We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We ended up here at the last minute on a road trip. The staff (Shameka and John) were most helpful and friendly at check in and Jameka at check out. We live the porch and will be back as long as they don't change the furniture (well, maybe new cushions). There's plenty of room in Tower 3 for several people. Beware not ocean front as there's a small house in front of it, so if you want a good view get the third floor tower (this is separate from the hotel).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    338
    165
    79
    63
See reviews for
362
450
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is I think the best site for a quiet & relaxing time on the beach. This hotel is in the north beach area of Tybee Island & away from the crowded hotels that are only about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute car ride. It is perfect if you are looking for a quiet time. They do have a great private beach area and the hotel is about 100 to 200 feet from the actual beach. The views of the sun rises are great if you get an ocean view room as I did. At night if the sky is clear, it's a great place for star gazing, without hardly any white lights. The hotel does offer a nice breakfast included with the room (continental). Of course there are other places that are fantastic for lunch & dinner & breakfast within walking distance. The Tybee Light house is about a 5 min drive or 20 or so min walk. Great views from on top.
Overall I enjoyed my stay & the staff was excellent in every way. Always ready to answer questions or help if needed & available 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room. great sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Got the balcony room that faces the ocean. Rooms were clean and well appointed, including a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. Continental breakfast was lacking fruit and was pre-packaged. Access to the beach and the heated pool made the stay worthwhile.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stellaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

When we arrived we discovered to our dismay that our room looked squarely onto the dumpster (so make sure to ask about it if you reserve a “side view” room)! The manager and other employees were very accommodating and we came to an agreement that landed us in one of the rooms with a view of the parking lot, pool, and ocean, and we were very happy with it (the parking lot is well maintained and no big deal when you’re looking straight out at the ocean). The location is wonderful; you can practically roll out of bed and into the ocean. The first four days, the weather didn’t cooperate (cool and blustery with intermittent rain), and so although the pool is almost comically small we took advantage of it because it’s also heated—very toasty and nice. Housecleaning leaves something to be desired (they straighten the bed somewhat and leave fresh towels, but do little else), but we live like bohemians when we’re at the ocean so we didn’t mind too much. The bed is super-comfortable, and linens are wonderful. (But towels are rationed at just one per person.) If you’re diabetic, gluten-free, or otherwise health-conscious, beware of the minimal continental breakfast (no fruit, and nothing hot, such as eggs). Be warned that there’s no snack machine either.

Overall, we would stay again, as the capacity to have our feet in the water 60 seconds after leaving the room was priceless, and the heated pool and balcony were lifesavers on the cool and wet days. If you’re not picky about “the extras” but you’re looking for immediate access to the beach, a snuggly bed, and a great view, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doulos214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location and while the rooms are somewhat dated, we did not go there to hang out in the room. The beach access was great and its a quick five minutes to any place on the island. We went over Labor Day had a great weekend and will return in the future.

Room Tip: The higher floors generally have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We rented the first floor of the terrace for our wedding weekend and were very happy with the accomodations. It is set up like a studio but was very spacious when myself and all of my bridesmaids gathered for hair, makeup, and getting ready. My husband's grandmother, aunt and uncle stayed on the second floor with the two bedroom two baths. There is a nice hammock on the porch and some rocking chairs to view a little of the beach. There is a private home in front so the view is limited, but the walk to the beach is very short and it is pretty quiet on this side of the island. It is a little pricey but we would definately stay here again as the staff is awesome and took good care of us while here. Worth checking out if you are visiting Tybee Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We booked here because they had a beach view room available. We stayed in room 301. The room has a nice view. It does look over their parking lot and pool before hitting the beach but we expected that upon arrival because we had checked their website. The room is outdated to say the least. The bed was just ok. It seamed old and I didn't care for the nylon sheet at all. The bathroom consisted of the toilet and walk-in shower. Very small room that you have to maneuver around just to shut the door. There is no vent in the bathroom but you don't have to worry about it so it seamed for us because the water pressure was so low steam never built up in the room. The vanity area is right when you walk in the door and the lighting is horrible. There is a mini fridge and microwave also in the room and that came in handy for us. When we checked in the light right above the sink was out and maintance did come right away and replace the bulb. Having the balcony was nice. We were able to leave only our screen closed though the night and feel a nice breeze and were able to fall asleep listening to the sound of the ocean. With our military discount I feel the room was a fair price. I don't know that I would pay more than that and I'm certain we won't stay here again. Don't buy their line that they are the only beachfront property or however it is they word it. Also, if you stay at the DeSoto you are about a 30 minute walk down to the pier. The continental breakfast included activa yogurt, bagels and muffins for you to toast and pastries along with cereal and a pitcher of cold milk. That's it. Oh, hot coffee also. Nothing hot (food), nothing fancy. For the price of their rooms I feel they should definitely improve on their breakfast. There's lots of private cottage rentals on Tybee, if you book ahead take the time to research them and you might be more comfortable than if you stay at the DeSoto.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnnofziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District / Riverfront
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing