We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waaaaaaayyyyy overpriced!!!”
Review of Dunes Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waaaaaaayyyyy overpriced!!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last minute. One of the reasons we chose this hotel is because it is the only one that accepts pets on Tybee. We were charged almost $50 extra for our 2 small dogs, which is outrageous! I could understand a refundable deposit in case the dogs cause damage but given the state of the room, it was laughable that our dogs would make it any dirtier.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I apologize if our pet fees were unclear upon check in, and I'll make sure that we're more upfront about that in the future. Still, this policy has proven necessary over the years, and we will continue to enforce it. That said, I wish we had been able to show you a better time, and I'd be happy to discuss your visit in depth. Please let me know if there's anything you'd like to talk about.

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    166
    102
    42
    50
See reviews for
206
172
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my familys first vacation to Tybee Island. We booked this hotel spare the moment and when we arrived we were happy to be in a clean, well maintained hotel with friendly staff! The free breakfast was a bonus. We were within walking distance to resturants, a convience store, the beach, the pier, an ice cream parlor, bars and more! The location couldn't have been more perfect with such a resonable price! We will return to Tybee Island and Dunes Inn is highly recommended :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Sometimes spontaneous trips are the best trips! It sounds like everyone had a blast here in Tybee, and it was a pleasure to be a part of your vacation. Thanks, Melissa, and keep us in mind next time you need a little sun!

Regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milledgeville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is an older hotel but very well maintained. We had 6 in our party and were very comfortable in the suite. Kitchenette was perfect for fixing our own meals. We stayed two nights. Breakfast in the lobby was nice, coffee was perfect. Very close to beach. Convenience store half block away.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the extra dollars you save in meals. We brought chicken soup and sub sandwiches an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Sounds like the ultimate girls' weekend! Thanks for making us a part of it, Anita, and for the fantastic review. We'd love to welcome you back next time you need some sun!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A friend an myself were just in Tybee Island and we stayed at Dunes. It was awsome. It was close to everything and it was clean. The front Desk clerk, Joy ws an Angel. She was so helpful telling us where the restaurants and attractions. She made our trip so pleasant. That girl deserves a pat on the back. We will definitely be back and we will stay at Dunes. We had some experiences that we named our selves "Lucy & Ethal".

It was one of my best vacations ever.

Patty Clark
Kentucky

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and it had a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
"It was one of my best vacations ever"—I'm thrilled to hear that, Patty! Thanks for your wonderful review; I'll pass it along to Joy. Hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future!

All the best,

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a great place to stay, and yes we will be back, just headed to Tybee for lunch and ended up staying the weekend, Joy made sure we had a nice room, recommended a nice place to eat, and the room was clean....what a great little weekend getaway....again THANKS JOY!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay, Susan! I'll give your regards to Joy—she'll be thrilled to hear you were impressed with her service. Till next time!

All the best,

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

. . . and at a good price. Joy went out of her way to make sure I had everything I needed (coffee pot wasn't in room but I had one in less than five minutes!). The room was comfortable and spacious with an outdoor balcony, which made it feel even more roomy. Quick walk to the beach and restaurants. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for the very kind review, DM! Customer service is our highest priority, so this was wonderful feedback to hear. I'll make sure to pass along your compliments to Joy as well (she'll be thrilled to hear it!). I hope you had a wonderful trip to Tybee Island overall, and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you're here.

Take care,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Joy was great in helping us to get a room for Fri. night on Tybee Island! The rate and the rooom were great! Being in the west annex was quiet with friendly families all around us. Walking to the beach was only one block. We'll be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Our room on the west annex was quiet and away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you Barbara! I'll be sure to let Joy know you appreciate her warm and helpful service. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.1 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Property: Dunes Inn & Suites
Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing