We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location but 10 B needed a lot of repair.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lighthouse Point Beach Club
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome location but 10 B needed a lot of repair.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived and found the following issues: birds had flown into the dryer vent and most likely gotten into the walls somehow. There wass a raccoon in the rafters underneath where you park roaming around in daylight hours. (Concerning a little.) The kitchen had a leak that came out from the fridge and soaked up about a towel and a half per day. The master bath had an outlet with a short in it. (fire hazard). The guest bedroom had 2 terrible looking double beds. They looked like they were caving in. That same room had duck tape on the windows. Spare bath had damage from where the shower sprayer shoots water up on the ceiling. The internet was out for 24 hours and the crazy thing, the main tv would turn up and down in volumn even with nobody touching the remote. In defense of the rental company, they offered to move us and also send maintance. We went to look at the other options and unfortunately the sleeping set up wouldnt work for us. Also we had 2 small children and didnt want to schedule maintance and wait and plan around naps, etc. so we decided to stay put. We were very disappointed that so many things were wrong after paying so much money. The main person who called us back (not the ladies in the office, they were very professional and considerate) was absolutely aggessive and rude. He clearly had no skills with problem solving or customer service. He offered 100 off our 1400 total and I was disappointed thinking that was not enough of a discount. He was ridiculously rude and unprofessional and finally my husband told me to hang up and stop attempting to talk with him. He kept saying it wasnt his fault and it was the associations issue, etc. We decided the problems with this unit had already stolen enough of our vacation time and to walk away period. No discount, no resolution but no longer having to deal with Tybee Beach Vacation Rental. (Not the ones with the pink sign...similar name!) I truly hope the owners have an opportunity to hear this so they will know they need someone else taking care of their property.

Room Tip: Ask about the birds! Also try to get a top floor to avoid noise and use Tybee Island Vacation rental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Room with a view. From the master bedroom we watched the sunrise, cargo ships coming into Savannah, dolphins playing, and the waves crashing into the beach.
This condo far exceeded my expectations. The room was well furnished and CLEAN. One of the nicest beachfront lodgings I've ever stayed in.
The walk to the beach is much closer than it appears in the photos. This is on the north end of the island, just a short walk to the lighthouse. North beach is quiet. It is the off-season, but we only saw a handful of people on the beach. Perfect for the family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked this a month or 2 prior to our stay, which is last minute for me. After booking I found only one review and it was bad. I emailed tybee vaca rentals with specific questions about the condo based on that review. The condo was nice. The kids loved the view, you could see the grassy backyard, some sand dunes & the ocean from our back deck. I loved that the deck had thick slat railing so our little ones were safe to venture in & out. The place could use a little tlc in minor places, decor update and some color. I was under the impression we got 2 parking spaces, I was wrong you get one spot with this unit in the parking lot and you can use the guest spot if available. Also we brought a small trailer, and we were not aware until arrival that trailers are not allowed on the property. The property manager was nice enough to let us leave it in our unit space as long as no one complained. The private beach access from the renral is wonderful. We also utilized the charcoal grill and picnic area. Tybee vaca rental staff were very nice, although the lady at the front desk didnt seem confident answering questions I had. Also I ended up leaving a small bag. It took them 3 days after I called and paid the $25 charge to put it in the mail, and they send c.o.d., still hasnt arrived. All in all, we loved our vacation and the condo was great for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneida, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in unit 20B and yes the stairs are a little difficult to get use to esp. when you arrive and are excited about unpacking and getting into the pool or beach. But about the time you are getting ready to leave to go home the stairs are easier....The unit was nice and relaxing, nothing is new well worn but everything worked for us like it was suppose to. A/C worked great. The view was to die for if you are into looking at the ocean and watching ships come and go into the Savannah Ports. Pool was nice but was a little on the murky side but ok. Grounds are well kept. Very short walk to the Beach. Location is great unless you are into the South end of the island and all the more rowdy crowds. I would rent this unit again, and again. The check in office on Hwy 80 is staffed by very nice folks ready to help you with your vacation needs.

Room Tip: The second floor units have one less stair climbing but still offer a great view, if you are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a wonderful beach trip to Tybee! Tybee is a great vacation destination - family friendly and an easy (4.5hr) drive from Atlanta. Lighthouse Point is a nice gated community with 2 pools (plus baby pool) on the northern part of the island. The community has been kept up well and the condo we stayed in was fabulous! Recently remodeled and with a GREAT kitchen, and very very comfortable. We prefer to stay on the north side of the island (read; the QUIET side) and driving TO the "nightlife" than the other way around. :)
Oceanfront, nice porch, comfy furnishings, etc. We enjoyed all the island has to offer - climbed the lighthouse, toured the Tybee Museum, went to Fort Pulaski, took a dolphin tour, and did plenty of "people watching" at Chu's and of course the pier. Also had some delicious meals (among them - North Beach Grill and Tybee Social Club!)
Perfect family vacation - looking forward to returning to 20A on Tybee!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have stayed at Lighthouse Point several times in previous years, with good experiences. Unit 27A has been a disappointment. The window in the guest room was clearly broken away from it's frame, making the room warm and the window rattled when the wind blew. The dishwasher was also clearly broken. The door would not close completely. The utensils in the kitchen were not clean (because the dishwasher was broken), and many of the dishes and cups were also dirty, but had been put away as if they were cleaned. There is a very foul odor in the cabinets under the sink. In fact, there was an unpleasant odor in the entire unit when we checked in. It took about 7 hours for the leasing company to get someone over to repair the window and dishwasher, but they were repaired. More disturbing, there was actually dried blood on a pillowcase, which makes me think that the sheets were possibly not changed between guests. There is a nice big screen tv in the unit, and a full-size washer and dryer, which is great, but overall, I did not like this unit and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tybee Island hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We just came back from our vacation on Tybee Island where we stayed at Lighthouse Point, apartment 21C. We loved the island and the views but were overall very disappointed by the apartment. It was not cleaned properly when we arrived, with large flakes of dust from the carpet on the floor (the note on the vacuum cleaner said it was broken). Thankfully, when we called the office the following morning, they quickly sent a cleaner in, and she did a pretty good job thoroughly cleaning it. Many thanks to her even though this should have been done before our arrival.

Nonetheless, the apartment showed signs of tear and wear everywhere, with years of dirt and grime that probably cannot be cleaned any more. We saw a cockroach in the master bathroom one evening, which was probably a sign of larger infestation in this dated complex. Certainly did not look and feel "updated" as advertised by Tybee Vacation Rentals.

The bottom line is that this would have been an OK apartment had we not paid the top price for it as it was supposedly high season (even though the apartment complex was largely empty during the days we stayed there).

Room Tip: Hard to advise - please do a thorough research before you book or just stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tybee Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
749 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
417 reviews
1.2 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Point Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Point Beach Club

Property: Lighthouse Point Beach Club
Address: 85 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tybee Island
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Point Beach Club Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing