We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Holly Springs, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad customer service”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel rooms were clean. The set up was a bit different. No bathrooms down at pool, had to go to your room. House keeping was horrible, first day the didn't vacuum and left dirty towels. I went to front desk and they said they would make sure they cleaned and again, no towels left at all. Beds poorly made,floor not vacuumed , no toilet paper or toiletries. I called and they said they would clean. So we waited an hour to go up and they still had not cleaned and the front desk had no appoligies. The girl that did clean room was very nice and she felt bad for the service we had been given. It's too bad that no one cares about their job. I will say they had a few staff members that were very nice but management was just terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanmitchtrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank You for your response, I am working with our housekeeping department so as I can assure you this won't happen again, we pride our selves on being very clean and offering friendly service, I do apologize you had these issues and hope that you give us another try when you return to Tybee Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    346
    174
    84
    69
See reviews for
385
465
58
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I think the higher price is for the location. It is right on the ocean. We did not have ocean view but it was not important since we were there for only one night. The beds were very comfortable. That fact alone would get me to come again if I were passing that way again. The rooms are small and have been updated. TVs are new flat screens and there are plugs for charging your electronics easily accessible at desk level. (Those little things help.) Even with updating, you don't get the feel of luxury except for the beds. Modest for the rest is a better word. Cleanliness of bath area was average. Take time to eat at Uncle Bubba's Seafood and Oyster House (off island but not far).

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I frequent Tybee alot, this would be my second stay here at the Desoto and my first review.
My husband and I visited in Februaty, defenitly "low season" . We got a pretty good rate. Our room was on the third floor, main building, ears shot from the front desk. The room looked to to be updated and was very nice. We had a nice balcony but couldn't see the ocean, fine by us. Housekeeping was super friendly , front desk super friendly (ask em where to get the absolute "kickin chicken" down on the southside of the island). We didnt eat the breakfast, never do, always eat at breakfast club ( get greg and go before the line starts at 9) . As usual we grabbed stiff drinks at quarters bar and forget paying parking, they have island taxis for $3 pp anywhere on the island. Oh and the pool was heated for any of you adventurous type. Well be back again, just nit sure when.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochran, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Overpriced. Outdated. Very unhelpful staff. We got there at 2:45pm. Check in is 3pm. Desk clerk made us wait till 3 before calling to see if the room was ready. I don't assume early entrance but everywhere else I have stayed it was allowed if ready. She made a point of making us sit and wait. Room and balcony very small with poor view of ocean Won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RFGHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent a lot of money on an ocean view room. We had an ocean view, but not before the parking lot, the pool and a fair distance. The booking said we would have a king suite with a couch, but there was no couch. When I checked in, it took a while, but the girl was by herself and it wasn't really her fault. However, as I was walking away, I could hear a gentleman who worked there complaining about another guest, just not professional. Also, if you want to charge that much for a room, things like chairs for the beach should be included, not rented. The layout of the room left some to be desired as well, as the sink was around the corner from the bathroom and there were no towels over there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staff refused to let anyone check in till 3p. Our bathroom spelled like sour Clorox water. We were never given details about any continental breakfast. We left for the evening, and when we returned, there was no parking space for us. The cost for one night was $189.00 with $49.00 level service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwennurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We sincerely do apologize for your not being able to check in early than our check time of 3pm, we run a high occupancy and you were here on the week end when we run a 100% occupancy so it is difficult for us to honor an early check in although we do everything in our power to arrange it if possible. You do again apologize for your inconvenience and do hope your return to the DeSoto Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean kinda small but doable it was very relaxing I would come back for a stay and the people at the front desk was very nice we couldn't find our room the lady on the Friday night shift was really helpful and nice

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank You so much for your Great Comments, We can't wait until your return to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing