We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but could be better”
Review of Hotel Tybee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tybee
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, but could be better”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First, I think we were WAY over-charged, but I was trying to find a beach front room in a hurry and did not have access to a computer to do PriceLine or Hotel.com, so I agreed to the over the phone price. The room was nice with a great view. I enjoyed people watching in the parking lot as much as I did the ocean view. The problems, which should be corrected: chairs were so old that they had black "rub" spots on the arms; drapes, rug, chairs and bedspread colors & patterns clashed very badly; air conditioner kept us cool only if set at 64 degrees; there were no pads & pencils, no menu from the restaurant, no list of numbers of other places to eat in the area, no phone book, etc.; the soap for the basin & the tub was TINY; the shower head/water pressure was awful. When we arrived and when we left, it took almost an hour of stopping at every floor to find a baggage cart ! I called the front desk & they apologized, but did not offer any help.

All that aside, we had a nice two days looking at the water, a good meal from the restaurant, the room and bath were clean. We might go back if I could get a better price.

Room Tip: Ocean views are only available on one side and on floors 2 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPBR Management T, Owner at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I/we agree with you...the hotel is "nice" with the potential to be "great". The hotel was sold to our company on July 31, 2014. In the process, we acquired one of the best teams I have ever had the pleasure to work with. I am so excited to see what we can accomplish. Please know that we recognize our shortcomings and have an aggressive plan in place to make significant improvements to the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. As you can imagine, we are very excited about our future and hope you will stay with us again.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    219
    128
    50
    27
See reviews for
249
262
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is very outdated, so don't expect any luxuries. I would think that any negative reviews about this hotel came from expecting too much out of it. The rooms were clean, just very dated. We had a great view of the beach. The location of the hotel is fabulous. We were here for a long weekend and did not move our car until it was time to leave. We love being able to walk around to shops, restaurants, and bars, and this hotel has it all!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPBR Management T, Owner at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. The hotel was sold to our company on July 31, 2014. Please know that we recognize our shortcomings and have an aggressive plan in place to make significant improvements to the hotel. We are very excited about our future and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Wentworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I realize that this hotel was built back in the 60's but they really need to update and remodel the rooms. The room was musty smelling and the bathroom was small. The views are good depending on which side you stay on. The best thing about Ocean Plaza is that it is very convenient to the beach right behind it, the Tybee Island pier and pavilion, and the proximity to really good restaurants. For as little time as we spent in the room, the prices are too high.

Room Tip: If you stay here and want a really good view, make sure it is the top floor facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPBR Management T, Owner at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Location, location, location...the hotel is, as you point out, ideally located. Please know that we have owned the hotel for less than a week. In that time, we have implemented a preventative maintenance program and started scrubbing the hotel from top to bottom. The improvements have been noticed by all our guests. We are FAR (really far) from done. Over the next few months we will start remodeling and I promise we will offer a world-class hotel. I cannot thank you enough for the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate the honest feedback on TripAdvisor. Please come back and visit Tybee again in the future.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews, prior to my trip, I was nervous about staying here. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. You can tell from the website that the hotel is somewhat aged and could use updates, so I was expecting that. Each one of their photos is entirely accurate. I got a good deal through Priceline, so I feel like the price I paid was fair. I do agree that prices above $200/night are over what this property is worth. I ended up with an ocean front room with one king size bed. We were on the first floor, however, so we couldn't actually see the ocean from our balcony. We were looking over the parking lot and a sand dune. If you had a 2-3 floor room, you would have a beautiful ocean view.
Location: Fantastic. Steps from the beach and right on the main road on Tybee. Easy to find.
Cleanliness: Absolutely fantastic. I was thoroughly impressed. You might find a crack in the ceiling or a rust stain on something, but who cares. It was older, but still very clean. Everywhere I went there was someone cleaning something. The pool, restrooms, and lobby were also very clean.
Comfort: The bed was super comfortable, the a/c worked perfectly, the shower worked well and heated/cooled just fine, and every convenience you need is right at your fingertips.
Personnel: I encountered nothing but extremely kind and helpful people. The restaurant onsite was delicious, had a stunning view of the ocean, was reasonably priced, and the staff was extraordinarily great.
I would 100% recommend this hotel IF you are getting a good deal on the price. I wouldn't pay more than $150/night for it because I just think there are better options for the higher price ranges. But $150/night or less, this place has my full endorsement. Thanks for a great stay Ocean Plaza!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMV081711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPBR Management T, Owner at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
YOU TOOK THE WORDS RIGHT OUT OF MY MOUTH...LITERALLY!!! Since purchasing the hotel a week ago, I have been overwhelmed by the incredible team at the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort and the positive guest feedback. To be frank, the hotel and restaurant is in need of remodeling. We have a well thought out plan in place and will immediately start to make improvements. We are very excited about our future and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you soooooooo much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Sorry peeps but.... I have NOTHING bad to say about this hotel! If you did your homework you would see that this place was build in the 60's, not bad for a old hotel with water all around it! Wonderful view, clean, cold, and quite rooms. We had a GREAT week here and no I'm not getting paid to say this, it's the truth. Not a 5 star hotel but a really great place to visit.

Room Tip: Ocean view, above the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPBR Management T, Owner at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you soooooooo much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is important to note that the hotel was sold to our company on July 31, 2014. We have an amazing team of dedicated individuals. In just the first week, they have made tremendous strides in improving the hotel and restaurant. Over the next few months, we have an aggressive plan in place to make significant improvements to the hotel. We are very excited about our future and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

So this hotel was probably the greatest thing ever back in 1989. It definitely shoes it's age (I'm really not sure when it was built) but there are few choice as far as hotels on the island. The rooms were clean and large. Each has a balcony, which I loved. The bed was fairly comfortable. I like really soft beds, and this wasn't very oaf to but it was too hard with springs poking either. It was comfortable. Our room had a fridge and was on the beach side with a dune view. It was the same price as an inland view. Had it been more, I would have opted for the cheaper room because they view is basically of a public parking lot for the beach. The tub/shower definitely showed it's age, but it served it's purpose. The main complaint we had was the the room was felt moist, and things often felt damp. That's probably common for the area, but it made us feel sticky. It has extremely easy access to the beach, and we were able to walk over without having to pay to park. Which is nice because the meter readers are rampant! The entry into the building a room was neat because you just hold your card to the card reader to get in. It was kind if humorous that they had something so modern like that but didn't update the rooms or decor. Overall it was a decent stay for around $150. I wouldn't pay more than that, and it hotels weren't so scarce on the island. I wouldn't have even paid that for it. It's also within easy waking distance to restaurants and stores.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPBR Management T, Owner at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. The hotel was sold to our company on July 31, 2014. Please know that we recognize our shortcomings and have an aggressive plan in place to make significant improvements to the hotel. We are very excited about our future and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Until next time...safe travels!
Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.2 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tybee

Property: Hotel Tybee
Address: 1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tybee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL TYBEE features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion. HOTEL TYBEE is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tybee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing