We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm water and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tybee Island Beach

Tybee Island Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Private Electric Or Traditional Guided Bike Tours In Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm water and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was a day of relaxation following sightseeing in Savannah. I recommend this detour even if on a short visit. The beach was clean and the water almost hot. We had a great seafood lunch at a nearby restaurant. The parking was easy right next to the beach. A very helpful lifeguard came to the rescue for a minor injury. And fun wicked tides. The only snafu was the lack of showers due to environmental regulations so we brought a lot of sand back with us!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 10monthspreggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,251
    719
    267
    82
    58
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Beach but crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stopped at Tybee beach on our way from Florida to Savannah. It was afternoon when we got there and parking was difficult to find. The beach is nice and clean. Calm waters. The beach itself is not wide and it was a crowded July weekday so it was tight. Nice view of Hilton Head in the distance. Only a 45 min ride from Savannah.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great beach to walk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I love the beach on Tybee Island.

The sand and water are not as pretty as the Florida panhandle and there are no high rises or fancy condos.

BUT, it is also not loaded with chain restaurants and sterile atmosphere.

It is a great beach to take long walks.

To address some of the negative comments that I find ridiculous.
1. Yes there are sometimes jellyfish in the ocean. Imagine that.
2. "Cargo ships mar the scenery." I actually laughed out loud at this. Savannah is a working port, and real ships headed for all parts of the world are heading out. It's spectacular to watch them head out to sea.

Some legit complaints
1. Not enough parking and too expensive. It is indeed ridiculous.
2. Amenities are lacking-restrooms, showers etc.
3. I too wish there was some part or parts of the beach that were dog inclusive. But I also understand that people absolutely cannot be trusted to clean up after their dogs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Happy Feet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great beach for walking and exploring the edge of the dunes. Not too many shells to be found, but the quiet of the beach more than made up for it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cooling off at The Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This beach was very clean,and very relaxing.It was not that crowded so you could really enjoy the view. I happened to spot a rocking bench,and just claimed the spot for awhile,lol! If you get a chance to visit this beach you won't be sorry. Just watch out for the jelly fish!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tybee Island Beach also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing