We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lighthouse way of life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tybee Island Lighthouse was built in 1773 and is the oldest Lighthouse in Georgia. An entry ticket allows you to see the Lighthouse, the Head Keepers Cottage, the 2nd Assistant Keepers Cottage, the Summer Kitchen and the Tybee Island Museum across the street. The Lighthouse is CLOSED TUESDAYS, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, St. Patrick's Day (or the day of the Savannah St. Patrick's Day parade).
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lighthouse way of life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Most lighthouses offer you an opportunity to climb the stairs and enjoy the view at the top but Tybee is a complete museum. Here you can see how the Lighthouse keepers lived AND climb the 178 steps to the top. We had not budgeted nearly enough time to take advantage of the information available here so please allow yourself time enough to visit the lighthouse and the other buildings and view the historic video.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeank1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    567
    132
    17
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, lots of stairs, but worth the climb...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Go early while it is still cool. Only ~25 people in the lighthouse at one time, so you are sure to stand in line before the climb, but the line moved quickly and we waited about 20 mins. Beautiful views of Tybee Island and Hilton Head from the top, and the landings every 25-30 steps make for a nice break to catch your breath if you are not used to climbing 175 steps at a time. The grounds and asst. keepers houses are nice to walk through before leaving. Your admission ($9 adults/$7 kids) also includes admission to the fort across the street.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Closed the Day We Visited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Even though the Lighthouse was closed the day we visited (a Tuesday) - I still was able to take some awesome pictures and it is indeed beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KadenFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value and view if you can climb way up it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Only one small glitch for me, they would not let me bring my water bottle up to the top. It was hot, and I would have liked to have a drink up there. Otherwise, its well kept up and fun to climb. I would not do this if you are not in decent shape, its A LOT of stairs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cookevillelocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gay, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We love the light house. This time we brought family. First time we tried and was closed. 2nd we got there at 4:30 and was told it was closed. Understandable I guess except ticket lady ignored us for 5 min. We will be back for sure just better plans

Helpful?
Thank midgetmafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing