We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Dunes Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunes Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Augusta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times. It isn't luxurious but for the price you can't beat the location and the consistency of the room. It is clean and everyone is very helpful especially Joy at the desk. Close to the beach an easy walk. Close to dining and the pier. They seem to go out of their way to accommodate you while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Sounds like you had a lovely time here in Tybee! Thanks for making us a part of it, Ellen. We can't wait to welcome you back!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    166
    103
    42
    52
See reviews for
209
172
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would come back just because of Joy! She is helpful with directions, the best cabs, restaurants, etc. continental breakfast saved us money. Owner gave us ride to beach in her personal golf cart! Room was standard. Cleaning crew was great too! This place is in great location. Thanks for great stay guys!

Room Tip: Just ask. We got a cot for 1 night and they gave us coffee and a coffee maker too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Joy will be so happy to hear from you, Kristine! Thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us -- it made our day. We hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Tybee!

Warm regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Had pleasant experience with my family. No major complaints. Part of the price is for how conveniently located hotel is to shops, restaurants and pier. Joy, at the front desk was super friendly and very helpful. Will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Sounds like a lovely trip, Allan! Thanks for making us a part of it, and let us know if there's anything we can do to earn another star. We want you to love every minute of your stay!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was the first time we had visited Tybee Island and stayed at the Dunes Inn & Suites. we were really satisfied with the stay and enjoyed the vacation. The Dunes Inn is a nice clean place to stay and the staff were so friendly. they gave us a discount for the roll away bed our son came for one night and slept on since he is in the Navy. The location of the Dunes is perfect for walking to the beach and other places like eating and the pier. The lady at the front desk that was
named Joy was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Sounds like the perfect getaway for the whole family! Thank you for making us a part of it, James. We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Warm regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobden, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our stay was a comedy of errors that just wasn't funny. We reserved a smoking room with a king bed and balcony for two nights, but was offered either one double bed no balcony or a non-smoking with two queens, take it or leave it, same price. The non-smoking room was spacious and clean but barren; no Kleenex, no coffee pot, one soap, just two of each towels two thin blankets, no luggage tripods, even bulbs missing and lamps not plugged in.. Color-mismatched furnishings, an apt fridge with a micro on top, the former with a bent door latch, and a TV were reminiscent of Goodwill. The maid did quickly get kleenex and bulbs as we moved in. Later, we pulled out a blanket from the drawer and discovered it was full of fine beach sand, which by then was all over the bed, sheets and floor. Scratchy, itchy sand. The desk clerk told me everyone had gone home, she'd already left a call, but it wasn't her job to remedy the problem. She handed me a clean sheet, a blanket and a broom as if she were doing me a favor. Several customers expressed similar concerns with rooms missed during cleaning, no clean towels, etc. We were told that the manager tried to call us, but the room phone was busy- strangely this supposedly happened when we were out to dinner, twice. The night left the motel completely unmanned for at least three hours. Published pictures of the site are flattering. It is not on the beach and surrounded by other outdated motels. The pool was small and desolate. Three women seemed to fill it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sls1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We work hard to give our guests an affordable beachside vacation, so it's upsetting to learn of your disappointment. However, it's clear to us that your room wasn't cleaned properly, and that's not acceptable. We'll speak to our housekeeping team about this immediately, as well as our front desk staff to make sure that all customers feel at home. I apologize, but as you mentioned, I attempted to make this right during your visit, and I hope to get a chance to do just that now. Don't hesitate to reach out if you want to talk.

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tybee Island hotels

McConnelsville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had a very nice visit just to short, the motel was average and dated about one block from the ocean front, the cost was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly, in hindsight I would have spent a little more money and would have stayed on the beach front.

Room Tip: I do not have any tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We wish you could have stayed longer, too, Donald, but we're glad we were able to make you feel at home. Thanks for reviewing us, and please keep us in mind next time you're looking for an affordable beachside getaway!

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this little hotel with some of the loudest people who have ever lived - the banging resonated throughout the entire hotel. We really liked that our room had laminate floors that look like hardwood - PERFECT for the beach. Now that does mean that sand is on the floor, but it felt cleaner than beach hotel carpet. We had no issues and the hotel was convenient to the beach, food, shops, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitterpat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Yes, those floors are definitely beach-friendly! Glad you enjoyed your stay, but we're sorry if some of our more lively guests were a bit bothersome. We would have been happy to quiet them down, so let us know! Until next time, thanks for reviewing us!

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.1 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Property: Dunes Inn & Suites
Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing