We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip review”
Review of Dunes Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunes Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Joy, the morning receptionist was exceptional. She greeted every customer with a smile and was extremely helpful and always willing to help in the morning.

My wife complained that the towels were dirty, but I didn't think they were that bad.

Took awhile to figure out how to put on the television and get rid of the "guide" screeen that was on, a tutorial or instructions for future guests is recommended.

When coming into the room at night, the light switch on the inside of the door didn't work, requiring the guest to walk to the lights and put them on manually. can be difficult in the dark. Another thing you may want to look into for future guests.

Overall the experience was good and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center so if you intend on working out anywhere other than your room or going fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andref501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for leaving such helpful tips! We are currently in the midst of implementing the necessary updates for our guests, and we will certainly remember your feedback as we move forward. Still, it seems like you enjoyed your stay, and we're thrilled to hear it. Thank you! We hope to welcome you back soon, Andre!

Cheers,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Nice hotel. Very good service joy was very nice to us. No complaints very clean. Complementary breakfast was average good food. Overall very good for a last minute stay. They have very nice staff and I really like the hotel. Parking was food because in tybee parking is limited but here they had parking for you. It was to cold to get in the pool but it was very clean and nice to lay out and get some sun on. It is not very far from the beach either walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We're so glad that we were able to make you feel at home during your last minute stay! Between our breakfast, friendly staff and lovely patio, it seems like you had a fabulous time in Tybee. We couldn't be happier to hear that! Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed there 1 night toward the end of March. I don't know where to begin. There are to many negative things to list about this hotel. I will leave you with one statement -- If you have always been told to take a shower before you go to bed, DON'T! The towels were full of nasty hairs & the floors had not been swept or mopped in what looked like months. The distance from the shower to the bed was about 8 feet. After walking that distance, the bottoms of our feet were covered in so much dirt & hair they were BLACK! We slept on our own beach towels due to the fact that the beds had not been cleaned! Save your money and sleep outside on the ground! Worst experience we have ever had at a hotel. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE & ENJOY YOUR STAY!

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE! Go back & stay at the Marriott on riverstreet in Savannah, Ga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Pete,

Our housekeeping staff works diligently to ensure that all of our guests are greeted by a welcoming, clean environment. It appears that your room had been overlooked, and we want to extend our sincere apologies. This is unacceptable to us, but we are grateful that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention. We wish that we had been able to resolve this during your stay, but we still want to make this right. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you would like to discuss this further.

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I think that the rooms could be a lot better, there's not a lot of space inside of the room but the restroom was a bit more elegant and better... the pillows are a bit hard and flat.. they could have been fluffier.. also if there was more access for room service without having to leave the room would be even better. but overall Joy, the lady attending at the check in desk was very friendly and communicated with my family very well

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Although we are in the midst of completing the necessary updates for our guests, we will certainly keep your suggestions in mind as we move forward. That said, we are delighted that Joy made you feel so welcome, and we hope to have another chance to impress you during your next stay in Tybee. Please let us know if you have any further thoughts.

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Must admit i had to copy this they wrote exactly like i wanted .......Our room was very good, and the price was very reasonable. The hotel is located in a great spot and close to all of the restaurants, shopping, and the beach. Joy was very friendly and helpful, as was the entire staff. We look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: we stayed in the back area and enjoyed our stay you will too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We're looking forward to your next visit, too! Thank you for taking the time to review us, Melissa—it's so gratifying to read kind words like yours. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Our room was very good, and the price was very reasonable. The hotel is in an excellent location and close to all of the restaurants, shopping, and the beach. Joy was very friendly and helpful, as was the entire staff. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiatraveler35221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We're very pleased to hear that Joy and the rest of our team made you feel at home! Thank you for staying with us. We can't wait to have you back!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The rooms were pretty grim and their so called "efficiency" unit didn't even have a coffee pot, any pots and pans, plates or flatware. There were a few mis-matched cups and a couple of glasses. The room was depressing and felt dirty. The BRIGHT SPOT was the lady at the check-in desk. She was friendly and knowledgeable about the island and she even dug us up a coffee pot. Their "continental breakfast" was NOT!

Room Tip: Choose another motel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Although we're thrilled that our staff made you feel welcome, we wish that these positive feelings had lasted through the rest of your stay. It appears that there was some work to be done in your room, and we apologize. We wish we could have resolved this during your stay, and we would have been happy to move you to a new room. That said, we would like to continue the conversation and make this right. Don't hesitate to reach out if you want to talk, Char.

Regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.1 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
344 reviews
14.4 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range: £47 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing