come to me and introduced herself. She was the friendliest of any other hoteler I have ever met. She offered to have breakfast served early for all of us having to get to the meeting. She got all our rooms grouped together so that we would be able to go over some of the matters for the meetings. At checkout the following day, I called to have all the rooms precheckedout so as to get to the plant in time for the meeting. Judy was kind enough to bring me my laptop cord that I had left in my room. She said that when housekeeping cleaned the room and since she knew I would be in a meeting at the plant, she just brought it to me. I have never met a friendlier group of people anywhere. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if you sign up for the rewards program if you can get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany_lamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel on our way from Florida to North Carolina, I love this hotel. The lady that checked us in very late that night already had our keys and all made and was so friendly. The room was very cool and it had been a very hot day. It was a really nice room. The breakfast was fabulous. Amy was so sweet and helpful, she allowed us a late check out due to checking in so late. The entire staff was friendly. We will definately stay here on our way back to Florida.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamlong95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel! It was awesome!! The staff is sooooo freindly and the breakfast was great!! The price was good for the rooms....that look to be recently renovated! It is a beautiful place inside and out.....Good standards with a nice southern charm! The restaurant and lounge were a very nice bonus too!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutie_Pie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Wonderful hotel Staff went above and beyond to help us. Was a little nervous after reading reviews about a mildew smell, so I checked out the room before I decided to stay or not. Room was clean, smelled fresh and the jacuzzi tub was awesome

Room Tip: Ask for cooperate discounts on rooms .
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimkitty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I would not strongly recommend this hotel due to the small rooms and the limited menu and indifferent food for dinner. However there are plus points. The hotel is attractive in Southern style from the front with rocking chairs in front. Ample parking close to rooms and with a coutyard at the rear with good sized pool ( unheated ) with new furniture. There is also a sitting out area with barbarque. On the restaurant front breakfast is good with hot and cold buffet and included in the price. There are no other choises to eat in Thomson other than fast food and Augusta is the nearest town with a restaurant choice ( 30 miles away ) There is a bar which is a little murkey but with large tvs but the service there was indifferent and at odds with the rest of the staff who were great. The rooms are small with old syle and poor reception tvs. There is a frig and microwave. The bathroom is normal size. Free internet and newspapers. Interstate 20 is a few hundred yards away so convenient for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have rocking chairs outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

help ok but know one has clue fitness room closed front desk did not know put me in wrong room. rooms are small i travel all over georgia every week for what thay charge totol rip off worth 45 /49 a night max

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomson
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomson
Hampton Inn Thomson
#1 of 6 in Thomson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Thomson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
17.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Grovetown Augusta Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
21.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Augusta West
22.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#2 of 82 in Augusta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Columns Inn

Property: White Columns Inn
Address: 1890 Washington Rd, Thomson, GA 30824-7202
Region: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Columns Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to call Thomson, Georgia our home and are delighted to be a part of your visit. We just love to have company...and what a treat you have ahead of you in Thomson, GA!Whether it is work or play that brings you to our city, we're ready to help make your time here pleasantly memorable. We offer banquet rooms for your business and social needs as well as great getaway packages including historic tours, golf outings, or romantic escapes.The White Columns Inn hotel in Thomson, Georgia boasts amenities including: Onsite Lounge, whirlpool rooms and suites, gazebo with sundeck at our outdoor swimming pool, plenty of parking for all vehicle types, and over 100 boat hookups. We look forward to serving you during your stay with us!The area around Thomson GA is quite often referred to as a playground, with a wide variety of outdoor fun awaiting you. Stay awhile, browse around and learn about our paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Columns Hotel Thomson
Best Western Thomson
Thomson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing