We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding with Lots of History”
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
“Outstanding with Lots of History”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My Husband and I stayed two nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. You feel that you have taken a step back in time with all the history this inn has to offer. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Chef Gary prepared an outstanding breakfast each morning that was fresh and original. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    63
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
57
255
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in the lighthouse room. It is a room up stairs in the front of the bed and breakfast. A king size bed fit well into this Large bedroom. It has a private balcony that puts you right into the branches of the large tree in front of the bed and breakfast. You can also see the lighthouse in the distance. This inn is very clean and the host Lloyd was very interesting to talk to. The breakfast was great on both mornings. Definitely a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The inn is beautiful and the hosts are very friendly and attentive. We stayed in their pet friendly room which is small but very comfortable. The room has it's own fenced yard for your dog and a nice table and chairs to sit outside. Directly across the street is a park with nice walking trails and a playground. The Inn is walking distance to the lighthouse and dog park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young Harris, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I just completed a four-night stay in this absolutely charming Inn. The entrance to the Inn through a beautiful garden with200+ year old Live Oaks is breathtaking. Once inside, we were greeted by Gary who turned out to be the most gracious, courteous innkeeper we have ever met. Gary showed us to our beautiful, ground floor Mermaid Room and handled all of our luggage. Along with Lisa, Gary shared the breakfast preparation on alternating mornings and showed off his considerable culinary skills. He was also "spot on" with his recommendations for sightseeing and dining.

The Tybee Island Inn is truly outstanding in every way. It seems to be a well-kept secret lodging choice on a well-kept secret vacation detination choice. It should not be a secret for long. The combination of cleanliness, friendliness and location is tough to beat and this Inn is unsurpassed in these three.

We can hardly wait to return.

Room Tip: The Mermaid Room is the most convenient to the public areas. All rooms are very quiet as this is a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Tybee Island Inn back in August 2013 and absolutely loved it! Julie was the caretaker at the time and offered great suggestions for beach fun and great dining. The Inn is located within walking distance of the beach and close enough that lugging beach chairs, etc. is not a problem. Julie would solicit our breakfast requests each evening and prepare great food in the morning. Towels, umbrellas and beach chairs were all provided. We stayed in the Dolphin room which had tasteful decorations, was spacious and had a clean, roomy bathroom.

Room Tip: Dolphin room was comfy, spacious and large enough for two friends to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

For a last minute decision, our choice of Tybee Island Inn was a great choice! My husband & I arrived late afternoon and we were greeted by Lloyd, he took us up to our room (The Lighthouse), told us the breakfast specials for the next day and recommended a great place for dinner. Breakfast was great, service by Lloyd and Gary. The extra touches of dessert, teas and little snacks left us feeling like we were at home.
Loved having a private balcony and leaving the door open to enjoy the sounds of the ocean!
The island is very slow motion this time of year, so there isn't a lot of activities, but we enjoyed the light house.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2newts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

While traveling, my husband and I usually stay in hotels. We wanted the experience of staying at a B&B and could not have been more happy. Tybee Island inn's gardens were story book beautiful. The Inn itself was warm, cozy and inviting. Lloyd and Gary were gracious hosts. They made every effort to make us comfortable, give us advice and feed us. And boy did they feed us. The breakfasts were delicious and creative. There was always some beautiful dessert and coffee set out for us, should we get hungry. Our room was warm and cozy. The bed was very comfy and it was made daily, along with a fresh supply of towels. We were spoiled while there and definitely will return. On our last morning there Gary made us wonderful omelette's with potatoes and fresh fruit. Very generous and kind hosts. They set the bar high for any future B&B's that we may visit. Leaving there was unlike checking out of a standard hotel...it was more like saying bye to friends.
Pam & Mike

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela_doucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.5 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,145 reviews
10.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Property: Tybee Island Inn
Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing