We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joy is a Joy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunes Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Highlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Joy is a Joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the Dunes Inn & Suites earlier this month. Joy was the person who checked us in. Joy greeted us each morning with a huge smile and was helpful in every way. We have stayed at this hotel for many years. It's location is great. The rooms are comfortable and clean. This is our place to stay on Tybee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for the glowing review, Caroline. It's always nice to hear from a repeat guest. I'll be sure to pass along your review to Joy—she'll be delighted to see it. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

All the best,

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    164
    101
    41
    44
See reviews for
195
167
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a great stay in Tybee Island at the Dunes Inn & Suites. The clerk Joy was excellent and gave me a room as soon as one was available since I'd driven 12 hours from Virginia to get there and had been up for over 24 hours ... and she even gave me one on the bottom floor since I'd climbed the Tybee Island lighthouse and my legs were like noodles!! She told me that I could hang out at the pool till my room was ready, a bathroom where I could change, and even informed me that all the local parking in town was pay-for-parking, that it would be best to park at the hotel and walk to the beach which was only a little over a block away. Thanks to Joy and the rest of the staff for such an enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for recommending us, Sharon! Considering you'd been traveling for so long, I'm glad we were able to provide you a comfortable and relaxing room. I hope you keep us in mind the next time you visit Tybee Island!

Take care,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Dunes Inn and Suite at Tybee. It was within walking distance to everything we needed. The seafood restaurant next to it was really good, go early because their is a wait. Joy and all the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go and stay their again. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shevychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We hated to see you all go! But it was such a treat to read your fabulous review—Joy will be thrilled to hear from you as well. Looking forward to welcoming all of you back again next year!

Warm regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A last minute vacation made pleasant, enjoyable, and affordable. The room had all we needed. The free parking and quick access to the beach was amazing. This hotel is right in the heart of Tybee and walking distance to everything you need (beach, great restaurants, and shopping). Pool was open in September and very clean and well kept. Room was clean. Customer service was awesome. Thanks Joy! We wish we could bring you home with us:) I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khrista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Glad you could squeeze in a visit before the summer's end! It was a pleasure to make you feel welcome, Khrista. Thanks for the kind words, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to make you feel even more relaxed during your next visit!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our first stay at Dunes Inn & Suites. Great place to stay if you’re looking to save some money, but still want excellent customer service. We vacation on Tybee Island every year, and decided to try somewhere on the south end of the island. This is an older, well-kept hotel, and is definitely not a new hotel. Our room was on the second floor, was carpeted, and had a private balcony (not shared with other rooms). The room was clean, the pool was much cleaner than many I’ve seen at other places, and the housekeeping staff was very accommodating, particularly Sonya, with her wonderful smile, who every morning made sure we had what we needed (since we didn’t want our room cleaned every day). We arrived late and Dianne was there to greet us and get us checked in. She was a joy to work with, and was always friendly and accommodating during the late shift at the front desk. The next morning we went to the lobby for the breakfast, and were greeted by Joy; what a friendly individual! She was always the welcoming smile in the lobby during the day shift. Both Dianne and Joy had us covered during our stay, and went out of their ways to answer any questions we had. The breakfast is basic; coffee, juice, milk, assorted danish, mini cinnamon rolls, donuts, fresh fruit, and three types of cereal. My only suggestion would be to perhaps have something like toast/jelly, butter, and maybe bagels/creme cheese available as well. But, I’m not complaining; for the price, any kind of breakfast was a bonus, as far as I’m concerned. Lots to do in the vicinity of the hotel. Stingrays next door has the best fried grouper I’ve ever had, and everything is within walking distance, including the beach and pier.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountain_Girl_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Excellent suggestions! We'll keep that in mind as we plan our future breakfasts. Other than that, it sounds like you had a wonderful time here in Tybee, and we couldn't be happier to hear it. Thanks for staying with us, and for the lovely review. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We decided to try Tybee as a first time family trip. Never having had a vacation together we were very excited. We also had a new cat that we were hoping not to leave behind. Joy was so accomodating and helpful. I was thrilled the room was tiled for "pets" and our new little addition enjoyed vacation as much as we did.

We knew with children we would need extra towels, pillows, etc. Joy and Dianne were always so friendly and treated us as if they understood exactly what we needed. They made us feel like family and helped us to navigate in town too!

Thank you for making our stay pleasant and happy!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the full size refrigerator and mini kitchen. It was much better than a "kichenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Tybee! Between our team, our views and our rooms, it sounds like everyone had a wonderful time—even your new kitty! Thanks for sharing that with us, and please let us know what we can do to make your next trip even better.

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I was expecting a little bigger kitchen with my reservation and definitely needed a big fridge but we got by fine by keeping some things in a cooler and getting ice down the road a ways for 2.00 instead of hoarding the ice machine. Very very helpful staff....always ready to answer any questions Particularly Joy at the front desk. She was there every morning with breakfast set up and ready to be friendly to all us half asleep patrons.
The only thing i can complain about is the room not being mopped daily and the constant having to wear shoes or socks to keep from getting sand in the beds. The floors felt and were sandy the entire week as we went to the beach twice a day.
Just short walk to just about anything you would like to eat, shop, or beach. Definitely one of the nicer of the other locations on the main street of Tybee. I saw some that really looked bad now and then the fancy ones ON THE BEACH were wayyyy out of our price range.
We really did enjoy it despite having to wash our feet every night while IN the bed as to not feel like you were rolling in sand all night. Joy was the most friendly and helpful of the staff.

Room Tip: The restaurant and bar next door is very good. and also has an ice cream shop and bike rentals all i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 114angchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We're proud to offer our guests an affordable beach getaway! It seems like you enjoyed your stay, but we'll certainly speak with our housekeeping staff to create new ways to keep our space even cleaner. Thanks, and we hope we'll get to welcome you back again soon!

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.1 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#6 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Property: Dunes Inn & Suites
Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing